Chevron Left
Back to Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology by University of Alberta

4.9
stars
2,586 ratings
901 reviews

About the Course

Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology is a 12-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of non-avian dinosaurs. Topics covered: anatomy, eating, locomotion, growth, environmental and behavioral adaptations, origins and extinction. Lessons are delivered from museums, fossil-preparation labs and dig sites. Estimated workload: 3-5 hrs/week....

Top reviews

JH
Apr 5, 2017

Thank you for this excellent course! I really enjoyed the short videos, the concise notes, and quick quizzes (both at the end of each lesson, as well as the main point quizzes throughout the videos).

PM
Oct 17, 2020

Even as a dinosaur nerd, I still learned a lot. Instructional videos with embedded quizzes were very well constructed. I'm just a bit bummed that I couldn't access the fossil viewer for some reason.

Filter by:

876 - 896 of 896 Reviews for Dino 101: Dinosaur Paleobiology

By Sarah H

Nov 13, 2018

Easy to follow and complete -- which there were reminders as to when things were due

By Andres A

Sep 27, 2017

Los exámenes al final de cada modulo deberían ser un poco más complicados.

By Stefan

Nov 24, 2018

Very interesting with excellent instructional videos at a relaxing pace

By Romain G D R

Aug 18, 2020

Basic, but well explained for beginners, solid knowledge afterwards

By Nelma E L

Oct 9, 2020

I wish I could use the fossil viewer. I couldn't access it at all

By l

Apr 8, 2017

Engaging intro course with superb visuals and virtual specimens.

By Daven G

Jun 16, 2020

Pretty good, but the video quality wasn't too great.

By Gary D

Aug 11, 2020

Very difficult, so much nomenclature to remember.

By Kok L C

Apr 27, 2020

Interesting and informative. Glad I took it.

By Laura T

May 15, 2018

This was very informative and enjoyable

By Joel H

Jun 8, 2019

Very good course with lots of detail.

By Tisya D

Sep 28, 2020

I liked the course ❤️ Thanks

By Raymond D

Oct 10, 2017

Great course. Learned a lot.

By Carlos P F

Dec 8, 2018

really entertaining course

By Cora H

Apr 21, 2017

This was fun!

By Koustav M

Jun 9, 2020

Good

By Martin E

Oct 23, 2020

An interesting course that had plenty of material that was new, informative and well presented. However it felt some what dated and I was very disappointed that the fossil viewer only worked on one occasion - and when it did the images seemed low resolution and not reflective of current technology. That said I enjoyed the presentations and learnt a lot, even if I found the names of species, groups and so on confusing and overwhelming. I would have liked to see more images (and at higher resolution) of some of the animals/concepts being discussed. That said, I want to emphasis that I learnt a lot and will make time to read further on the topic).

By Bernardo

May 14, 2020

Good for beginners, but as good as I could've been. the facts used in this are like from 2014. I would benefit from using more up to date facts, could've also focused more on some non-dinosaurian animals.

By SALEEKHA P K T

Jun 14, 2020

An awesome course..enjoyed very much..Thank you coursera

By Mainul H

May 14, 2020

good

By Brent L

Sep 30, 2019

It is a fascinating subject, that's why I listened, however,

The young lady giving the lectures to be polite should have a desk job. Very poor public speaker with nervous hand gestures, monotone delivery,hard swallowing. What is an interesting subject matter becomes insufferable. That said, perhaps the use of charts listing types, locations and ancestry, specific features, etc. would help keep track of a vast subject matter, alas, now more of a jumble than I had anticipated. Also, please eliminate a good many of the intra-lecture pop quizzes, unless your target audience is 8th and 9th graders. Unnecessarily simplistic, bordering on insulting. The week end tests are well thought out, thought provoking.