Chevron Left
Back to Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship by The University of Sydney

4.6
stars
685 ratings
190 reviews

About the Course

This course is for entrepreneurial managers who are looking for tools and techniques to introduce exciting, innovative products or services to market quickly and informed by high-quality customer insights. It is applicable to a range of organizations from small-medium sized enterprises through to corporates, and across a range of industrial segments. The problem this course helps address is the constant pressure managers face to be innovative and introduce novel products and services for their customers. However, many creative ideas get ‘stuck’ in the boardroom or are subject to intra-organizational tensions or group think. This course provides methodologies to break through these challenges. We build on the widely known concept of design thinking but update it and apply it to advance business strategy and entrepreneurship. Over five weeks you will learn what ‘design strategy’ is, how it differs from traditional design thinking and business strategy, and how it can be used to improve existing products or services in your business, or introduce breakthrough ideas. We will also provide an exclusive, deep-dive into the practical application and impact of these strategies in one of Australia’s newest, most innovative financial institutions, UBank, and the global re-insurance giant, Swiss Re. Through conversations with their Senior Executive Leadership Teams, including UBank’s CEO, we will explore how they have embedded innovation through design thinking. By the end of this course, you will have a set of tools to inform product design and development for your own start-up, or to extend the product roadmap of an established organization....

Top reviews

JJ
Aug 19, 2019

This was very interesting and detailed oriented learning experience, giving insights towards the overall design leg strategy and components of creating a design led customer driven value proposition.

DG
Feb 7, 2021

This is great course. It was informative, relevant to today's way of working and it was enjoyable. Highly recommended.\n\nMany thanks to the team at Univeristy of Sydney who delivered this course,

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 190 Reviews for Design-Led Strategy: Design thinking for business strategy and entrepreneurship

By Esmari W

Feb 24, 2021

The course is very useful and I've learned a lot. A suggestion is to add a few examples of completed artefacts, e.g. Business Model Canvas and explain the theory around the completed examples.

By Alejandro L

Mar 21, 2019

The course was great but I wish it had dug a bit deeper into how to use the BMC and how to use the Value Proposition Canvas, which are key tools to understanding the business and taking action.

By Janne T

May 17, 2020

Really compact, and time-effective way to learn. The quality of the teaching really stands out with the proper case companies included. This one of the courses that works online really well!

By Geeta R

Jun 10, 2019

The case studies were really helpful. It would have been more interesting and informative to learn different type of business models for different lines of business.

By Alejandra A

Jun 19, 2020

I think it’s very complete and touches every important part of the subject. I liked how it was structured. I gave it a 4 because I didn’t really find useful week 4.

By Geneviève G

Aug 5, 2019

Très bien conçu. Chaque étape inclut différentes approches d'apprentissage (vidéo, quiz, devoirs et travail de réflexion). J'ai vraiment apprécié ma formation.

By Chioma M

Jun 1, 2021

I quite liked the videos and worksheets which were very informative. I will be able to use the process both in my prpfessional and private life. Thank you

By Greg K

Jul 1, 2019

Excellent insight and tools for turning Design Thinking into Strategy. Easy to follow pace and clear course materials. Going to look for more...

By Sajith P

May 16, 2019

Good Material , Good discussions & Examples were very relevant & Enjoyed the Learning process. This is my first Certification from Coursera :)

By Sudipa G

Jun 10, 2020

It's a very good course and specially for who wanted to be a entrepreneur, so I love to this course and I learned so many things, Thank you.

By Tiago V

Dec 2, 2019

Very interesting way to put on practice the theory you learn with a project that you may want to take off finally!. Great stuff!

By Charles L

Aug 20, 2018

Interesting content, but still not entirely sure how the concepts of design thinking and corporate trategy really gel together.

By Tryambak C

Jan 17, 2020

Great course. But definitely not of intermediate standard. It should be categorized under basic. Just above beginner level.

By Phani K

Jul 21, 2018

A Good course which can give a detailed introduction about Design Thinking. The assignments can be made still tough .

By Cam M

Aug 27, 2019

Very informative with up to date case studies. Would recommend to any entrepreneur, product manager, or designer.

By Sophie B D

May 12, 2020

Excellent course to better understand Design thinking in the context of business strategic initiatives.

By Denis S

May 8, 2019

Very good and practical. Even though it's a virtual course, thought it was really interactive.

By Benoit d C

Feb 12, 2021

It really enjoyed learning these methodologies that help converting ideas into business!

By Harul M

Mar 5, 2019

Very good course for a solid introduction on design thinking for business strategy.

By Mathew N

Apr 3, 2020

Good insight on design thinking and its application in Corporate environment.

By Kartikey G

Jul 11, 2020

A good primer and experience on business strategy and design thinking.

By Thomas O

Nov 13, 2020

I think the course was nicely put together. Well done to the team.

By Marisse P

May 2, 2021

This course is good! There will be always room for improvement.

By Bhavesh L

Jun 15, 2020

Fruitful course with excellent content & tutor.