Chevron Left
Back to Decentralized Applications (Dapps)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Decentralized Applications (Dapps) by University at Buffalo

4.5
stars
943 ratings
162 reviews

About the Course

This third course of the Blockchain specialization prepares you to design and develop end-to-end decentralized applications (Dapps) – which provide anyone with access to the blockchain’s features and services. You will use Truffle IDE, smart contracts, a simple web client and a MetaMask client. You will learn about the architecture of a Dapp: the front-end client interface, backed by the blockchain and smart contracts. The course covers the basic design of a Dapp, Truffle development process and commands (init, develop, test and migrate), test-driven development of Dapp, Dapp application models and emerging standards that are essential for predictable Dapp behavior. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Top reviews

SR
Dec 28, 2019

it would have been nice if the instructor has included the instructions for truffle+ganache installation for local machine. Truffle works great on a native machine over vm! thanks!

AM
Apr 28, 2021

A very helpful course filled with practical knowledge on the way to become a successful blockchain developer, moreover when the open source material on this domain is abysmal.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 161 Reviews for Decentralized Applications (Dapps)

By Tyron J

Oct 11, 2021

I would have given this course 1/5 stars because using VirtualBox gave me cancer and MetaMask didn't even work properly, but the concepts covered were really interesting so it's a pass.

By Anish A

Sep 4, 2019

Truffle environment wasnt as easy as Remix to setup. Spent many days trying to use higher version of Truffle since Truffle init wasnt working at Truffle 4.0.4 version.

By Shubham G

Jan 14, 2020

Course is god but it should be upgraded by now. Its almost 20months old course which used soidity 0.4.17 and current version of solidity is 0.6.0+

So kindly upgrade.

By Mauricio M P

Apr 1, 2021

Good course content, but it needs an update because current solidity and truffle versions generate a lot of problems with the course documents and templates

By Christopher G

Sep 27, 2018

Some of the videos were lower quality than the past courses and a few topics felt extremely rushed. I really enjoyed the courses before this one.

By Rohan M

Mar 18, 2019

Sessions were good. Assignments were difficult considering that there was a version change. Did not get support on the questions asked.

By VICKY P

Aug 8, 2020

Core concepts are not explained well and it really focuses on introduction of different topics they do not explain them in detail.

By Jorge S

Sep 23, 2018

Too much information poorly explained. Easy to overlook but impossible to really develop a real programming knowledge.

By Roshan K R

Jun 20, 2020

Not easy to comprehend and explain in a very vague manner specifically dapps development and deployment.

By Kai Y M

Jul 31, 2021

Final assignment Somehow too difficult for learners without prior knowledge in programming.

By Shahar K

Jul 25, 2019

a nice taste for decentralized apps, not technical enough, too easy, explained bad.

By Jerald W

May 31, 2021

A​utograder can be a nightmare. Course content is seriously dated at this point.

By NAMAN L

Jul 23, 2020

Not that good and not that bad Ok Ok course which needs to be updated.

By Veerakumar Y

Mar 23, 2021

It would have been more helpful if the course is on latest version

By Timothy Y

May 8, 2020

Lab exercises need to be updated. Many of the examples are broken.

By Mohit M

Jun 17, 2020

Overall course was good but not that effective

By Gulshan K

May 5, 2020

its outdated in 2020 but is informative

By Moataz F

May 20, 2021

too much theory! Needs more practice!

By Daniel B D

May 19, 2021

It's time for a contents update.

By Bornface S

Aug 22, 2020

Awesome experience

By John L

Feb 19, 2020

This course was probably great when written but is suffering from a clear lack of maintenance. The virtual machine setup is seriously out of date and even the solidity version it runs is no longer supported. I spent hours just getting the environment set up correctly and you needed to fix broken examples and sample code. I would say this added weeks to the completion time and was frustrating with little support and few answers from the teacher or staff. I would suggest a total refresh of the course.

By Nanda K

Oct 14, 2018

Perhaps the worst taught course I have taken on Coursera. Presentation of the material could have been much better. The teacher just reads off a script and mumbles during demos.

My biggest takeaway is the additional material. I learnt a lot more from them than by watching the video lectures.

By Ivan M

Jun 19, 2020

a good course content, but the verification of programming assignment is terrible. I spend half of the day constantly rewriting the same! content in file to get it passed. As I see, it was raised a number of times on the forum.

By Felix W D

Jul 7, 2021

Like the other courses in this specialisation, the information is superficial and mostly consists of pointers to more useful resources. The videos are boring, and the final project is badly set up.

By Vlad S

Feb 20, 2021

The process of developing a DAPP was superficially explained. You gain almost no hands-on experience at the end of this course.