Chevron Left
Back to Design Patterns

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Patterns by University of Alberta

4.7
428 ratings
73 reviews

About the Course

This course extends object-oriented analysis and design by incorporating design patterns to create interactive applications. Through a survey of established design patterns, you will gain a foundation for more complex software applications. Finally, you will identify problematic software designs by referencing a catalog of code smells. You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to redesign an existing Java-based Android application to implement a combination of design patterns. You will also critique a given Java codebase for code smells. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Demonstrate how to use design patterns to address user interface design issues. • Identify the most suitable design pattern to address a given application design problem. • Apply design principles (e.g., open-closed, dependency inversion, least knowledge). • Critique code by identifying and refactoring anti-patterns. • Apply the model-view-controller architectural pattern....

Top reviews

AG

Jun 22, 2019

The course is a really good introductory course for beginners to understand new concepts and for intermediates to refresh basic software design patterns and anti-patterns.

AS

Apr 01, 2018

Its a wonderful course for all the software engineers who use object-oriented paradigm for software application development.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 70 Reviews for Design Patterns

By Ahmed E S A H

Dec 10, 2017

Missing Course note PDF to review the course materials

Thank you

By neha

May 31, 2018

ultimate course material. learned a lot.

By Paúl A

Apr 23, 2018

Excelent course really didactic, and easy to inderstand

By Reda R

May 06, 2018

It is very informative course, and the quizzes are very interesting.

By Fabrice L

Apr 18, 2018

Good coverage of design patterns, but a lot of lecture and not enough examples.

By Anushiya S

Feb 18, 2018

Good Explanation

By Seraphin A

Jun 28, 2018

To me it's a 100% rating just on point

By Edgar B

Apr 16, 2018

Nice, well explained useful design pasterns.

By Yassine E

Jan 29, 2018

Amazing course. I've learned so much about not only design patterns, but also how to make code more usable, maintainable, and flexible as well. I recommend this course to anyone who is interested in extending the capacities of how to write good well designed software.

By Ali S

Apr 01, 2018

Its a wonderful course for all the software engineers who use object-oriented paradigm for software application development.

By Diego B

Nov 13, 2017

This is great! I really enjoyed this course!

By Yariel I R

Apr 02, 2018

very good of software design

By Cesar F C M

Sep 22, 2017

Excellent

By An V N

Apr 29, 2018

Awesome course! I learn a lot from this course for the ongoing project in my company

By Mohammed B

Apr 24, 2019

very useful

By david a

May 07, 2019

really good content, well presented. Good videos too.

By DIEGO M G R

May 30, 2019

Great!!

By Erick P P

Jun 14, 2019

Excellent course.

By Akshit G

Jun 22, 2019

The course is a really good introductory course for beginners to understand new concepts and for intermediates to refresh basic software design patterns and anti-patterns.

By Mohd I K

Jul 05, 2019

Great work!

By Nguyen K T

Sep 11, 2019

so useful

By Mahmoud A M

Sep 12, 2019

It's been a while since I have taken any academic course, however, I found this course very insightful and beneficial in my career. It helped me to fill gaps in my programming knowledge knowledge. I'm intending to use the materials provided as a reference in my day to day activities.

By Hany S

Jan 10, 2019

Really useful course, it let me understand the patterns deeply

By PRATIBHA J

Dec 28, 2018

Awesome learning experience alongwith examples.

Smaller, simpler and more number of code writing & design making exercises can make it more awesome.

By Siddharth S

Mar 28, 2019

Nice course