Chevron Left
Back to Drug Commercialization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Drug Commercialization by University of California San Diego

4.7
stars
919 ratings
175 reviews

About the Course

The University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Drug Commercialization course brings you lectures from both faculty and industry experts. With this course, recorded on campus at UCSD, we seek to share our access to top people in the field who bring an unprecedented range of expertise on drug commercialization. This course will cover pharmacoeconomic, marketing strategy, intellectual property strategy, portfolio management, managed markets and strategic alliances. It will also have a lecture case study from startup to success. In addition, the course will discuss post-marketing clinical trials or Phase 4 trials. These are conducted after a new drug has been approved by the regulatory agencies and launched. In these studies, the new drug is prescribed in an everyday healthcare environ­ment using a much larger group of patients. This enables new treat­ment uses for the new drug to be developed, comparisons with other treatments for the same indication to be made, and determination of the clinical effectiveness of the new drug in a wider variety of patient types, and more rare side effects, if any, may be detected . Pre-marketing strategy should be instigated as early as Phase 1 clinical trials to ensure that the market's needs are incorporated into the new drug's overall develop­ment. Later phases when clinical results are presented at international medical conferences the marketing strategy is then refined in order to develop an awareness amongst the medical community who will be prescribing the new drug. In addition to the marketing strategy, pricing strategy and a tactical plan will be developed. Promotional material, and the sales force will be trained so that when the product is approved they can promote the drug to physician, pharmacist and nurses. This course is intended as part 3 of a series: Drug Discovery (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-discovery), Drug Development (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-development) and Drug Commercialization. We would highly recommend that you take the courses in order since it will give you a better understanding on how a drug is discovered in the lab before being tested in clinical trials and then launched in the market place....

Top reviews

JR
Jan 7, 2017

Excellent course on strategies for drug commercialization including pharmacoeconomics and how pharma partners with other stakeholders to accomplish this. Excellent examples of drug lifecycles.

AM
Nov 9, 2020

Excellent content and lecturers. Great course to finish this specialization. I strongly recommend the three courses for those interested in pursuing a career in pharma or willing to shift.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 175 Reviews for Drug Commercialization

By Eirini A

Feb 20, 2021

This course was another great another great addition within the specialization of Drug Develpment, that provided information from a different perspective with specific data and numbers relating to medicines.

By Jose R

Jan 8, 2017

Excellent course on strategies for drug commercialization including pharmacoeconomics and how pharma partners with other stakeholders to accomplish this. Excellent examples of drug lifecycles.

By Andres M

Nov 10, 2020

Excellent content and lecturers. Great course to finish this specialization. I strongly recommend the three courses for those interested in pursuing a career in pharma or willing to shift.

By Paulina L C

Nov 2, 2020

It was a really complete course, I really appreciated the experiences the speakers shared with us and also all the materials were accessible and with a lot of useful information

By Julián G A

Feb 1, 2019

Great course with well prepared lecturers and content. It accomplishes the goal of giving a better understanding of the process of Drug Commercialization with specific examples

By Morongwa

Apr 3, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I enjoyed every single one of the topics / modules, except for one, which I felt was a little haphazard in its presentation.

By Sushmit G

Aug 22, 2020

This is a great course on drug commercialization. However it would have been better if it was updated according to recent scenario in drug commercialization.

By Praveen W

May 31, 2020

Brilliant course. Each topic covered was well taught and easy to follow. Great overview of commercialisation in the pharmaceutical industry. Thank you!

By Flor D L A M T

Nov 14, 2020

I encourage everyone who works in pharma and biotech, even if is or not a health sciences professional/student, to take this course. Is simply great.

By Pedro H

Aug 27, 2017

It was really helpful as a peson with a backgound on biochemistry but so little knowledge in the commercial side of pharma. Definitely recommended.

By Nguyễn T O

Apr 14, 2020

This is a useful course. It bring me a lot of knowledge about pharmaeconimics, about big pharma companies around the world that I have ever known.

By Arun K

Nov 25, 2019

Very good and structured exposure to Drug Commercialization process, the nuances of geopolitical aspects and cultural aspects of decision making.

By kayde z

Sep 7, 2019

This course is very helpful. It's so attractive to me, who previously has purely scientific background but have a huge enthusiasm in business.

By Zayanah T

May 24, 2020

The lecturers were clear in their explanations which were robust and comprehensive. Lecture material covered was interesting and informative.

By Ravi K R J

May 12, 2020

It is more suitable for Marketing team of Pharma & biotech Industry rather an Academicians but feeling happy by earning certificate

By Radwa A M A E

Oct 25, 2019

Great Learning opportunity and content, hope to see and find more courses on pharmaceutical development and regulatory requirements

By Farabi S S

Sep 3, 2020

As a beginner Pharmacy student , this course will gonna highly help me in study ....

So ,, thanks Mentor ....

Best of luck ....

By Levan C

Jan 8, 2019

A very nice introduction to "Drug commercialization". Lectures are given by experts of the field with real-world examples.

By Mostafa A F

Sep 24, 2020

it is very interesting. i learnt all things related to pharmacoeconomics and intellectual property too.

it is very useful.

By Sanjida Z

Jun 20, 2020

Its an awesome course i think. I learn a lot from this course. I am sure, it will help me in my pharma career. Thank u.

By Fathima R

Jun 15, 2020

I had a great time learning. In fact, I am thankful to all the instructors who made it easy to understand the concepts.

By Wong Y J

Jul 19, 2020

Clear, focused course that gives even non-pharmacy/business students insight into the drug commercialisation process

By Jack T

Jan 14, 2018

LOVE THIS COURSE!!! Exactly what I was looking for, a good overview of commercialization strategy in biotech.

By Dr.V.Padmavathi

Jul 10, 2020

Its an Excellent course for the people who are going to Invent New drugs to the present Covid -19 pandamic.

By Tirth A

Aug 3, 2020

very helpful, interesting and knowledgeable. Explained in a way which is easy for students to understand.