Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization by DeepLearning.AI

4.9
stars
55,852 ratings
6,391 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

CV
Dec 23, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow\n\nThanks.

XG
Oct 30, 2017

Thank you Andrew!! I know start to use Tensorflow, however, this tool is not well for a research goal. Maybe, pytorch could be considered in the future!! And let us know how to use pytorch in Windows.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 6,317 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By colinyu

Jan 15, 2018

Prof Ng is a great teacher and is good at making the difficult material very easy to learn. I am very interested in the DL. Before I took this class, I found that since this field is very new so all the material you can find is a little piece and not systematical. This specialization is a wonderful and systematical, easy to learn and fun. Thanks for the great work those teacher have done .

By Zhou S

Mar 8, 2018

Awesome illustration on deep network's regularization techniques, weight initialization techniques and gradient checking, and more. This class provides you with hands-on experience with how to tune a deep network efficiently. You will not only learn the techniques but also understand many of the intuitions of how each technique works. A must take if you are dedicated into machine learning!

By Rahul B

Sep 5, 2020

This has been a very useful course and helps you to understand much more about neural networks including regularization, optimization algorithms, hyper parameter tuning and programming frameworks. The style of teaching and the programming assignments are of a really good standard. The quizes could be improved to be a bit more challenging but they still help to review content quite well.

By Rusty M

Dec 7, 2018

I learned a lot about the area that is not much talked about in deep learning, which is hyperparameter tuning! The forum was very helpful in debugging the programming assignments! Thank you Prof. Ng for the wonderful course. I thank Coursera as well for believing in me and granting me Financial Aid. It wouldn't have been possible without your help, Coursera Team. THANK YOU VERY MUCH! :D

By Neeraj B

Oct 2, 2019

This was an excellent follow-up of the first course. Having used adam optimization for almost all the neural network models I have build it was great to understand the mathematical intuition behind adam optimizers. Also the programming assignment gave a wonderful refresher and practice of tensorflow. Overall I'm glad hyperparameter tuning and optimization was chosen as a seperate course

By MANRAJ S C

Oct 16, 2019

The course is great and will help you in understanding on how to optimize your deep learning algorithm and tune your hyper-parameters. The course provides insights into the exponentially weighted averages concept too which helps you understand how things work behind the scenes when trying to optimize your algorithm. Dropout and regularization have also been explained to a good extent.

By Chan-Se-Yeun

May 1, 2018

This course is very useful for practical purpose. I've learnt a systematic method to develop and iterate my algorithms, which saves me a lot of time. And it's been the first time that I get to know so many variants of gradient descent method, such as Adam and RMSprop. By the way, the programming assignments get a bit hard, but it help me better understand the algorithms. Thanks a lot!

By Andreea A

Feb 1, 2019

This was a useful course for newbies in neural networks. It gave useful hints regarding how to update the model one is using based on what problems one observes, as well as how to tune the hyperparameters (if there is enough computational power or one runs a small problem). Obviously, this is just a starting point and one should invest a lot of time and energy to become experienced.

By Jay G

Sep 23, 2018

All the quality of the first course, but even better. My 4-stars for course one were addressed in these Jupyter notebooks. They were still manageable but the prompts provided very good reinforcement to the various tuning algorithms. A top-notch offering...one I'll be sure to recommend broadly. I'm very much looking forward to the remaining courses in the Specialization. Thanks!

By Sarthak k

Aug 12, 2019

I had a very good time getting teaching sessions from ANDREW NG .., I am a second year student and have entered in this field of deep learning since some months then i encountered this specialization and with the deep concepts of Sir ANDREW NG ,i am now able to make much more complicated models ever before...I hope i could get an autograph from my Ideal in this field

Mr.Andrew Ng

By SUJITH V

Oct 26, 2018

This is a great course to learn about practical aspects of neural networks. Some parts are challenging to consume as most of the material relies on intuition rather than detailed mathematical explanation. This helps to involve more people in the course who are intimidated by mathematical equations. A great addition would be to have optional mathematical details in separate videos.

By Shangjin T

Mar 2, 2018

I've learnt much from course including preprocessing (mini-batch, regularization, normalization), gradient descent algorithm (batch gradient descent, stochastic gradient descent, mini-batch gradient descent) and the variants (momentum, RMSProp, Adam). Also there's TensorFlow tutorials which I love best.

