Chevron Left
Back to Design Principles: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Principles: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.6
1,143 ratings
153 reviews

About the Course

What makes an interface intuitive? How can I tell whether one design works better than another? This course will teach you fundamental principles of design and how to effectively evaluate your work with users. You'll learn fundamental principles of visual design so that you can effectively organize and present information with your interfaces. You'll learn principles of perception and cognition that inform effective interaction design. And you'll learn how to perform and analyze controlled experiments online. In many cases, we'll use Web design as the anchoring domain. A lot of the examples will come from the Web, and we'll talk just a bit about Web technologies in particular. When we do so, it will be to support the main goal of this course, which is helping you build human-centered design skills, so that you have the principles and methods to create excellent interfaces with any technology....

Top reviews

PV

Nov 22, 2019

The course was simple and crisp yet covered it all - interaction, visual and usability. Liked the duration of the videos followed by reading material that covered the highlights of the topic.

NS

Mar 17, 2016

The basic principles of design and their philosophies were covered well in this course, and it was taught in a quick, efficient manner. I liked undergoing this course and would recommend it.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 147 Reviews for Design Principles: an Introduction

By Maria K

Jun 24, 2018

Overall, the course is excellent, though if you take the whole specialization, the last week on doing A/B testing is copying another course's material - Running and Analyzing experiments. Other than that, the course is excellent, lots of examples and literature to read on your own pace.

By Jeff M

Aug 22, 2017

Overall the information and exercises were good. The introduction to A/B testing was great and provides a good base layer of knowledge for the experimenting and analysis section of the IxD program. I would say that the week 3 assignment was frustrating as a grader since the rubric seemed to ask for very specific answers when the questions allowed for broader interpretation.

By Joonwoo W L

Apr 04, 2016

The first assignment was very confusing in terms of what was required, and it should be fixed.

By Vazgen B

Apr 11, 2016

This is a great course with tons of valuable info. The peer-review projects are very hands-on, and you learn a lot by doing that. However, I wish there were more explanations for certain things (for example, for the experiments section) - or at least, more resources to get further info. Also, for Assignment 3, it would have been very helpful to have the answer key, since there is some confusion around some of the answers.

By Azusa W

Oct 23, 2017

The exercises are very confusing to submit and to rate (peer rate review, sometimes too long questions and you lot the commitment). I would like that the teacher had a much linear methodology through the Specialization, in many moments it feels like he´s losing the objectivity.

It would be nice to reinforce the main concepts, instead of doing mathematic equations...

By Nakul G

Feb 19, 2017

Design Principles has been meticulously structured, although, I'd have loved to lean more on Typography. One feedback to Professor will be to update his content and include more contemporary examples.

By Viebone

Apr 26, 2016

good tips for testing experiments

By Alexander S

Sep 28, 2015

Good explanation of few design ideas and technics.

By Jacob T K

Jan 15, 2016

Lectures are clear and extensively cited; assignments are interesting.

By Cibele B d C

Sep 10, 2015

Really good introduction to interactive design

By Dave G

Jan 26, 2016

Another very good class in this specialization.

By Leah N

Jan 16, 2018

The course overall was good but the assignment instructions were not clear enough

By Darren G

May 16, 2016

This course really helped me understand what to ask of my Design team!

By Siddharth S

Sep 01, 2017

Great overview of a lot of design topics! Like Scott himself says, this is a great starting point for someone who is not a designer himself. Not sure if it is feasible, but some of the topics could be more detailed. Yes - Scott does mention books that can be referred for further reading. But if the course could include pull-outs / key chapters from those books - it could be very useful as I am not sure how many of us will get a chance to go through complete books.

Overall - loved the exposure. Especially enjoyed the part on designing experiments.

By Jess C

May 16, 2016

Overall it was mostly good but the maths was not well enough explained and some of the course materials felt out of date.

By Abdulelah S

Mar 17, 2016

Everything is great apart of the third week assignment. I guess it needs to be changed.

By Les F

Dec 16, 2016

Great, if brief course. Some occasionally ill-worded test questions. But this course piqued my interest for the ones that follow.

By Miguel C

Aug 19, 2015

I like it!

By Manny O

Sep 24, 2016

Gave basic introduction to design principles but the assignments were very engaging

By Jason M

Nov 26, 2015

Great for the first 2 weeks of class, the third week seemed really unbalanced though and all of the sudden was about 4x the amount of time to watch videos. I wouldn't have minded if the same material was spread to an extra week.

By Bruno B

Jul 03, 2017

Good course. The leactures could be better structured, but with some complementary reading and insistence, you bust right through.

By Barnali

Jun 13, 2017

A very good learning course. The content could be more in depth to get a better understanding.

By Raluca M

Nov 07, 2018

The course is very useful, but the information is a bit hard to digest, especially the problem. Even though I watched the videos several times, I still did not understand some decisions you made in solving it. But I am a better person because of it! Thank you

By Ryan D J

Oct 04, 2018

The Chi Square lecture was hard to follow. I took elementary statistics in college 20 years ago and got an A, but the lecture jumped and skipped explaining things. the video seemed to have been edited when Scott was about to explain something. Sometimes he didn't really explain somethings. The other lectures were very helpful and have helped me already.

By Ahasanul B H

Sep 17, 2019

Informative course..Thank you professor and coursera.