Chevron Left
Back to Drug Discovery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Drug Discovery by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
2,706 ratings
537 reviews

About the Course

The University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Drug Discovery course brings you lectures from both faculty and industry experts. With this course, recorded on campus at UCSD, we seek to share our access to top people in the field who bring an unprecedented range of expertise on drug discovery. In this course you will learn the drug discovery process up to the filing of an Initial New Drug Application or IND. Each week you will learn the steps that a pharmaceutical or biotech company goes through to discover a new therapeutic drug. In this course you will be able to: * Understand the pharmaceutical and biotechnology market a changing landscape * Learn the major aspects of the drug discovery process, starting with target selection, to compound screening to designing lead candidates. * Recognize current modern drug discovery based on the lock-and-key theory, which attempts to use one single compound to hit one target to combat the related disease. * Increase understanding of the various drug discovery tools and methods that are used for finding, identifying and designing a new drug. * Define and understand the regulatory responsibilities for drug discovery to file an Investigational New Drug Application (IND). This course is intended as part 1 of a series: Drug Discovery, Drug Development (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-development) and Drug Commercialization (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-commercialization). We would highly recommend that you take the courses in order since it will give you a better understanding on how a drug is discovered in the lab before being tested in clinical trials and then launched in the market place....

Top reviews

JS
Apr 16, 2021

This course helps to understand the basic fundamental & principles of drug discovery clearly. I am very thankful to the Coursera and University of California San Diego for providing this course to me.

HG
Oct 15, 2018

Very well done and informative. I truly appreciate the Drug process in entirety being broken down into sections that are easy to comprehend. It is obvious the speakers were chosen for their knowledge.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 547 Reviews for Drug Discovery

By Nancy B

Sep 10, 2020

This course is really beneficial. I got a lot of info. on drug discovery & how it works. I can surely suggest this course to my friends.

By SHAUNAK R 1

Jul 21, 2020

AMAZING. I have immense gratitude for the professors who made these lectures and to VIT Vellore for sponsoring this course for me!

By F. J O

Nov 15, 2020

General view of drug development from the basics of molecular/biological development to pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics.

By Juan C Z M

Jul 20, 2020

Esperaba un curso más enfocado a la parte científica y técnica. Aun así es una buena introducción al mundo de la farmacia.

By Aditya V

Sep 5, 2020

Please mention that a basic understanding of chemistry is absolutely essential as a prerequisite to taking this course.

By Indu S

Dec 29, 2020

Overall it's a nice course but it needs to get latest data on what is going on in pharmaceutical and drug discovery.

By Adrija C

Oct 5, 2020

Amore detailed explanation of contents of week 1 and 2 would have been good. The content of week 3 was very useful.

By Paulina C H

Jul 9, 2021

The content is very interesting and helpful. In the first week they show some statistics that are not up to date.

By Joshua D

Dec 26, 2020

I found this course informative. Might be somewhat challenging to follow without some health sciences background.

By NagaSandhya G

May 20, 2017

Ver y useful course to learn the basics of drug discovery. Needs to be updated, most of the slides were outdated.

By Justyna S A

Sep 9, 2020

It would be nice to see some more updates as we are in 2020, but overall very interesting course! Thank you :)

By Andrew O

Jun 25, 2018

Working on marketing materials for a tech company. This helped give the the foundation and resources I need!

By Wan J L

Jul 27, 2021

​The lessons are mostly case-based. And you need certain level of knowledge to life sciences to understand.

By Nikhil S

Jun 11, 2020

It's an amazing course, I really enjoyed its informational and knowledgable content.....thankyou for that.

By Grivel J

Jun 5, 2019

The material could be updated with the last technology like Gene therapy and radioligand products

By Daneshka L C

May 7, 2020

Para comiento general, fue muy bueno aprender sobre generalidades del descubrimiento de drogas

By Fei X

Apr 25, 2017

Learned the trend of latest Pharma industry and review the basic concepts in drug discovery

By Abhishikta C

Jul 10, 2021

It was no doubt too good and informative but it was based on too old informations also...

By Alaa M A

Jul 29, 2020

the course was very helpful and it was a great experience to learn about drug discovery

By Bhutada R R

May 22, 2020

Very informative course ..Thanks for information on drug discovery and drug delivery

By Shahriar A R

Sep 3, 2020

This is really an amazing course to gain knowledge about Drug Discovery/Development.

By Elke v S d F

May 11, 2020

It provides the basics of pharma industry, drug research discovery and development

By Liew H P

Aug 15, 2017

This course provides a good basic run down of some aspects of Drug Discovery.

By Álvaro S V

Feb 12, 2019

It is a good course to get into the pharmaceutical and drug discovery world

By Mukhtar A

Dec 7, 2021

This course provides a good introduction to Drug Discovery concepts.