Chevron Left
Back to Digital Systems: From Logic Gates to Processors

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Digital Systems: From Logic Gates to Processors by Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

4.4
stars
529 ratings
114 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you a complete insight into the modern design of digital systems fundamentals from an eminently practical point of view. Unlike other more "classic" digital circuits courses, our interest focuses more on the system than on the electronics that support it. This approach will allow us to lay the foundation for the design of complex digital systems. You will learn a set of design methodologies and will use a set of (educational-oriented) computer-aided-design tools (CAD) that will allow you not only to design small and medium size circuits, but also to access to higher level courses covering so exciting topics as application specific integrated circuits (ASICs) design or computer architecture, to give just two examples. Course topics are complemented with the design of a simple processor, introduced as a transversal example of a complex digital system. This example will let you understand and feel comfortable with some fundamental computer architecture terms as the instruction set, microprograms and microinstructions. After completing this course you will be able to: * Design medium complexity digital systems. * Understand the description of digital systems using high-level languages such as VHDL. * Understand how computers operate at their most basic level (machine language)....

Top reviews

RT
Jul 21, 2020

This was my 4th online course and I am pretty sure this was my best experience. Everything was covered in detail and yet very precisely. Thanks to both coursera and UAB for this course.

SN
Mar 20, 2020

Pretty awesome, the course gives you a good understanding of all basic concepts and the practice, extra and graded problems make you intimately familiar with its applications.

Filter by:

101 - 111 of 111 Reviews for Digital Systems: From Logic Gates to Processors

By Jerry L

May 22, 2018

I wanted to refresh what I learned in undergrad, believing that I was now interested in exploring a career change from software development to designing embedded systems. The time commitment required is much greater than advertised. First, the weekly lectures frequently skimmed passed material that will be tested in the associated quiz, forcing you to scour the forums and Google to expand on the material (ex: cube notation). Second, the way the quizzes were crafted were borderline cheap shots at making the class difficult. For example, weeks seven thru eight's practice quizzes would have problems of a certain type, only so that the graded quiz would list problems of a completely different type. What was the point of practicing then? Third, the VM for the circuit diagramming labs was so locked down, you couldn't increase the display resolution so many hours are wasted squinting at the monitor to move the cursor literally 1-2 pixels over lest a signal isn't actually connected. All these factors contribute to making the time commitment realistically >= 5 hours per week for the practice and graded quizzes alone, as you will be redoing them multiple times. Overall, I would recommend you find another reputable university to cover Digital Systems.

By André M S

Jun 18, 2020

Very theoretical, but at the same time, goes deep into real-world considerations of digital circuit design, like gate delays and physical. This is what I appreciate about the course.

However, the grading is too archaic for some questions. The VM-based digital design quizzes were great, and the software used is well documented, but the multiple choice questions are a bit contrived. It would be better if there was some way to also grade the final processor design, like in nand2tetris.

Also the intructors' speaking gets downright incomprehensible at certain points.

By debasish k

Oct 14, 2017

I was really helpful by the advance of this course.I an VLSI student got an understanding of designing of the processor.But it might have been more compact and good if the "TEST BENCH " of the design is also included with it .

Thanks for your effort .

By RAHUL K V

May 28, 2020

The presentation can be improved. The VHDL part is very poor need to improve that portion of the course. But the digital portion is good with all the assignments and quiz. But the course was not upto expectation.

By Xingyu Z

Apr 24, 2020

This course has a very good quiz that can teach you many things, however, the videos are not good enough so that students can handle the quiz smoothly. There is still a large gap between the videos and the quiz.

By Raghul R

May 18, 2020

The video content needs to be more expanded

By Kaustubh D

May 20, 2020

Explanation is not clear and certain concepts really have a poor explanation. Some quizzes are really hard and the concepts are not explained clearly. I don't think it is worth doing.

By Arvind G

May 3, 2019

Difficult tests but only brief and hasty explanations in video lectures.

By Mcvean S

Sep 15, 2020

A good course, but would not recommend for beginners.

By Seyyed M A D

Jul 16, 2017

Hi, unfortunately the videos don't have good sound quality.

By chetan v h

Jan 7, 2020

very high level course and cannot do anything