Chevron Left
Back to Design Patterns

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Patterns by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
1,058 ratings
228 reviews

About the Course

This course extends object-oriented analysis and design by incorporating design patterns to create interactive applications. Through a survey of established design patterns, you will gain a foundation for more complex software applications. Finally, you will identify problematic software designs by referencing a catalog of code smells. You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to redesign an existing Java-based Android application to implement a combination of design patterns. You will also critique a given Java codebase for code smells. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Demonstrate how to use design patterns to address user interface design issues. • Identify the most suitable design pattern to address a given application design problem. • Apply design principles (e.g., open-closed, dependency inversion, least knowledge). • Critique code by identifying and refactoring anti-patterns. • Apply the model-view-controller architectural pattern....

Top reviews

ZP

Sep 17, 2019

I have never had a chance to study CS at the university so I am always looking for ways to improve my knowledge - to keep up with fellow programmers. And this course met my requirements perfectly. :)

RJ

Mar 17, 2022

The course and the instructor was so good. The curriculum was well designed and of appropriate length. I really enjoyed and learnt skills that I would be able to apply while developing real software

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 228 Reviews for Design Patterns

By PICCININI G

Jul 19, 2022

A very good course, with practice exercises. The topics of this course stimulate you to think about the best solutions for a given problem, improving the quality, reusability, and maintenance of the code. This knowledge can be applied quickly in everyday work.

By Lyalikov N A

Oct 30, 2021

I have really enjoyed this course. All information was useful and interesting. You will get really essential skills for software development after completing this course. Material is good and assignments are really helpful. Thanks to the creators!

By Gerardo M

May 17, 2021

Un curso bastante bueno para introducir a los patrones de diseño. Aunque no se vieron todos los patrones me parece que el curso sienta buenas bases para continuar aprendiendo sobre más patrones y no solo en JAVA sino en otros lenguajes.

By Mahesh S

May 1, 2020

very nice practical and theoretical approach towards the subject.

Very well planned assignments.

Few of assignments were challenging, but the guided tutorial help them to understand and solve problems methodically.

I love this course.

By Soheil M

Apr 17, 2021

Nice course! Rich in content and very intersting narration.

But it would be even better if the assignments could be reviewed by course instructors not by student. Usually feedbacks and reviews by students are not accurate enough

By ajay s

May 29, 2020

Very well structured course. Assignments are good and the mechanism of peer review is very good. Quizzes are also very good. After completing all assignments and quizzes one gets a very good understanding of the subject.

By Os Y

Mar 16, 2021

I think that is a really good course. simply, well explained and has some good assessments(homework). I would strongly recommend this course someone who works as a software developer even if knows design patterns or not.

By Huynh V T

Feb 19, 2021

Very nice application. It helps me understand more about the design pattern, which is essential for software developers. I highly recommended this course to software graduate, junior, middle software developers

By Nilanshu V R

Feb 2, 2022

A​n amazing course! I appreciate the use of real world examples without complicating anything as it helped me grasp the course material easily. I highly recommend this course for understanding design patterns.

By RITVIK J

Mar 18, 2022

The course and the instructor was so good. The curriculum was well designed and of appropriate length. I really enjoyed and learnt skills that I would be able to apply while developing real software

By UJJWAL K

Jan 24, 2022

Excellent course! Instructor easy description as well as lots examples helps me to solidify my object oriented and design pattern principles. Thank you so much for this course.

By Dmytro T

Jan 30, 2022

Really enjoyed this course. All the resources and explanation helped to gain understanding on such complex topics and practice new knowledge on a real application.

By Eduardo I

Jan 24, 2019

Great course, I find very useful and clear explanation about the patterns, principles and code smell, with ti has diagrams and code to explain great all the topics

By Ahmed A A M

Sep 9, 2020

A great course for those who seek good understanding of design patterns and Design principles also provides a good intro for code smells and code refactoring.

By Багиров Ю А

Jun 18, 2020

I consolidated my previous knowledge, and also learned a lot of new things about patterns and OOP in general. Thank you very much, the course is excellent! :)

By Humoyun Y

May 13, 2022

Всё хорошо. Есть несколько замечаний: 1) курс короткий, за 2 недели можно спокойно без усилий пройти. 2) Не работают почти все ссылки на статьи в форуме

By Babu S

Jun 4, 2021

The concepts had a lucid articulation. The course covered most of the design patterns including design principles behind them. I found it very useful.

By Ahmed M

May 9, 2020

i learned a lot form this great course thinks for every one who contribute for such a course and i hope i finish the rest of it's specialization

By chee k L

Apr 22, 2020

great, lecture notes are well prepared, with hands-on assignment. My design getting more solid and well structured after taken this course.

By Yusuf A

Jun 22, 2020

Great course, some of the patterns in GoF's book are covered in the course and some of the code smells are covered as well in a great way.

By marco s

Feb 15, 2021

Excellent. I've applied some concepts of the course right away on my job. It helps you to name things that you usually see in code bases.

By Liton M

Oct 13, 2020

The Course was very interesting and helpful. I think it will help to grow up my software development career and drag to the next level.

By Zois A

Oct 17, 2020

This course covers exactly how we are supposed to think as engineers, when it comes to using design patterns and writing clear code.

By LIUZHENTAO

Aug 10, 2020

This course is really content-rich. And the course projects are practical and useful! I am looking forward to the next course!

By MANAS C

May 25, 2021

The examples and way of explanation is very simplified and effective. Thank you for the wonderful course on Design Patterns.