Chevron Left
Back to Drug Discovery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Drug Discovery by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
2,559 ratings
520 reviews

About the Course

The University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Drug Discovery course brings you lectures from both faculty and industry experts. With this course, recorded on campus at UCSD, we seek to share our access to top people in the field who bring an unprecedented range of expertise on drug discovery. In this course you will learn the drug discovery process up to the filing of an Initial New Drug Application or IND. Each week you will learn the steps that a pharmaceutical or biotech company goes through to discover a new therapeutic drug. In this course you will be able to: * Understand the pharmaceutical and biotechnology market a changing landscape * Learn the major aspects of the drug discovery process, starting with target selection, to compound screening to designing lead candidates. * Recognize current modern drug discovery based on the lock-and-key theory, which attempts to use one single compound to hit one target to combat the related disease. * Increase understanding of the various drug discovery tools and methods that are used for finding, identifying and designing a new drug. * Define and understand the regulatory responsibilities for drug discovery to file an Investigational New Drug Application (IND). This course is intended as part 1 of a series: Drug Discovery, Drug Development (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-development) and Drug Commercialization (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-commercialization). We would highly recommend that you take the courses in order since it will give you a better understanding on how a drug is discovered in the lab before being tested in clinical trials and then launched in the market place....

Top reviews

JS
Apr 16, 2021

This course helps to understand the basic fundamental & principles of drug discovery clearly. I am very thankful to the Coursera and University of California San Diego for providing this course to me.

HG
Oct 15, 2018

Very well done and informative. I truly appreciate the Drug process in entirety being broken down into sections that are easy to comprehend. It is obvious the speakers were chosen for their knowledge.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 531 Reviews for Drug Discovery

By Aubrey W W

Feb 12, 2021

The main reason I'm giving it a low rating is that it's listed as a beginner course, but beginners will probably be terribly confused until the last week's lectures. The first two weeks' are really advanced, and they require some deep previous knowledge of the subject. It would have been really interesting if I could have understood it better.

By Ayantika

Dec 31, 2020

The materials were quite outdated-from 2013. There has been many developments in the past 7-8 years in the field of drug discovery, that us students were not able to know. It was for this purpose that I had undertaken to course- to know about the lasted updates in drug discovery.

By Sherianne T Y T

Jun 7, 2020

The course materials are quite outdated as most of the lectures were given in 2013. It was also very technical in some parts which may make it difficult for beginners to understand some of the concepts.

By BRAYAN R C G

Mar 16, 2021

I think that this Course can be improve in all aspects if it becomes more interactive. May be add some extra videos related to explanation or may be modify the videos for see the speaker and the ppw.

By Soren G

Feb 3, 2019

Interesting material, but a bit old slides and several links were dead. The topic is very interesting and I hope to get to the drug development and drug commercialization soon.

By Raksha Y

Apr 10, 2020

This course helps to understand pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics and also various drug discovery strategies.

By Jennifer S

Feb 2, 2021

Very Basic if you have worked in the industry a few years this may not be anything new. Needs to be updated.

By Sophie A

Apr 29, 2021

I would like to see this course updated with more recent data to demonstrate trends in drug discovery

By Chloe S

Mar 25, 2018

Enjoyed the course material very much, however, the lectures are quite outdated.

By Deleted A

Jul 9, 2021

Examples were from 5 years ago. It would have been nice if it was more updated.

By TADI S R

May 16, 2020

good course to broaden knowledge of the drug designing& discovery

By Saimon S

Jul 17, 2020

Please update the lectures with more recent statistics.

By Prarthana S

Apr 25, 2020

Finished the course without buying certific

By Kiran P W

Jun 7, 2020

Good but too much time taken

By Hewawasam K C S

Sep 2, 2020

Very helpful course.

By Arina A

Sep 6, 2018

Difficult course

By dr d

Sep 29, 2018

old,no updates

By Mariflor V

Oct 30, 2020

Older lecture

By Surisetty H k

Jun 9, 2020

Nce course

By DR. A G

Sep 5, 2020

GOOG

By Robert W

Dec 22, 2020

The variance in complexity/accessibility made this course at times extremely difficult to follow and enjoy. Week 1 and Week 3 were good, particularly Week 3 where the lecturer took time to explain the basic concepts and terminology. Week 2 is just a nightmare for anyone without a fairly developed scientific knowledge.

By Tetsuo U

Feb 9, 2020

Some aspects in this course are still valid and relevant today, but some of the contents are now more of historical interest. Good to renew the course including the critical assessment of the contents presented in the course with respect to how they have fared out.

By Mathias V

Nov 2, 2016

Some lectures were quite interesting but the generel course level is very low. Furthermore, I think several topics is missing which I believed the course would cover like GLP Tox, CMC, IND filing and the topics which are covered should be covered in more depth.

By Dhwanil V

Aug 20, 2020

It was not that upto the mark, but it do provides some highlights of drug discovery

By reihaneh M

Dec 4, 2019

I got a good overview about what i need to look for in further courses