Chevron Left
Back to Information & Digital Literacy for University Success

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Information & Digital Literacy for University Success by The University of Sydney

4.9
stars
2,123 ratings
538 reviews

About the Course

This Specialization is aimed at preparing students for undergraduate study in an English-speaking university. The course equips you for full participation and engagement with your studies by building awareness and understanding of the core values and expectations of academic culture, and providing you with practical strategies to apply to your studies. In this course, you will learn how to develop your Information & Digital Literacy Skills to help you achieve success in your university studies. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Access and search for information efficiently and effectively using a variety of digital tools. 2. Critically evaluate the reliability of sources for an academic context. 3. Filter, manage and organize information from a wide variety of sources for use in academic study. 4. Demonstrate awareness of ethical issues related to academic integrity surrounding the access and use of information. 5. Understand how to use digital tools for referencing and attribution in order to avoid plagiarism. 6. Understand how to disseminate and communicate information in a professional way, including managing digital identity and building networks for learning and research....

Top reviews

AJ
Jan 5, 2021

Everyone enrolled or planning to enrol for their studies at a university must take this wonderful course. It is an amazing course highlighting all the most important academic needs of students.

S
Jul 20, 2020

This course was really very amazing. Through this course I learned a lot. I became familiar with the things which I did not know before. Thank you coursera for offering such amazing course.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 545 Reviews for Information & Digital Literacy for University Success

By Issam B

Oct 2, 2019

it's a good course

By Hamid I

Jan 20, 2020

Fantastic course!

By Valentine V

Oct 1, 2018

Замечательный курс, рекомендую всем соотечественникам, не только тем, кто в процессе получения высшего образования. Материал прекрасно структурирован, практические занятия разработаны грамотно, Навык, полученный в результате прохождения, в идеальном мире должен быть у каждого взрослого человека. В России к сожалению, аналогов таких курсов очень мало. Уровня intermediate достаточно, чтобы пройти материал. Огромное спасибо всем, кто разработал этот курс!

By Sudip K M

Jul 20, 2021

Amazing course, good quality materials, professional looks and aesthetics, perfect time-table and week-wise distribution of course. Great assignment to explore learnt skills.

By Khaled A F M B

Apr 9, 2020

There is no greater digital literacy and information - the great instructor has made us a huge success, Thank you from heart.

By Ruby M M

Nov 7, 2020

I love this course, very on point and straightforward! You rock, professors! I hope to visit University of Sydney one day.

By Aqsa H M

Jun 12, 2020

Brilliant course i must say. Thank you!

By TramNTNCS140268

Feb 4, 2020

very good for me

By MinhLNHE150359

Feb 11, 2020

The learning process was quite simple and straight-forward. However the final assignment was frustrating to complete due to bugs and broken links. The peer to peer review system still has flaws as the review screen becomes a mess of interloping text, making it impossible to read the submissions.

By CHIA Y P

Jul 17, 2020

The course is very good.

But I am NOT SATISFIED that the it takes the University such a long time to complete the Peer Assessment. It has been more than 2 months and I still have not obtained my certificate. If there is no peers doing the assessment, my course status will forever be in 'Progress'. I feel that it is the responsibility of the University and the course leaders to mark our work and award the certificate so that we can graduate from the course. There are many many of us are in this situation.

Please review the course SOP so that those who take up the course will have a enjoyable journey and also proper award. For now I make sure I stay away from any courses in Coursera that asks us to do 'Peer Assessment' as we will never get the certificate. My HR dept will not regard that I have completed the course without the certificate, which is very upsetting as I had spent many hours completing the course.

Thanks for looking into the matter urgently.

By Gabriel U

Jun 24, 2020

The course offered by the University of Sydney is incredible! It has lots of useful information and tips that help us a lot during the university experience as a student or researcher. It is a dense and information-rich course, and I recommend to write down the information that the lectures provide so that you can use it more effectively when you need it. It was a very good experience, with only one caveat. At the end of the course, when it was necessary to wait for the marks that the colleagues in the course would give to your work, unfair and unjustified evaluations were made, which took some time to earn the marks that were fair and deserved for my work. Other than that, everything was perfect.

By Phạm K C Đ

Feb 16, 2021

With me, that course helps me a lot of things. In the university, I really don't understand how to research information, how to make essays, articles and especialize in how to reference. After the course, I can understand the way to make research online and I don't scared of plagiarism. However, I think the course has a limitation which is discussion and asking questions for lectures. See all, I believe that course is good to learn.

By Albert M

Apr 11, 2021

The course is well put together and opens up several areas for reflection and skills building. It is helpful as a foundational course on the skill necessary to make a start at university education. Well done!!

Please note however, that in the final assessment there is a resource whose weblink leads to a '404' page since the resource has been moved or deleted. Thus it is not possible to answer Part 1, Source 3 in the assessment.

By Sheena N

Jul 3, 2020

This course is very informative, its very helpful for students who are going to take admission in the university. The instructor Ms. Katherine Olston explain and guide about every topic so nicely. Thank you so much for designing this course.

By Franco Z I

Mar 3, 2021

It is a very important course as it teaches you skills to perform better in college. I believe that all students should start with this course to obtain good results at the beginning of the career. I recommend it

By W.K.G.S. P

May 15, 2021

Really learnt many important facts which are compulsory, Great course, I learnt how to keep my documents without being messy and learnt how to use references .

By Nguyen T H (

Jun 24, 2021

It's great and very detail for the fact that it teach me a new way to critically thinking at looking and find the knowledge I need for any kind of subjects.

By UyenHTPDS160183

Jan 25, 2021

the Learner Help Support in Coursera is so nice and caring. They reply my email so fast! And I am so surprise for the quality of Learner Help Support!

By Tran T T ( H

Mar 3, 2021

After completing the course, I found that I improved many skills and also changed many of my prejudices. Make it easier for me to control everything.

By Dong T H ( H

Jan 16, 2021

it is good. It helps me to have a lot of skills. Practice reading comprehension, problem solving, community skills, English language, ... etc ...

By Đinh T T

May 22, 2021

This coursera is amazing!

It helps me to gain a lot of knowledge. I feel lucky to be studying on coursera. Thanks for creating this course

By Mohammed G M A

May 23, 2021

An excellent course! I wish I had knew this before I started college. I am in grad school now and I am so thankful I came across it.

By Nguyen N H

Sep 23, 2021

This is a very useful and meaningful course for me. It helped me better understand how to study to get good results in University.

By Dang Q T

Jan 25, 2021

I think it is very helpful, not only to help me learn my skills but also to find out how the internet is harmful to everyone.

By Joseph A

Jul 24, 2020

It's very good for the beginners for having the basic of Information and Digital Literacy for University Success.