Chevron Left
Back to Disaster Preparedness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Disaster Preparedness by University of Pittsburgh

4.7
stars
887 ratings
292 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Top reviews

CH

Jan 31, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

SM

Jul 06, 2020

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 290 Reviews for Disaster Preparedness

By Kathrina C L

Jul 17, 2020

Thank you so much for an insightful online discussion. I learned a lot from this and hopefully I can apply what I learned from here.

By Hewa A C D S

Jun 07, 2020

This is a very useful course to follow since we always live with disasters. Course materials are also really good to gain knowledge.

By Pankaj P

Mar 25, 2020

Extremwly useful. Many a things which I was completely unaware were explained so easily. Thanks to Mr. Beach and His colleagues..

By Connie G

Aug 05, 2020

I have been through a number of hurricanes and most recently the Covid-19 virus. Thank you for your course, excellent professor.

By Stacy M

May 19, 2016

Very informative, thorough, and interesting! Instructor very knowledgeable and communicable along with excellent guest speakers!

By umer s

Jun 15, 2020

Highly recomended cource, you will learn a lot and your prospective regarding desasterprepadness will shurly change

Best of luk

By sandeep

May 26, 2020

Best faculty... useful and very informative education. mush to learn for every human who wants to help himself and his family.

By Prodipto M

Jun 24, 2020

I'm very happy and satisfied with the course programme.This course is very helpful in my learning and development skills.

By Viveka B J

May 31, 2020

An excellent course with tons of useful information. I intend to apply a lot of what was learnt, in my day-to-day living.

By Manoj m s

May 12, 2020

The way he teach and depth of information is truly saying its wonderfull opurtunity to course and taking depth knowledge

By Garry K

Feb 09, 2017

Learned a lot more than I expected and finally got motiveted to formalize and finish our emergency plans and supplies.

By Vijay K

May 28, 2020

This course was designed in very well manner. this should be join and completed by all of you. this is my suggestion.

By Dhakshayini D

May 09, 2020

This was the best time to have an interaction and in-knowledge on this subject. Great time and subject to invest on.

By Hannah G

May 07, 2020

Very informative course that actually taught me valuable information. Also finished it in 2 days of constant work.

By Mayra G

Sep 11, 2020

Un curso muy completo, que te permite ver la gestión y el manejo de desastres desde la perspectiva de otro país.

By Kamal S

Apr 05, 2019

i learn a lot of things from this course this course will definetly help me in my future for better opportunity

By Riya S

Aug 09, 2020

Great course. Everyone should learn how to survive in a disaster and this course is totally dedicated to that.

By Myra Y A

Mar 02, 2020

The course is very helpful to me not only because of my line of work but also personally in the real world.

By Sofie A R

Jun 17, 2020

got a lot of useful information to be prepared for the disaster that we never aware/know before, thank you

By Stefano M

Jul 15, 2016

lessons are very clear and rich of links to external material, and instructor is communicating effectively

By Wristly J A

Jun 01, 2020

Very informative and engaging course. Practical and tailor-fitted to this time when disasters are common.

By Keith K

Aug 09, 2020

Excellent course, teaches disaster preparedness , after disaster response / survival, and recovery.

By Vijayan M

May 04, 2020

Very Informational course in Disaster Preparedness for our Family, Organizational and International.

By My I

Sep 10, 2015

I'm really enjoying this class on Disaster Preparedness with Mike Beach. Mike is a great instructor!

By OLASOMISOYE H

Apr 17, 2020

This course offered me so much. Added to my knowledge bank is the START skill. I am so delighted.