Chevron Left
Back to Dog Emotion and Cognition

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Dog Emotion and Cognition by Duke University

4.7
stars
3,861 ratings
1,165 reviews

About the Course

Dog Emotion and Cognition will introduce you to the exciting new study of dog psychology, what the latest discoveries tell us about how dogs think and feel about us, and how we can use this new knowledge to further strengthen our relationship with our best friends....

Top reviews

DE
Dec 13, 2020

I learned valuable information about dogs. I can better understand the thought processes of my own dogs. I really like that the lecture slides were provided after the lectures, so I could review them.

LT
Aug 3, 2019

Great course with a lot of new information, not just about dogs but even domestication of other species, including humans. The predictability of aggression in humans would be an interesting next topic

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,152 Reviews for Dog Emotion and Cognition

By Nu M

Apr 14, 2016

GREAT. I listened to these lectures while at work and it was so engaging. A few very interesting studies are cited and I would recommend the Dognition app to any of my pet lover friends. This course has followed me in my interactions with animals and it will probably continue to come to mind in the future.

By Janina R

Sep 12, 2015

Very interesting course. The quizzes were challenging, which was good, and I liked that there was a final exam, too. The lecturer was maybe a bit too "wordy" and could have cut to the point faster without repetition but he was being enthusiastic about his topic, so that is forgiven. Overall, a good course!

By Shelamay M

Oct 17, 2020

As a dog lover, I found this course really interesting. I learned so much about dogs, their evolution, and how one simple movement can mean a lot of things to them. Thank you, Dr. Hare, for being enthusiastic in sharing your knowledge in this entire course. It is highly recommended to citizen scientists!

By Nicole M B

May 3, 2020

A great basic science course focused around man's best friend. Highly enjoyable lectures, and the "citizen science" aspect is fun too. The material is presented in a really accessible way, and is a fun introduction to genetics, evolution, cognition, and a number of other topics through the lens of dogs.

By Natasha O

Dec 15, 2015

This was an amazing course! The format was fantastic and easy to follow and Dr. Brian hare was an engaging speaker, which the videos wonderful to watch. I also really liked that it was self-paced because then I could really try out the Dognition exercises with my dog and have the time to read the book.

By MD. A U I

May 2, 2020

I Enjoyed This Course so Much, So many things explained elaborately which helped a lot to understand the overall topics, and thanks for the so many resources and reference given for extra knowledge gathering, thanks to our lecturer and all the fellow mates for being helpful in the discussion section,

By Iván F R

Feb 8, 2018

I found this course very interesting in order to know more about myself by knowing more about our relations with other species. I think the concept of self-domestication and the physiological changes it produces in the individuals has been the most surprising thing I've learned thanks to this course.

By Jarrod R B

Jan 23, 2016

This is an extraordinary course. I'm currently enrolled in school to become a Veterinary Assistant, and this course (along with Brian Hare & Vanessa Woods' "The Genius of Dogs," has been a wonderful learning experience. I definitely recommend this for anyone working with dogs and dog owners. Cheers.

By Yasmine S

Aug 28, 2017

Absolutely LOVED this course. Fascinating studies on how dogs and other animals as well as humans have evolved and the many different branches of intelligence. There was not a single dull moment in this course and the professor was brilliant. Can't recommend this course highly enough. Thank you!

By Ashley S H

Apr 8, 2018

Best online course I've taken regarding canine science. Starts off a little slow, but by "week 3," I was hooked. The information presented is exciting and relevant. And, the course left me with a greater hunger for knowledge, which I believe is the hallmark of an excellent learning experience.

By Rebecca N

Mar 30, 2018

This was a fantastic course. I'm so impressed with the learning style, mixing the book (The Genius of Dogs) with the online course made understanding and retaining the information so much easier. It's genuinely impacted how I will be training my current dogs and future dogs. Thank you so much.

By Erica K T

Nov 28, 2015

I Have just finished the course and loved it! Brian Hare is great, and is an honor to see his lectures. I work with dog cognition and emotional sense, so i've read a lot of Brians papers. This course is amazing and I indicate to everyone who study animal behavior or just love dogs (or both).

By April M H

Jan 15, 2019

Excellent Information, Great Professor, and Superior Knowledge for a better understanding of Man's Best Friend. Worth EVERY SINGLE PENNY of the $49.99 or whatever the compensation was for teaching & explaining this information on a university level. Thanks Again Mr. Hare, Duke University

By ZHANG L

Feb 18, 2016

It was a great course for all dog lovers! The content was so interesting with types experiments and games to better understand our pet dogs. Also the scientific findings are so suprising for us to really know who our dogs are. Go through this, your dog-knowing journey will be wonderful!!

By madelynne h t

Oct 4, 2020

Thank you so much for providing this educational opportunity to learn a bit more about the history and psychology of our closest companions: dogs! It let me learn so much about our most beloved pet animal in the household! It was the perfect pace of short, easy, and thought-compelling.

By Astrid T

Sep 14, 2016

The course itself was fantastic. I had read Dr. Hare's book previously and was a part of the Beta Test of dognition. But this was even better. It helped me gain an even better understanding of the subject. I can only highly recommend it to anybody interested in dogs and their behavior.

By Diane M

Aug 30, 2020

This has been a great way of surviving lockdown due to coronovirus in the UK!

Enjoyed the way the course was presented and have found the book to be a good supporting resource.

I have been training dogs since the mid 1970s (am now aged 68) and this has given me a new way of thinking.

By Yash P

Aug 9, 2020

I have always loved dogs. This course truly helped me better understand the animal I feel the deepest connection to. The course content was perfectly split up and engagingly delivered by the professor, Dr.Brian Hare through the use of humour to instill the facts in learners' minds.

By Leah A M

Aug 29, 2016

This was excellent! As a professional dog trainer, I really value the information I got from this course. Yes I also bought his book but It is a really good resource. You can get it used at a lower cost. I have been recommending this course to my "want to know more" clients.

By Jeannette R

Apr 9, 2016

Excellent start to the course. Looks like it is going to be really hands on with the different tests you can do with your own dog/s. I can't wait to get started and find out all about my dog's psychology. Just wondering how different it will be to my pre-conceived perceptions.

By Riccy E R S

Mar 23, 2020

El contenido fue interesante para mí, ya que había muchos conceptos y corrientes que ignoraba. Es completamente motivador la forma en que el instructor va presentando los temas, los explica y coloca ejemplos de la vida real que ilustran estudios y exámenes con sus resultados.

By Takashi A

Nov 12, 2016

This course gives scientific insight on how dogs have become human's best friend and it leads to better understanding toward as well as relationship with dogs. It is fantastic to come to know the citizen science which all dog lovers can contribute for better future with dogs.

By Joyce D G

Oct 30, 2020

Gives a lot of historical background and scientific observations regarding dogs. Very insightful!

Citizen science is the best way to go about collecting factual data about our dogs since millions of us have them as part of our homes. It's a brilliant scientific approach!

By Shelby L M

Aug 20, 2015

As a dog trainer I found this course very insightful into the mind of a dog and will be putting many of the games and ideas I learned into action with the dogs I teach. I will also suggest the Dognition site to all of my clients looking to do more with their dog's training

By Wesley L W

Jun 6, 2020

What a great course! Thank you so much Dr. Hare, Duke University, and (of course!) Coursera for making this class available. I've learned quite a bit and will use this as another building block to continue my studies in animal behavior, welfare, biology, and psychology.