Chevron Left
Back to Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments by University of California San Diego

3.6
stars
541 ratings
203 reviews

About the Course

You may never be sure whether you have an effective user experience until you have tested it with users. In this course, you’ll learn how to design user-centered experiments, how to run such experiments, and how to analyze data from these experiments in order to evaluate and validate user experiences. You will work through real-world examples of experiments from the fields of UX, IxD, and HCI, understanding issues in experiment design and analysis. You will analyze multiple data sets using recipes given to you in the R statistical programming language -- no prior programming experience is assumed or required, but you will be required to read, understand, and modify code snippets provided to you. By the end of the course, you will be able to knowledgeably design, run, and analyze your own experiments that give statistical weight to your designs....

Top reviews

PP
Nov 17, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken in relation to UX. Very good design, engaging lectures and examples, and well designed exams. I learned alot and enjoyed listening to Dr. Webbrock. Kudos to him.

MS
Nov 28, 2020

Great course.\n\nHighly recommended. It was very clear and I'm very thakful because there were many subjects I only understood partially before this course but are now very clear to me.

Filter by:

176 - 199 of 199 Reviews for Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments

By Michele M

Dec 24, 2016

If you already took statistics, this is a reasonable refresher. However, it is way too brief for the amount of material covered.

By Anna M

Oct 15, 2016

Very hard to follow and to understand if you don't have any mathematics background or statistic knowledge. But it is doable.

By Cristian R

Apr 24, 2016

This course is good but TOO FAR from the real content this specialisation look for (or at least, I was expecting).

By Dina A

Feb 23, 2020

Limited provided resources and it focused on R coding more than content discussion.

By Liwa S

Jul 11, 2016

OK content but too slowly presented

painful experience to go through all the lessons

By Siwen X

Jan 4, 2021

I don't understand what this course is meant to do here...

By Luis P

Oct 5, 2018

Very boring, and not useful for the normal work market

By Esmeralda

Apr 22, 2016

too complicated

By Carina S

May 23, 2020

I wish I could give this no stars. For a course that isn't about coding and doesn't involve math, there certainly is a great deal of both. I actually don't mind that...the fact is that the professor was so intent on avoiding both that he missed a lot of opportunities to actually TEACH. R is a statistics and programming tool. To attempt to teach an entire course while avoiding both math and coding is absolutely ridiculous! I was frustrated and discouraged and ended up seeking other sources to learn because this professor wasn't actually doing his job. I don't want to be a monkey that simply knows how to hit enter. I want to know why the formula is coded the way it is...but without knowing the math or the code I had absolutely no idea WHY I was doing the things I was doing. A teacher should never have to say "So, if you want to learn about what I'm teaching, you can look it up on Wikipedia." If that's in the lesson, then they're not doing their job and they need to rethink their career choice. Truly a disappointment.

By James F

Mar 20, 2021

Statistics are not something I want to master, nor do I enjoy them. Because of this, I am left with no choice but to abandon, regretfully. I wanted to do the capstone project, but am unable to access it without passing Designing, Running, and Analyzing Experiments. I dont quit easily and have made it as far as week 7 in this 9 week long course. My satisfaction rating just took a nosedive. Follow the University of Michigan course if you dont want to jump through the Statistics hoop.

By Emma M

Jun 18, 2021

1. This course has so many multiple choice questions. Especially some of the multiple choice questions are directly from the sentence of the lectures. I've been worked on experiments in the companies for a few years. I believe working on a case is better than "remembering" things in this industry.

2. The course videos are low quality. I can hardly see the code in the screen.

3. I strongly suggest taking experimental design courses from Statistics departments.

By Nick E

Jul 25, 2020

This course is out of date with regards to the software needed to complete it. This makes it incredibly time consuming and frustrating. I have not been able to complete the 'practical' quizzes (5 - 9) as the packages required are no longer available which means I cannot get a pass grade and cannot continue to the Capstone project. The course needs updating unfortunately. It's a shame as the other courses in the overall Interaction Design course work well.

By Thais X G

Nov 24, 2020

This course isn't made for beginners and if you have short time to complete, that is not the course for you. I wish they have explicitly informed about this module, it is not for everybody and you are not able to complete by yourself, even following the instructions, which aren't made for beginners.

By Pedro B

Nov 23, 2020

By far the most complex module. I do understand the need of including it on the course but I feel It goes into some complex concepts without having any backing theory, being up to us students to search for it.

I think this module should be completely revised.

By Caroline A

Dec 11, 2020

This course was so old and so out of date for the current UX world It astounds me Its even still available to take. Horrible course, taught poorly, comprehensible material and quiz. Utter trash pile of a course.

By Dagmara F

Jul 31, 2020

the worst course I've ever done, useless. it's too hard to pass the test, the program that they require to install doesn't work properly. and how need this nowadays? Let me tell you - NO ONE

By tonis

Dec 29, 2020

The whole course was about calculating a "p" value, but I still don't know what it is. I went through it just because I want the specialization, otherwise total waste of time and energy.

By Mariana M O C

May 6, 2016

I took up to week 2 and, so far, this course assumes statistics knowledge. I expected it would provide a background on the rather than just run a code and show the results.

By Omar A P C

Apr 6, 2021

The course is very technical for someone who wants to start in UX and focuses on a program and language that they may not use again.

By Irene C

Dec 23, 2020

This is the worst course I ever had. Useless, not in the same line as the others and a completely waste of time

By Monica W

Mar 23, 2021

This shouldn't be a pre-requisite to access the capstone.

By Reuben A

Dec 25, 2020

Horrible. Was a nightmare to finish.

By Diego R

Apr 3, 2016

i'm loosing my mind :(

By Igor I

Oct 25, 2016

Way to technical