Chevron Left
Back to Drug Discovery

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Drug Discovery by University of California San Diego

4.6
stars
2,134 ratings
447 reviews

About the Course

The University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Drug Discovery course brings you lectures from both faculty and industry experts. With this course, recorded on campus at UCSD, we seek to share our access to top people in the field who bring an unprecedented range of expertise on drug discovery. In this course you will learn the drug discovery process up to the filing of an Initial New Drug Application or IND. Each week you will learn the steps that a pharmaceutical or biotech company goes through to discover a new therapeutic drug. In this course you will be able to: * Understand the pharmaceutical and biotechnology market a changing landscape * Learn the major aspects of the drug discovery process, starting with target selection, to compound screening to designing lead candidates. * Recognize current modern drug discovery based on the lock-and-key theory, which attempts to use one single compound to hit one target to combat the related disease. * Increase understanding of the various drug discovery tools and methods that are used for finding, identifying and designing a new drug. * Define and understand the regulatory responsibilities for drug discovery to file an Investigational New Drug Application (IND). This course is intended as part 1 of a series: Drug Discovery, Drug Development (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-development) and Drug Commercialization (https://www.coursera.org/learn/drug-commercialization). We would highly recommend that you take the courses in order since it will give you a better understanding on how a drug is discovered in the lab before being tested in clinical trials and then launched in the market place....

Top reviews

HG
Oct 15, 2018

Very well done and informative. I truly appreciate the Drug process in entirety being broken down into sections that are easy to comprehend. It is obvious the speakers were chosen for their knowledge.

JS
Jun 9, 2020

This course helps to understand the basic fundamental & principles of drug discovery clearly. I am very thankful to the Coursera and University of California San Diego for providing this course to me.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 447 Reviews for Drug Discovery

By David A B L

Sep 24, 2019

A great opportunity to learn from experts in the area, about how difficult is to get to generate a drug, but how hard, rational and intuitive work can bring solid results.

By adabala d

May 25, 2020

This course will help me in getting an idea about research for new drugs and site targets ,as well as which route is effective for administration of what type of drugs.

By Mayura S

Aug 2, 2020

Well covered basic concepts to get started on the Drug Development Path. Lot of topics are touched upon that would help us give the lead to topics of our interest.

By SAMARAKOON M P M G

Sep 24, 2020

This course was very helpful in undersdanding about drugs and how the field works. This have a good content and every detail was explained clearly..thankyou ❤❤

By Nishita o

Oct 15, 2020

It was great learning from this course on drug discovery and from speakers of different fields.

I enjoyed alot and had a great knowledge about drug discovery.

By Robert J

Dec 22, 2019

Very informative with great knowledgeable faculty that explain drug discovery in simple terms. Very useful for anyone involved in the pharma/biotech industry.

By Lukas A B

Jan 24, 2021

I recommend it to anyone who's studying pharmacy or pharmaceutical engineering. This course provides a general overview, that will broaden your perspectives.

By Joanna K

Feb 6, 2017

Now I can see the complexicity of a drug design porcess. The course helped me to see the most important steps of drug discovery and drug construction.

By Savani M H

Jan 7, 2021

Absolutely Happy to get a chance to learn through and on coursera.I appreciate the efforts of tutors as well as of team coursera.Thank You Very Much.

By Alejandro S O

Nov 24, 2020

Fue un gran curso que permitió aprender muchas orientaciones y conceptos en el ámbito de la farmacología. Muy interesante y los invito a inscribirse.

By Jing Z

Oct 13, 2019

This course helped me systematize my previous experience in academic early drug discover. Definitely wish to finish the rest courses in this line-up.

By Gaye T

Oct 5, 2020

Gives a really good overview, especially about small molecule drug discovery. However, it is not really up to date. Mainly presentations from 2013.

By Jasper P

Jul 3, 2020

Excellent Course to learn the fundamentals of Drug Discovery! The Course uses relevant examples to explain key concepts. I hope i visit UCSD soon!

By Parishmita S

Jun 22, 2020

I found this course very helpful. All the lectures were informative and it helped me a lot in gaining knowledge in the field of drug discovery.

By Sagar H

Apr 24, 2020

It's a amazing platform where we can judge ourselves .. thank you once again coursera community for providing such a great platform ..🥰😘👍👍

By Judith C L V

Dec 11, 2020

This course is amazing and very helpful for student like me. It was presented in an organised and easy to understand manner. Thank you

By RADHA K S

Jun 14, 2020

This course helps to understand the fundamental concepts of drug discovery thoroughly with lot of insights on the topic. Thank you

By Christian B

Oct 6, 2017

Great exposure for R&D in the drug industry. Not super extensive but a great course to get started and get some basic understanding

By Dr. A D

Jul 11, 2020

It was quite interesting course and so happy to interact with such eminent teachers who have been in the field of pharmacology.

By GOVADA H

Jun 19, 2020

Its a great experience learning about drug discovery from eminent resource personnel and very helpful in the present situation

By Ashraf F

Oct 5, 2020

It very important to any one who work in drug discovey field to take this course with it is high value with simple methods

By Farabi S S

Aug 31, 2020

As a future pharmacist , this course will highly gonna help me ....

I want to thank my mentors .

Wish them best of luck ....

By Patil B B

Jul 17, 2020

It was a very good session , a good course. It is very informative and get to learn many new things about DRUG DISCOVERY .

By Saima

Jul 24, 2020

ya! its such a amazing experience with coursera...i am really happy with coursera for providing such a great platform...

By Ludovico P

Jul 10, 2019

The course is quite simple, though is delivers informations in an excellent way and has some good supportive materials.