Chevron Left
Back to Disaster Preparedness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Disaster Preparedness by University of Pittsburgh

4.7
stars
1,440 ratings

About the Course

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Top reviews

CH

Jan 30, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

JL

Oct 7, 2020

grateful to have this kind of Course in here while having sponsor. Most important course because it teaches the basic surviving skills and safety during disaster. likewise, Safety First!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 426 Reviews for Disaster Preparedness

By Vetukuri j n b

Sep 3, 2020

This course is very useful for each and every person. Not only the students graduates.. Etc it is help full to each and every person. Very use full course.

By Roman V

Jun 5, 2020

This course can be very useful for all people on the Earth, I have gained a lot for being prepared for the a disaster on one hand as for our regular life.

By Lita L

Oct 23, 2017

Great course. Everyone should be required to take this. There are disasters just waiting to happen in all parts of the country and the world. Be Prepared!

By Agapito D C J

Jun 3, 2020

Thank you very much for this course!

I really appreciated this.

Thank you for all the efforts!

Truly, it is an awesome course.

I've learned a lot!

God bless!

By Angela R

May 18, 2020

I graduated from the University of Pittsburgh and wish I had taken this course there.I highly recommend it! Thank you for making this course available.

By Miguel J R D

Jul 10, 2017

Gracias por ofrecerme la oportunidad de aprender junto con Mike a través de la plataforma de Coursera. Espero poder seguir avanzando con vosotros.

By Romil A

Apr 18, 2021

Simply excellent! Everybody in the community needs to learn this course on Disaster Preparedness because disaster and crisis do happen everyday

By Indra M D

Jul 14, 2020

a very life long useful and important courses. thank you every one concern people who directly and indirectly involve to complete this course.

By Perumalu K

Nov 16, 2017

Great course thanks to the teachers and coursera for creating this wonderful opportunities to learn l will definitely recommend to my friends.

By SUNAYANA C

Oct 24, 2020

this course has provided good insight on personal survival during a disaster of any kind, its great skill to have knowledge on this subject,

By Kovacs V

Mar 11, 2022

Very good introductory course for laymen. Please note that some of the links for the reading materials are unavailble or limited to the US.

By Sumaiya S

Jun 19, 2020

A basic and must needed course for literally everyone! Provides clear and practical insight on disaster survival. Highly recommend this!

By abbas m

Sep 27, 2020

I enjoy the learning of 'Desaster preparedness' in coursera and I am so happy because I could complete the course in the right manner

By Annabel M

Jun 6, 2020

About the course, it is informative and really help me as mountaineers and a teacher. thakyou for the knowledge i gain from the course

By Kathrina C L

Jul 17, 2020

Thank you so much for an insightful online discussion. I learned a lot from this and hopefully I can apply what I learned from here.

By Chinthani S

Jun 7, 2020

This is a very useful course to follow since we always live with disasters. Course materials are also really good to gain knowledge.

By Pankaj P

Mar 24, 2020

Extremwly useful. Many a things which I was completely unaware were explained so easily. Thanks to Mr. Beach and His colleagues..

By Connie G

Aug 5, 2020

I have been through a number of hurricanes and most recently the Covid-19 virus. Thank you for your course, excellent professor.

By Stacy M

May 19, 2016

Very informative, thorough, and interesting! Instructor very knowledgeable and communicable along with excellent guest speakers!

By umer s

Jun 15, 2020

Highly recomended cource, you will learn a lot and your prospective regarding desasterprepadness will shurly change

Best of luk

By sandeep

May 26, 2020

Best faculty... useful and very informative education. mush to learn for every human who wants to help himself and his family.

By Anna C F

Dec 4, 2020

Great practical information, critical thinking skills strengthened and would recommend to anyone interested in this subject!

By Titus H

Nov 16, 2020

Good course!Made me think about planning for any disaster by having a jump and home preparedness kit to use during disaster

By Prodipto M

Jun 24, 2020

I'm very happy and satisfied with the course programme.This course is very helpful in my learning and development skills.

By Viveka B J

May 31, 2020

An excellent course with tons of useful information. I intend to apply a lot of what was learnt, in my day-to-day living.