Chevron Left
Back to Drug Discovery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Drug Discovery by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
2,559 ratings
520 reviews

About the Course

The University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Drug Discovery course brings you lectures from both faculty and industry experts. With this course, recorded on campus at UCSD, we seek to share our access to top people in the field who bring an unprecedented range of expertise on drug discovery. In this course you will learn the drug discovery process up to the filing of an Initial New Drug Application or IND. Each week you will learn the steps that a pharmaceutical or biotech company goes through to discover a new therapeutic drug. In this course you will be able to: * Understand the pharmaceutical and biotechnology market a changing landscape * Learn the major aspects of the drug discovery process, starting with target selection, to compound screening to designing lead candidates. * Recognize current modern drug discovery based on the lock-and-key theory, which attempts to use one single compound to hit one target to combat the related disease. * Increase understanding of the various drug discovery tools and methods that are used for finding, identifying and designing a new drug. * Define and understand the regulatory responsibilities for drug discovery to file an Investigational New Drug Application (IND). This course is intended as part 1 of a series: Drug Discovery, Drug Development (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-development) and Drug Commercialization (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-commercialization). We would highly recommend that you take the courses in order since it will give you a better understanding on how a drug is discovered in the lab before being tested in clinical trials and then launched in the market place....

Top reviews

JS
Apr 16, 2021

This course helps to understand the basic fundamental & principles of drug discovery clearly. I am very thankful to the Coursera and University of California San Diego for providing this course to me.

HG
Oct 15, 2018

Very well done and informative. I truly appreciate the Drug process in entirety being broken down into sections that are easy to comprehend. It is obvious the speakers were chosen for their knowledge.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 530 Reviews for Drug Discovery

By Asraa Z

Jul 10, 2018

I really enjoyed this class. It taught me a lot about drug delivery and pharmaceutical methods. It did not only explain the environment of the pharmaceutical company and the different centers, it even explained how a drug can be discovered, manufactures and sold. Really interesting course! Highly recommended.

By Luca L

May 3, 2020

This course was enlightening on different topics on Drug development and it allowed me to deepen my knowledge on pharmacology and drug discovery.

I strongly recommend this course, especially to people who have just started a new job in the Biopharmaceutical world; it couldn't have been better !

By Rodrigo F C Á

Mar 30, 2020

Very recommendable course, it gives you an initial view of how the pharmaceutical market works nowadays (at least how it worked in 2016 haha), but if you have other academic background not related with pharma this course is perfect for learning the market, and the first steps of drug creation.

By JUAN M G V

Aug 28, 2021

With this course I learned that the area of ​​medicines has been opening up more with the aim of presenting improvements in its products and seeking an integration of capacities for its production, distribution and sale. All this without losing sight of the purpose of supporting the patient.

By Victoria C

May 9, 2019

Auditing this course was very useful. All wealth of information delivered was very accessible, even without a strong science background. The speakers/presenters provided a number of great examples and case studies to illustrate points. Overall a good high-level view of drug discovery.

By Nadia R

Aug 2, 2020

This course remained very helpful for me. I am working on my PhD research project in Pharmaceutics and this course gave me the direction. This course is very helpful if you want to design a drug delivery system. Lectures were delivered in very interesting ways by all professors.

By Pawan K P

Jun 30, 2020

it was a brief introduction to the basics of all the steps and considerations of drug development and discovery process. Really helpful if you want to get a view of the journey a drug molecule goes through during its commercialization then this course is of very help.

By KARISHMA V

Apr 17, 2021

This was a very informative and interesting course. I come from a background in biotechnology with an interest in pharmaceutical sciences. This course was a perfect blend of my interests and taught me a great deal about how the entire drug discovery process works.

By Jose R

Dec 3, 2016

Excellent course. Goes through the initial efforts to rationally get to new therapeutic molecules, then the testing and screening to maximize the chances of success, and finally the routes of administration with allusion to pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics.

By ANKITA M P

May 12, 2020

A well designed course. Instructors were very clear in their explanation. Loved the way they delivered the lecture. Got to learn some real life examples and challenges in developing a drug. Basics in drug delivery was very nicely presented. Thank you Coursera!

By Elif N O

Sep 25, 2020

I've learned so much about drug discovery in that course and I want to thank you! This is a really comperehensive course and I ensure you that you will learn so many details about this topic. I am going to have the other course called "drug development".

By Aroon A

Mar 31, 2017

The course has given a strong understanding of how the drug discovery process works with expert presentations by Dr. Williams Ettouati, Dr. Bourne & Dr. Stephen Burley. Thanks to Skaggs School of Pharmacy and ofcourse to Coursera for making it possible.

By Ananya B

Jul 17, 2021

This course was very engaging and interesting despite its online format. I personally felt that I gained a lot of insight on the drug discovery process as a whole in addition to the challenges faced by scientists as they work on identifying new drugs.

By Aulia F

Jun 23, 2021

This course helps me to understand drug discovery throughout the years! I love the way how the lectures only highlight the main point of the topic itself. The case also discussed mostly relate to pharma industry life and ask about our point of view!

By R T V U

Oct 17, 2020

This course is very useful for me to understand the basic criteria behind the process of drug discovery. As I am rom biotechnology background, i can easily understand the terms used in this course. I strongly recommend others to take this course.

By Pablo L

Aug 23, 2018

If you are planning on working on a Pharmaceutical company, this course is for you, they will teach you how a pharmaceutical company works *RandD* and how to look for lead compunds and what characterize them to be candidates. Good job.

By Jimmy F

Jun 23, 2021

This was a good introduction to drug discovery. It focused on many of the overall aspects and did not delve too deeply in any particular area thus giving an excellent overview of the collaborative needs of this drug development space.

By Akash R

Sep 21, 2019

The course was much helpful for me to advance my knowledge in the field of drug discovery. The key issues and different approaches to overcome the same was quiet interesting for me. I am thankful to all the professors of this course.

By Elizabeth C

Jan 1, 2017

A very informative and highly interesting course giving a high level condensed overview of the Pharmaceutical Industry, the key chemical and biological components of drug development and key concepts of pharmacokinetics and dynamics.

By WishCasting

Apr 3, 2021

What a wonderful course, I enjoyed every little bit of it. Thank you for taking the time and hard work in putting all this together. Thank you Coursera and the speakers participating in this course. Great value in my opinion.

By Marie A B

May 6, 2020

The lectures were given in a concise and informative manner. I liked how the lessons overlapped one another and you see the importance of each topic as the course progressed. The lecturers were also very engaging and fun!

By Evan A

May 5, 2020

An excellent broad overview of what goes into drug development and to current trends in the pharmaceutical industry. Ideal for anyone who is new to the industry and would like to know more about the lay of the land.

By Aishwarya.L

Jul 6, 2020

Well I have learned many things in this particular course....so there is no need for changes...Anyone who take up this course will end up in learning many new topics....I have no issues regarding this course

By Matías G

May 1, 2020

Muy interesante para obtener una introducción del descubrimiento de drogas (sobretodo pequeñas moléculas). Es un curso muy rápido y llevadero de hacer. Las explicaciones y las clases están muy bien logradas.

By Chris H

Mar 2, 2020

This is my first course in any topic or area of pharmceutical studies and I found it very fulfilling and informative. I like the format, the pace and that there were a variety of people giving the lectures.