Chevron Left
Back to Disaster Preparedness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Disaster Preparedness by University of Pittsburgh

4.7
stars
1,339 ratings
404 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Top reviews

CH
Jan 30, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL
Oct 7, 2020

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 404 Reviews for Disaster Preparedness

By Pamela W

Aug 14, 2015

I loved this course and all the interesting speakers. I learned a great deal and how much I am unprepared for a disaster, I had no idea. Well worth every minute.

By Cheron C

May 3, 2020

I was very happy with the overall course however the knife portion was a little long and didn’t find useful. Hope you would offer a course a large bachelor degree.

By Ichsan N

Apr 22, 2020

By taking this course, I can share my knowledge with the emergency response community and all parents at my child's school about how we should respond to disasters.

By Rajeev C

Feb 2, 2016

Superb course material and presentation by Prof Michael is simply awesome. Thank you so much for providing me an opportunity to learn through this awesome platform.

By Christian G G J

Jul 9, 2020

Excelente curso, ya ha pasado un mes y no me he dado cuenta, muy entretenido y util, de como actuar es situaciones de desastres, 100% recomendado., muy buen curso

By LUCIO S

Apr 17, 2021

the course is a comprehensive learning on disaster preparedness, what i like about it is the enlightenment on personal safety and survival planning on a disaster.

By Erwin Y A E

May 6, 2020

The course was very helpful, I learned a lot thing things that I can use for my family ang community, learning with University of Pittsburg is fun and enjoyable.

By Bhagya J

Apr 8, 2021

I enjoyed the course very much! It was fun and quite relatable with loads of knowledge. Also liked the way it was intricately designed for better comprehension.

By Razvan V T

Jul 27, 2020

I am grateful for this opportunity. Thank you so much, Prof Michael Beach and Coursera. I need to study more. It's been a great and enriching experience surely.

By Rachelle L

May 30, 2020

Very useful information that anyone should consider taking!

Thank you, I really enjoyed both the preparedness for Disaster and survival components of the course.

By ASHUTOSH T

Mar 16, 2018

A course offering multiple insights in to family Disaster Preparedness.This course will be extremely helpful in surviving any Disaster situation successfully.

By Vetukuri j n b

Sep 3, 2020

This course is very useful for each and every person. Not only the students graduates.. Etc it is help full to each and every person. Very use full course.

By Roman V

Jun 5, 2020

This course can be very useful for all people on the Earth, I have gained a lot for being prepared for the a disaster on one hand as for our regular life.

By Lita L

Oct 23, 2017

Great course. Everyone should be required to take this. There are disasters just waiting to happen in all parts of the country and the world. Be Prepared!

By Agapito D V C J

Jun 3, 2020

Thank you very much for this course!

I really appreciated this.

Thank you for all the efforts!

Truly, it is an awesome course.

I've learned a lot!

God bless!

By Angela R

May 18, 2020

I graduated from the University of Pittsburgh and wish I had taken this course there.I highly recommend it! Thank you for making this course available.

By Miguel J R D

Jul 10, 2017

Gracias por ofrecerme la oportunidad de aprender junto con Mike a través de la plataforma de Coursera. Espero poder seguir avanzando con vosotros.

By Romil A

Apr 18, 2021

Simply excellent! Everybody in the community needs to learn this course on Disaster Preparedness because disaster and crisis do happen everyday

By Indra M D

Jul 14, 2020

a very life long useful and important courses. thank you every one concern people who directly and indirectly involve to complete this course.

By Perumalu K

Nov 16, 2017

Great course thanks to the teachers and coursera for creating this wonderful opportunities to learn l will definitely recommend to my friends.

By SUNAYANA C

Oct 24, 2020

this course has provided good insight on personal survival during a disaster of any kind, its great skill to have knowledge on this subject,

By Sumaiya S

Jun 19, 2020

A basic and must needed course for literally everyone! Provides clear and practical insight on disaster survival. Highly recommend this!

By abbas m

Sep 27, 2020

I enjoy the learning of 'Desaster preparedness' in coursera and I am so happy because I could complete the course in the right manner

By Annabel M

Jun 6, 2020

About the course, it is informative and really help me as mountaineers and a teacher. thakyou for the knowledge i gain from the course

By Kathrina C L

Jul 17, 2020

Thank you so much for an insightful online discussion. I learned a lot from this and hopefully I can apply what I learned from here.