Chevron Left
Back to Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship by The University of Sydney

4.6
stars
597 ratings
164 reviews

About the Course

This course is for entrepreneurial managers who are looking for tools and techniques to introduce exciting, innovative products or services to market quickly and informed by high-quality customer insights. It is applicable to a range of organizations from small-medium sized enterprises through to corporates, and across a range of industrial segments. The problem this course helps address is the constant pressure managers face to be innovative and introduce novel products and services for their customers. However, many creative ideas get ‘stuck’ in the boardroom or are subject to intra-organizational tensions or group think. This course provides methodologies to break through these challenges. We build on the widely known concept of design thinking but update it and apply it to advance business strategy and entrepreneurship. Over five weeks you will learn what ‘design strategy’ is, how it differs from traditional design thinking and business strategy, and how it can be used to improve existing products or services in your business, or introduce breakthrough ideas. We will also provide an exclusive, deep-dive into the practical application and impact of these strategies in one of Australia’s newest, most innovative financial institutions, UBank, and the global re-insurance giant, Swiss Re. Through conversations with their Senior Executive Leadership Teams, including UBank’s CEO, we will explore how they have embedded innovation through design thinking. By the end of this course, you will have a set of tools to inform product design and development for your own start-up, or to extend the product roadmap of an established organization....

Top reviews

JJ
Aug 19, 2019

This was very interesting and detailed oriented learning experience, giving insights towards the overall design leg strategy and components of creating a design led customer driven value proposition.

DG
Feb 7, 2021

This is great course. It was informative, relevant to today's way of working and it was enjoyable. Highly recommended.\n\nMany thanks to the team at Univeristy of Sydney who delivered this course,

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 163 Reviews for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

By Amarjeet S S

Jun 11, 2020

Great learning and information.

By Fady I

Sep 11, 2019

Great one, totally recommended.

By Rexie A

Jan 15, 2021

Very helpful and informative.

By Eber S

Jul 3, 2018

A very interesting course!

By Bayron M

Oct 5, 2020

Amazing course, loved it!

By Aziel G

Jul 13, 2020

Wonderful course indeed.

By Archana

May 6, 2019

GOOD AND VALUABLE COURSE

By Manisha P

Jun 4, 2020

Very interesting course

By Roelof D P

Mar 15, 2020

Good informative course

By Amit K

Apr 3, 2020

Good study material

By Evans M

Nov 20, 2020

Truly informative!

By Rajeshwaran

Jun 17, 2020

Very good course

By Felipe M M

Dec 6, 2018

really good!

By DALIYA M

Sep 27, 2020

Nice course

By ASHWIN M

May 6, 2019

Nice course

By Niels v B

Dec 6, 2019

Very good!

By ADEYEMO O

Jun 11, 2020

Excellent

By anubhava s

Jul 14, 2020

nice hai

By nethmini t

Aug 10, 2020

Great

By Sohel S j

Jun 4, 2020

Good

By Martin B

Jan 27, 2021

I liked the course, which conveys design thinking and design strategy principles and tools effectively and understandably. I hoped for a refresher on some key concepts and this course delivered. Some suggestions for improvement: The intense focus on the cases (Ubank / Swiss Re) is a bit too much. While the videos exemplify some of the ideas conveyed in the course, their value add is somewhat limited, so I ended up skipping through lots of these segments. Another idea, given that this wants to be a University course, would be to add some more in-depth reading material beyond blog posts. Other than that, thanks for the effort that went into preparing this!

By Roger R

Apr 13, 2020

The course started off really well. However i felt it ended a bit prematurely. The concepts of Business Strategy was explained and then there was a little deeper dive in design thinking. uptill here it was good.

However the part where Design Thinking meet Biz strat is what i was disappointed in. I felt there was more of a product development focus rather than Biz strat. I am still left wondering how to use design thinking in business strategy.

By Nele R

Jan 29, 2021

I enjoyed the refresher on business strategy and learned more about the principles of design thinking. The material was easy to grasp and useful. Even though it was great to get examples of how design thinking can be used in a practical context, there was too much emphasis on two very specific examples. I would have enjoyed a more varied approach with different examples of design strategy in practice.

By Tanmaya R

Apr 4, 2020

I would love if we could get a PDF of the course information which we could use for our own reference. The content of the course is very informative. The content is well created and gives a through overview of what exactly is Design Strategy. It would be nice if we could actually see the product and application developed for SwissRe and Ubank.

By Karthigeyan S

Dec 9, 2020

Good course giving a perspective on applying design thinking principles in business strategy. One suggestion - Both the case studies or examples are only in the area of product development. It would have been great if one of the case studies were in other business areas it would have helped get a broader perspective.