Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
829 ratings

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this second part--part two of five--we cover derivatives, differentiation rules, linearization, higher derivatives, optimization, differentials, and differentiation operators....

Top reviews

JB

Feb 17, 2018

So much fun, and hits all sorts of things I'd always wanted to know. The homework took me a long time, so I didn't get to watch all the bonus lectures, but the ones I did were really interesting.

AB

Dec 7, 2020

This course introduces brand new perspectives and concepts of derivatives and differentials. It also provides applications of differentials in different fields, such as Physics and Economics.

Filter by:

151 - 168 of 168 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

By Bendeguz S

Aug 10, 2019

Presentations are great, albeit some topics were neglected or were too short. Overall 8,5/10

By Alinaswe C

Jan 12, 2022

The course is great although deeper explanations and more examples are needed.

By Le W

May 4, 2020

the Professor's voice and tempo is tooooooooo slow that we want to sleep

By Benjamin C

Mar 19, 2018

Tough course, but a very fresh look at differential calculus.

By Salim S

Jan 10, 2018

IT'S GIVE ME A DEEP UNDERSTANDING . THANK'S

By kanagaratnam j

Jan 20, 2016

very need the lecture note

By Rajni G

Aug 4, 2021

IT WAS A NICE EXPERIENCE

By 马包威

Jun 13, 2017

easy to understand

By Alain L

Mar 15, 2017

Bonjour.

By Leah J

Jun 25, 2020

This course is extremely difficult, and it is in one's best interest to have already taken Calculus 1-4, Differential Equations, and other various mathematics courses before taking this course.

Despite the difficulty of the course, the material was quite interesting, and Dr. Ghrist is a great professor. Thank you Coursera!

By Deleted A

May 22, 2020

For someone like myself who took this course as a refresher after not having taken a formal calculus class after some 40 years, I found that this course required knowledge of aspects of mathematics that had been forgotten and not covered in the course.

By omar k

May 19, 2020

Very low exercises

very low exercises

very low exercises

By m4nu

Sep 24, 2020

I appreciate it to be a hard course and I really enjoyed the quizzes that are indeed challenging which I enjoyed but in my opinion, the video material in this course makes too many assumptions on what the student knows and leave big gaps. My experience would have been so much better if there were additional pointers on how to acquire the missing information.

Overall this course is appropriate for someone with strong calculus foundations, looking for a refresher but no so much for a self-taught student like myself.

By Sabina K K

Aug 27, 2017

The course is interesting, but it's major drawback is the lack of good answers or at least hints for quizes and exams.

By Ken H

Jul 9, 2020

Lectures aren't useful for problems/quizzes.

By Taimur S

Jan 24, 2021

hard!!!!!!!

By Michael R

Dec 30, 2020

There's no feed back nor working of example problems. The teacher seems to have forgotten to discuss

3/4 of the content. My suggestion to improve course -is to work example problems and show how to do a variety of them, rather than discussing with out much in depth working. Come on -this is teaching 101!

Now to get the proper review I'm looking for I'll have to join a different calc course, then possibly come back after all the missing is filled in by another university.

By Saqer j a a

Nov 3, 2020

Not recommended