Chevron Left
Back to Drug Discovery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Drug Discovery by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
2,123 ratings
445 reviews

About the Course

The University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Drug Discovery course brings you lectures from both faculty and industry experts. With this course, recorded on campus at UCSD, we seek to share our access to top people in the field who bring an unprecedented range of expertise on drug discovery. In this course you will learn the drug discovery process up to the filing of an Initial New Drug Application or IND. Each week you will learn the steps that a pharmaceutical or biotech company goes through to discover a new therapeutic drug. In this course you will be able to: * Understand the pharmaceutical and biotechnology market a changing landscape * Learn the major aspects of the drug discovery process, starting with target selection, to compound screening to designing lead candidates. * Recognize current modern drug discovery based on the lock-and-key theory, which attempts to use one single compound to hit one target to combat the related disease. * Increase understanding of the various drug discovery tools and methods that are used for finding, identifying and designing a new drug. * Define and understand the regulatory responsibilities for drug discovery to file an Investigational New Drug Application (IND). This course is intended as part 1 of a series: Drug Discovery, Drug Development (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-development) and Drug Commercialization (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-commercialization). We would highly recommend that you take the courses in order since it will give you a better understanding on how a drug is discovered in the lab before being tested in clinical trials and then launched in the market place....

Top reviews

HG
Oct 15, 2018

Very well done and informative. I truly appreciate the Drug process in entirety being broken down into sections that are easy to comprehend. It is obvious the speakers were chosen for their knowledge.

JS
Jun 9, 2020

This course helps to understand the basic fundamental & principles of drug discovery clearly. I am very thankful to the Coursera and University of California San Diego for providing this course to me.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 446 Reviews for Drug Discovery

By hargun k

Jul 19, 2020

amazing experience!!

By Hector S

Feb 28, 2020

Needs to be updated.

By Lee S

May 11, 2018

Not a lot of detail

By Monil S

Jun 6, 2017

Very good course

By mariam h s i

Jul 25, 2020

it is very good

By Rajat S

May 22, 2020

Good platform

By Mayuri K

Aug 26, 2020

Very helpful

By srushti s

Jun 13, 2020

It was great

By 181BT055 S

Jan 14, 2021

Really Good

By K.D N

Jul 26, 2020

Great one .

By Yashvant R

Dec 26, 2016

very good

By Eman E M

Sep 4, 2020

helpful

By Muhammed T k

Aug 17, 2017

thanks

By Tayyaba A

Nov 30, 2020

good

By E01203139-SHERLIN S T B B

Sep 26, 2020

Nice

By Souvik P

Sep 6, 2020

good

By Nithyakalyani.R

Sep 2, 2020

Good

By tirzah m

Jul 17, 2020

good

By Karlijn B

Nov 6, 2016

Although overall the course is interesting, it is clear that it has not been designed for MOOC format. A clear structure for learning lacks, and some of the lectures seem to be more about the people talking about their own work than trying to convey general concepts in the drug discovery field. I think the course would benefit from more structure in the way the lessons are presented, starting with a more general outline of what a good drug is etcetera. However, there are some interesting concepts I can take along in my further studies, but I am slightly disappointed.

By Saurabh G

May 18, 2020

there is a lot of useful content but the delivery is not consistent because its basically a recording of lectures by various individuals who are speaking in their own style. The level of detail or technicality they go into also varies. The course is suitable for someone with a sound foundation in the biology involved in drug discovery and not for novices who want to understand what goes on behind coming up with a new drug.

By Ayantika

Dec 31, 2020

The materials were quite outdated-from 2013. There has been many developments in the past 7-8 years in the field of drug discovery, that us students were not able to know. It was for this purpose that I had undertaken to course- to know about the lasted updates in drug discovery.

By Sherianne T Y T

Jun 7, 2020

The course materials are quite outdated as most of the lectures were given in 2013. It was also very technical in some parts which may make it difficult for beginners to understand some of the concepts.

By Soren G

Feb 3, 2019

Interesting material, but a bit old slides and several links were dead. The topic is very interesting and I hope to get to the drug development and drug commercialization soon.

By Raksha Y

Apr 10, 2020

This course helps to understand pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics and also various drug discovery strategies.

By Chloe S

Mar 25, 2018

Enjoyed the course material very much, however, the lectures are quite outdated.