Chevron Left
Back to Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
823 ratings
169 reviews

About the Course

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this second part--part two of five--we cover derivatives, differentiation rules, linearization, higher derivatives, optimization, differentials, and differentiation operators....

Top reviews

JB

Feb 17, 2018

So much fun, and hits all sorts of things I'd always wanted to know. The homework took me a long time, so I didn't get to watch all the bonus lectures, but the ones I did were really interesting.

AB

Dec 7, 2020

This course introduces brand new perspectives and concepts of derivatives and differentials. It also provides applications of differentials in different fields, such as Physics and Economics.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 167 Reviews for Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

By Oscar O

Aug 13, 2020

I gave 5 stars ....should have been 6 or more!!!!.....a Masterpiece of course.....Thanks Dr Ghrist, really thank you for it.....and congratulations to you, your team and all who study it....

By Rahul

Jun 19, 2021

This course is highly interactive. You'll never experience boredom. This is recommendable to learners of standard level. Remember you should have at least studied calculus at high school.

By jing s

Sep 1, 2020

I learned a lot from this course.With animation to explain the formula,makes it easily to be understood.The learning of calculus laid the foundation for my future study.Thanks,professor.

By Utkarsh R

Jan 17, 2016

This module is great. The thing I like most is how professor implements the theory into Physics and other realistic models. Ive also begun liking statistics a little bit. Now, part 3.

By Emmanuel A

Dec 16, 2020

I love this course, and it's really interesting and practical. This time around I had 79%, and this is the second calculus course I took with UPenn. My third one will be around 90%+

By HAIBO W

Aug 22, 2020

The course changed my view on Calculus Study, especially Differentiation greatly. This is a fantastic course. I like the Powerpoints very much as they look attractive.

By Carlos A

Jun 26, 2017

Great, really good. Again great videolectures, great examples, nice bonuses.

I think I mentioned this but again, great videos, the colors, the clarity. Thanks.

By Mark B

Jul 6, 2022

W​ikipedia, Lang's calculus textbook, and the course notes from the internet archive were my constant companions. The homeworks certainly got me to study!

By Alejandro C

Oct 24, 2016

This is, by far, the best course I have ever taken. I will take the Multivariable Calculus course when it is open, after finishing the 5 S.V.C. courses.

By Madhu K S

Apr 19, 2020

Very nice course. It served as a good refresher, and was not hard for me. The material is presented in a different way than a typical college course.

By Nishant P

Oct 24, 2017

Explanations are crystal clear, with a strong emphasis on developing a deep conceptual understanding of math rather than "calculating derivatives"

By Zejd I

May 3, 2022

Great course. Even if you know differenetiation you will still find some useful information you didn't know about it. Let's go to integration ;)

By Hyosik M

Jul 29, 2020

It's an awesome lecture. I strongly recommend to take the course in order to improve your understanding of Calculus, especially differentiation.

By Xiaolin H

Feb 21, 2018

Excellent! I really love this course. The Professor is awesome! He succeeds teaching the hard course in a easily understandable way. Great!

By Ash K

Apr 22, 2021

Very interactive videos, gr8 co-learners as the forums are full of methods and new ways to approach problems...

By Sean D

Jul 22, 2021

The quality of Professor Ghrist's lectures is just wonderful. It is a joy to study this course. Many thanks.

By lawrence a

Nov 26, 2018

This course is good because there are challenging questions which helps you apply the concepts in calculus!

By Alekhya V

May 21, 2021

It was a brilliant continuation to Course 1- Functions, very thoroughly explained. I enjoyed this course!

By Eva N

Jan 5, 2020

I liked this course very much. The lessons are clear and interesting, the exams challenging but feasible.

By BoWen T

Mar 12, 2019

It's very good for me to start a new way to the math and it opens up my new ideas, thanks to professior G

By Brian G

Feb 21, 2021

Great refreshed on calculus. Gives not only the theory, but builds an intuitive sense of it all.

By Maria S

Mar 6, 2016

Recommended also for people who wants to review the topics after passing this subject in College!

By Uygun S

Feb 8, 2016

just excellent, please make one on linear algebra, discrete mathematics and multivariate calculus

By Pavel K

Sep 7, 2019

Gives a new perspective on derivatives and the clear insight into how a simple calculator works

By Arne S

Jan 24, 2016

This course has excellent training material. It requires a lot of work from the student though.