Chevron Left
Back to Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization by deeplearning.ai

4.9
40,078 ratings
4,262 reviews

About the Course

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AM

Oct 09, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. Many details are given here that are crucial to gain experience and tips on things that looks easy at first sight but are important for a faster ML project implementation

CV

Dec 24, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 4,192 Reviews for Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

By Nikesh P

Jan 23, 2019

Hyperparameters can affect our parameters and how tuning them properly would speed up our optimization is nicely taught. And it was great to know the intuition and mathematics behind other optimization algorithmswhich which was also taught very well.

By Onur A

Jan 22, 2019

Very instructive course

By Omar R L

Jan 24, 2019

very useful and fondamental

By Nitin S

Jan 22, 2019

Fun, Enlightening and above all easy to understand.

By 朱柏霖

Jan 23, 2019

nice

By Nagaraj R

Jan 23, 2019

Fantastic course. Took all fear away from Deep Learning.

By Oukaci

Jan 23, 2019

Very very excellent !!

By rajesh t

Jan 22, 2019

Very interactive and very clear explanations.

By Ilya P

Feb 18, 2019

*Thumbs up*

By Stan Y

Feb 17, 2019

Great introduction to practical aspects of tuning and optimizing a deep learning network.

By Jorge L

Feb 17, 2019

All the courses in the Deep Learning Specialization are very good and met my expectations. I was guided through the nitty-gritties of neural networks, fortunately with a strong emphasis on Computer Vision (my area), deep diving in coherent coding exercises. Prof Andrew, as always, managed to connect the points between theory and practice, recollecting the concepts treated in past lectures, while showing how Tensorflow operates and how to use it. If you ask me, I'd say that the slides of the Machine Learning course used to be better than the slides for the 4 courses in this specialization, in the sense of being useful as studying guide for the future. The current slides only make sense to those who went through the course.

By jinpengcheng

Feb 18, 2019

excellent

By William F

Feb 17, 2019

Good solid theory and practice advancing my understanding of deep learning and an effective intro to TensorFlow

By Claudio C

Feb 18, 2019

very useful also for experts

By Rajat C

Feb 18, 2019

Brilliant way of covering a complicated topic

By Khongorzul G

Feb 17, 2019

one word: amazing!

By Eddie C

Feb 18, 2019

My second AI course certificate from Andrew Ng after I left Taiwan AI Labs. Even though it took me more than 2 months to complete because of my kids' winter vacation and Chinese New Year break. I did learn a lot about how to tune and optimize a Deep Learning network. Keep going to the 3rd course.

By Pooja A

Feb 05, 2019

Great curriculum and explanation

By Arun R

Feb 06, 2019

Very good.

By zhengli

Feb 06, 2019

thank you very much!

By Mallikarjun C

Feb 07, 2019

Excellent Practical advice on Improving Deep Neural Networks, Interesting talk with Heros of Deep Learning: Yoshua Bengio and Yuanging Lin and good programming exercises including nice introduction to using TensorFlow

By Yash S

Feb 07, 2019

i think the systematic method for hyperparameter tuning was the best part!

By Zhiliang W

Jan 25, 2019

Great lectues and exercises!

By yaomingshan

Jan 25, 2019

感谢Angrew

By Zoya

Jan 26, 2019

Awesome course! Learned a lot! :D