Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization by deeplearning.ai

4.9
39,128 ratings
4,156 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

CV

Dec 24, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow\n\nThanks.

XG

Oct 31, 2017

Thank you Andrew!! I know start to use Tensorflow, however, this tool is not well for a research goal. Maybe, pytorch could be considered in the future!! And let us know how to use pytorch in Windows.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 4,096 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By Marcelo F

Nov 25, 2018

It will help me to find solutions in ANN implementations

By Amilkar A H M

Nov 24, 2018

I loved it. It showed me practical aspects of machine learning, including how to chose the hyperparameters and how to use tensor flow. My only complain is that I'm not sure how much of this information I will retain given that the practical exercises are guided. They build a lot of the functions for you. Still I'm giving it 5 stars because I have not seen this problem solved so far in any other Coursera course. They need to find a balance between teaching you a lot and making it easy enough for most people to be able to pass the exam and not get stuck in the details. Probably they could offer extra practice automatically graded exercises for those of us who want to make sure we won't forget the material.

By 杜忠莲

Nov 10, 2018

perfect!

By yangsen

Nov 10, 2018

非常好的课程

By Soheil Z

Nov 09, 2018

It is the best course for Deep learning on the internet., which is taught by best teacher ever.

By hf

Nov 08, 2018

very good and very useful!

By Sanjif R

Nov 09, 2018

Very helpful in understanding how to tune networks to improve performance.

By Alfonsus G C

Nov 09, 2018

Great course for early machine learners to gather intuition and knowledge about how the code in deep learning frameworks actually do at the lower-level, but some typos still need to be solved

By 罗炜儒

Nov 26, 2018

相比系列课程的第一课,该课程内容更加深入,对于深度学习模型构建过程的参数问题及优化方法给出了详尽具体的分析和探讨,能很好的让学生理解深度学习背后的意义,满分推荐

By ahmed a s

Nov 26, 2018

Super awesome!

By Anamika M

Nov 25, 2018

awesome

By Priyanka D G

Nov 25, 2018

It is already good, But places need to correct typo

By Jhon S

Nov 26, 2018

cool

By Peter S

Nov 26, 2018

Andrew Ng is a seriously talented educator.

By Leigh L

Nov 26, 2018

I love this course. It has many in-depth tips and advices based on many real life experiences. Many suggestions can be applied directly into solving difficult Deep Learning practices.

By Marc M v W

Nov 25, 2018

As good as the first one with more insights in hyperparameters tuning and faster convergence techniques. The whole course finishes with a small introduction to TensorFlow.

By Arjun B

Nov 10, 2018

The best course on hyperparameters with every detail well explained

By Harpal S

Nov 11, 2018

very helpful, clear and concise. Everything to the point.

By ahmadreza a

Nov 27, 2018

please correct the mistake in the week 3 assignment, placeholder

By Hari K

Nov 27, 2018

Andrew makes the topic interesting and easy to grasp. The assignments are very well written. Great course!

By Daniel G

Nov 28, 2018

Genau so gut wie der 1 Kurs dieser Reihe. Ich bin sehr überzeugt von dieser Möglichkeit sich neuen Wissen anzueignen.

By Dhruv D B

Nov 28, 2018

Awesome

By Beihai Q

Nov 12, 2018

Good!

By Frédéric M

Nov 13, 2018

Really good course

By Mahmut K

Nov 30, 2018

This second course was great in terms of showing improvements. I would have enjoyed a little more rigorous treatment of why improvements work, but then the course could go on and on... I sill think Andrew can spend a little more time on overcoming overfitting. All in all, excellent balance!