Chevron Left
Back to Design Patterns

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Patterns by University of Alberta

4.7
stars
807 ratings
160 reviews

About the Course

This course extends object-oriented analysis and design by incorporating design patterns to create interactive applications. Through a survey of established design patterns, you will gain a foundation for more complex software applications. Finally, you will identify problematic software designs by referencing a catalog of code smells. You will be challenged in the Capstone Project to redesign an existing Java-based Android application to implement a combination of design patterns. You will also critique a given Java codebase for code smells. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Demonstrate how to use design patterns to address user interface design issues. • Identify the most suitable design pattern to address a given application design problem. • Apply design principles (e.g., open-closed, dependency inversion, least knowledge). • Critique code by identifying and refactoring anti-patterns. • Apply the model-view-controller architectural pattern....

Top reviews

ZP
Sep 17, 2019

I have never had a chance to study CS at the university so I am always looking for ways to improve my knowledge - to keep up with fellow programmers. And this course met my requirements perfectly. :)

KP
Oct 26, 2020

This course was not easy, especially when you have zero knowledge on subject. But it is very helpful subject and will certainly be a plus for you career in software development.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 159 Reviews for Design Patterns

By LIUZHENTAO

Aug 10, 2020

This course is really content-rich. And the course projects are practical and useful! I am looking forward to the next course!

By Ali S

Apr 1, 2018

Its a wonderful course for all the software engineers who use object-oriented paradigm for software application development.

By Rafael A E H

May 1, 2020

Great content, I would add a few more patterns, not necessarily for grading, but to have them as guide for when needed.

By Maruf H

May 30, 2020

Brief introduction to design patterns. The lectures, quizes, assignments are all good. Recommended to take.

By Ebrahim A

Aug 3, 2018

you can just open the video to look to the beautiful instructor lady and how can she simplifies everything

By Dr. T J H

Sep 6, 2020

Nice examples for the design patterns, especially not just the default example for the Decorator Pattern.

By Mwenemwami D B

Mar 18, 2019

Good course, really loving this specialization though I am a bit behind with progress as I wasnt well

By W M C B

May 4, 2020

Very valuable course. A must taken by all Software Engineers who will be working in this area.

By Sandor W

Nov 26, 2018

Not great for last minute preparation. Missing some design patterns out of the 23 patterns.

By An V N

Apr 28, 2018

Awesome course! I learn a lot from this course for the ongoing project in my company

By Tirumalesh B

Jun 13, 2018

The course is very good. It deals with many design patterns and also anti-patterns.

By Fabrice L

Apr 17, 2018

Good coverage of design patterns, but a lot of lecture and not enough examples.

By David K

May 12, 2020

Very Informative. Captures the most important Patterns with good explanation

By Ítalo D

Feb 18, 2020

Very good course. I could refresh a lot of concepts and learn new practices.

By Moussa D

Mar 19, 2019

Very good course to get a first and clear grasp of various different pattern

By Patty E

Nov 26, 2017

Good real world examples of when and how to apply common design patterns.

By DIEGO S

Oct 30, 2020

An amazing course with and an amazing teacher. Its a really great course

By Heena H

Feb 7, 2019

wonderfully explained, with rememberable examples. very well documented.

By Ramiro V

Nov 28, 2020

Excelente curso, muy bien presentado, muy buena bibliografia, gracias

By Aishwary B

Aug 13, 2020

A nice course to get a view on design patterns. Highly recommendable.

By Reda R

May 6, 2018

It is very informative course, and the quizzes are very interesting.

By Lorenzo V

May 1, 2020

Thanks for this opportunity. I think it will be usefull for my job.

By Toufeeq

Oct 19, 2018

Needs more focus than the first course but is totally worth it.

By Ahmed E S A H

Dec 10, 2017

Missing Course note PDF to review the course materials

Thank you

By Mohamed A A

Dec 14, 2019

it's very good course with nice topics and very good examples