Chevron Left
Back to Design Principles: an Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Principles: an Introduction by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
1,167 ratings
156 reviews

About the Course

What makes an interface intuitive? How can I tell whether one design works better than another? This course will teach you fundamental principles of design and how to effectively evaluate your work with users. You'll learn fundamental principles of visual design so that you can effectively organize and present information with your interfaces. You'll learn principles of perception and cognition that inform effective interaction design. And you'll learn how to perform and analyze controlled experiments online. In many cases, we'll use Web design as the anchoring domain. A lot of the examples will come from the Web, and we'll talk just a bit about Web technologies in particular. When we do so, it will be to support the main goal of this course, which is helping you build human-centered design skills, so that you have the principles and methods to create excellent interfaces with any technology....

Top reviews

PV

Nov 22, 2019

The course was simple and crisp yet covered it all - interaction, visual and usability. Liked the duration of the videos followed by reading material that covered the highlights of the topic.

NS

Mar 17, 2016

The basic principles of design and their philosophies were covered well in this course, and it was taught in a quick, efficient manner. I liked undergoing this course and would recommend it.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 150 Reviews for Design Principles: an Introduction

By Pablo P G

May 24, 2017

Great course!!

By YILING

Nov 01, 2015

Learned a lot!

By Sebastian L P

May 07, 2018

Great course!

By Katie T

Dec 19, 2016

Useful stuff!

By Vanessa T

Jun 10, 2016

Great course!

By Xinrui F

Nov 22, 2019

Great course

By adi0229

Sep 04, 2017

fascinating!

By Felipe A

Mar 11, 2016

Apasionante!

By Sandy B

Dec 03, 2015

Great stuff!

By yashar k s

Oct 04, 2016

Best Course

By Fan R

Aug 15, 2015

非常不错的设计之初

By Cinthy P R L

Aug 01, 2016

Awesome!

By 邢益波

Feb 20, 2016

很好的课程,喜欢

By Manorama M

Jul 26, 2019

awesome

By ALKESH

Nov 01, 2018

Awesome

By Alex_G

Mar 15, 2017

Great~

By Jingyi G

Jan 07, 2017

great!

By Shirley S

Apr 25, 2016

Great!

By Kevin M

Dec 27, 2018

Great

By Albina D

Dec 10, 2018

GREAT

By Yuzhifei

Oct 31, 2018

I

By deepika j

Sep 01, 2015

e

By Siddharth S

Sep 01, 2017

Great overview of a lot of design topics! Like Scott himself says, this is a great starting point for someone who is not a designer himself. Not sure if it is feasible, but some of the topics could be more detailed. Yes - Scott does mention books that can be referred for further reading. But if the course could include pull-outs / key chapters from those books - it could be very useful as I am not sure how many of us will get a chance to go through complete books.

Overall - loved the exposure. Especially enjoyed the part on designing experiments.

By Vazgen B

Apr 11, 2016

This is a great course with tons of valuable info. The peer-review projects are very hands-on, and you learn a lot by doing that. However, I wish there were more explanations for certain things (for example, for the experiments section) - or at least, more resources to get further info. Also, for Assignment 3, it would have been very helpful to have the answer key, since there is some confusion around some of the answers.

By Jeff M

Aug 22, 2017

Overall the information and exercises were good. The introduction to A/B testing was great and provides a good base layer of knowledge for the experimenting and analysis section of the IxD program. I would say that the week 3 assignment was frustrating as a grader since the rubric seemed to ask for very specific answers when the questions allowed for broader interpretation.