Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter Tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter Tuning, Regularization and Optimization by DeepLearning.AI

4.9
stars
56,710 ratings
6,508 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

NA
Jan 13, 2020

After completion of this course I know which values to look at if my ML model is not performing up to the task. It is a detailed but not too complicated course to understand the parameters used by ML.

CV
Dec 23, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

6301 - 6325 of 6,434 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter Tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By Dartois S

Aug 17, 2017

A bit less good than the previous course. It would have been good to have a chance to concretely implement Batch normalization. Then I think the tutorial on tensorflow needs more details and explanations of the what and why of the conventions. Anyway I was really happy to learn a bit about tensorflow, I hope I will use it more through the course.

By Amit C

Nov 20, 2019

The fact that the lectures are not available to keep is problematic. Also, the programming assignments leave too little to do. Only few lines of code, that in most cases are simply copied from the problem description. It would make sense to broaden the programming tasks, and let the students really cope with many of the real-world challenges.

By Virgilio E

Nov 27, 2017

The course explains great tips for optimizing and tuning NN, bu I miss some more practical examples where observing and compare results when applying the different techniques studied.

Also I miss a general schema of all optimization and tuning tips in order to know when and where apply each depending on conditions, etc.

By Till R

Mar 2, 2019

Exercises are too easy, and lectures are kind of boring. The Jupyter / iPython system does not run smoothly. I ended up downloading everything on my local computer, completing the assignment there, and then pasting the code into the coursera notebook. That makes the assignments take 50% longer than necessary.

By bob n

Nov 15, 2020

Would have rated higher, lost 2 stars because uses Tensor version 1. Keeping courses current is very important to me. Rating 3 even that though I thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned what's under the covers in packages such as tensorflow. Not sure if there is an excuse for not updating the final lab.

By Tomer G

Nov 9, 2019

The content is 5 stars.

However, technicalities of assignments not getting submitted and then needing to investigate in the discussion board what others did to be able to submit an assignment..

Assignments not getting submitted&graded is a criticial bug, that's why the temporary 3 stars rating on my side.

By Irina R

Apr 25, 2020

Andrew is an excellent teacher, but the programming assignments are weak. Everything is already written for the learner, and the only things one needs to do is to fill few lines of code here and there. To fully understand the material, the learner should write the code by himself/herself.

By Vishnu

May 6, 2020

I wish the course material on Tensorflow was updated to Tensorflow 2, but it is also nice to know what happens under the hood. I also wish there was some programming assignments in which we could tune some hyperparameters and visualise the difference between selecting diferent values.

By Akshaya R

Jan 12, 2020

Good explanation of hyperparameters and optimization in DNN. As a beginner to tensor flow, I felt it hard to debug the tensor flow assignment. It would have been easier if the assignment included validation of each function before building the complete model.

By Salim S I

Aug 12, 2018

Would have liked programming assignment in python to understand the various initializations and optimizations. Although tensorflow introduction was good, It felt like being left stranded without a python assignment to cement the things learnt in the class.

By Brian W

Oct 17, 2019

The lectures are good and informative. However, the programming assignments are hard to learn from - an unhelpful combination of too easy and too obscure, so that it's hard to believe I'm developing skills that will help me program such things myself.

By Kevin J

Aug 1, 2020

Ich hätte mir gewünscht, dass Hyperparameter Tuning tiefer behandelt worden wäre.

Anstelle eines randomisierten Ausprobierens hätte ich mir mehr Erfahrungswerte gewünscht, wie man situationsabhängig Netze konstruiert und Parameter wählen sollte.

By Andrew W

Nov 2, 2019

The material is very well and intuitively explained. I am disappointed with the assignment. It seems to be based on older versions of Tensorflow, and seems a bit outdated. This becomes very clear if one tries to run the assignment locally.

By Patrick P

Sep 21, 2017

The course notes don't lend themselves for use as reference materials. The programming exercises are spoon-fed. The material is more up-to-date than Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course, but that set a higher standard for online education.

By John D G

May 23, 2018

the lectures in this course seemed very packed and rushed, squeezing in a lot of content that felt skipped over instead of delving into the math a bit. The jupyter notebooks also have alot of errata that haven't been updated in a while

By Daniel T

Jul 2, 2019

The exercise although long was only related to the last section. There are some mistakes already reported by the students but no action yet. This is a good course do not ruin the reputation by some minor unaddressed issues.

By Sean J

Dec 23, 2019

It's a good lecture for background but the programming assignment is outdated. Tensorflow 1 is very uncomfortable and the assignment would have been a lot easier and intuitive if it was Tensorflow 2, Keras or PyTorch.

By Deeplaxmi

Apr 1, 2020

Thankyou for your great guidance sir. I am diploma student where we ain't taught much maths related to ML. I found difficult to understand mathematical equations. So i request you to upload a course on that too.

By Imad M

Nov 4, 2018

Week 1 and week 2 needs more examples of python programming in the videos. The videos for week 3 were a lot more interesting. Without the python implementation examples in the videos, the course can be very dry.

By Nikolay B

Dec 5, 2017

Lessons are nicely explained

Assignments should be more challenging. Same as first course, this one basically make you cope-paste instructor notes and just change variable names to pass all assignments.

By Caleb M

Jun 4, 2019

Enjoyed learning the concepts but it all seemed slow and tedious. It also seems like building up tensorflow throughout the weeks would be more useful then just piling it in the notebook at the end.

By Christopher D

Aug 1, 2020

It was a really good course, as I have come to expect when Andrew Ng is involved. The reason I only gave it three stars was for the sole fact that the version of Tensorflow is not up to the date.

By Riccardo F

Sep 24, 2020

Not enough about tensorflow, not a lot of extra information on hyperparmeter tuning, exercises simple and unchallenging. I like the instructor, but I wish we could get more challenging material.

By srinivasa a

Jan 9, 2019

its great foundational course but i feel with frameworks available the math behind it was little boring.Andrew NG is pretty good with explaining it well but sometimes felt it was too trivial

By Alexander V

Feb 25, 2018

Tests are very easy, and the programming exercises are very straight-forward - to the point where it is really obvious what to do. I could have learned more if both were more challenging