Thanks for Andrew Ng for bringing us such an amazing fundamental course of DNN!

By Aakash K S

Oct 30, 2020

Very well structured and thorough course. Instructor did a very good job in teaching the topics of NN such as Regularization, Optimization etc. and explaining the mathematical concepts such as moving average.

Lab made coding assignments easy to understand and code. Lab made it easy for me to understand the structure of NN and how to code clean NN functions for easy implementation.

By sourabh

Oct 17, 2019

This course really helped me getting the deep insight into the hyper-parameters which need to be tuned to get the optimal learning of the algorithm with the different algorithms necessary for improving learning rate.Andrew Ng really simplified the tough things and arranged them in a proper series of videos that is easy to understand.This will really help me lot in future.Cheers!

By Danilo Đ

Dec 3, 2017

I suppose Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization are some of the most important aspects of Deep Learning, since 90% of most of the DL projects come down to just that. Andrew masterfully dives into the intuitions behind some of the most widely used approaches, and the programing assignments are designed to show the impact good tuning could have on a DL algorithm.

By Mohammed A

Jan 7, 2018

Great explanation of optimizations that can help speed up deep learning algorithms. Loved the little tips and tricks that are covered in different sections. The easy with which Prof. Ng explains complex concepts and analogies is commendable. The programming assignments are very helpful to people without expert programming experience too, that makes the experience very smooth.

By Francisco G A

Oct 24, 2020

An Excelent course on learning how to tune hyperparameters and also a peek in using TensorFlow (in the last week, and trust me, it's worth the wating) it's complete, educational and the professor Andrew Ng it's an excelent teacher! I would have liked some more practice on parameter tuning in the programming excercises. But in a nutshell it was a awesome learning experience!

By Anirudh S

Nov 6, 2017

In my opinion it would be a good to have a short video describing how to drive the ml project in the company. As i am taking ml course and this specialization, I started with working on octave, then numpy then tensorflow, so it would be good to have some advice/tips on when to use octave or numpy or tensorflow for building a model when you get a project in ml in your job.

By Saad A

Oct 4, 2017

Post the first course, this course would is the one that is going to make you feel like a deep learning practitioner. You get to understand why deep learning is sometimes called an art how much difference in terms of speed and accuracy can be made just by tuning the hyper parameters. Highly recommended if you know deep neural networks and willing to dive deeper into them.

By xun y

Apr 7, 2019

Again a great course about deep learning. The course structure is very well defined, with step by step to build technical foundations in the beginning and later using open source deep learning framework to connect all the pieces together. Dr. Andrew Ng made all of them very easy to learn and sometimes I feel like I should jump out the comfortable zone he created for us.

By Willismar M C

May 22, 2018

Very nice course about important subjects of Vanilla Neural Networks, as optimizations algorithms , regularization methods, hyper-parameters used and how to implement them in practice. A very nice chapter on the sequence of the specialization that give me understanding on important aspects of it, how to use and how to implement them. I really enjoyed each detail of it.

By Bharath S

Jul 8, 2019

This course gives a very good idea of the overfitting problem in deep learning and different ways to overcome it. It also introduces commonly used optimization methods in deep learning. A nice introduction to tensorflow is provided in the last week's programming assignment. Overall it is a very satisfying course. Many thanks to the instructor and the entire team!

By Hari K M

Jan 3, 2018

Key course in the specialization and covers wide array of topics which are responsible for improving the DNNs. Complicated than the first course but very well explained by Andrew Ng. Things definitely get clear after doing the programming assignments. One should definitely complete this course if one has already completed the first course. I totally recommend it.

By Bilal A

Jan 12, 2020

Course was amazing, content was amazing, assignments was amazing.

Andrew Ng is the best teacher I have ever experienced in my life. I learned a lot from this course, these things are very difficult to learn from research papers it takes a lot of time but person with great passion of deep learning can learn all these things in just three weeks. Highly Recommended.

By Hiep P

Nov 29, 2017

In era of deep learning bloom, know how to control network model is an important thing. And this course has them all, from tuning learning rate to speed-up convergence or applying drop-out for avoiding overfit, etc... It shows you the under-the-hood theory and brings you the knowledge to grasp the basics yourself, and actually can apply back into your projects.