Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
3,938 ratings

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

GR

Invalid date

Need someone to respond if we have doubts

Include reading materials too for further reference

Too much of overlap between video and text content, Need to differentiate both

BP

Invalid date

Interesting, but a little more support and practice could have been useful for a smoother transition to the quizzes. Otherwise it was a good course and I learnt some useful stuff from it.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,001 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By N A K 1

Apr 26, 2020

Awesome course where we can learn many new information about the Behavioural finance concepts. Thank you

By Vikesh K L F

Apr 12, 2020

This is a very good course to know about what mistakes do when we are in a realistic word of investment.

By Matthew M

Dec 10, 2017

I enjoyed the course. It's already been relevant for my options trading and other investment activities.

By Rishav D

Sep 23, 2020

It was a great learning experience, the concept were very in-depth and with lots of practical examples.

By Achintya T

May 18, 2021

Really opened my eyes to many actions taken on a daily basis and how irrational we are as human beings

By Sukriti S

May 8, 2020

A well structured course that overviews key biases in investor behaviour with practical applications;

By Nopadol R

Jul 30, 2020

This is a very good course. If you want to learn about behavioral finance, I strongly recommend it.

By Srinka M

Sep 19, 2022

The session was interesting and insightful. Thank you coursera for providing such oppportunities.

By Kousik G

Apr 18, 2020

It has been Wonderful learning experience. Teaching quality wonderful. , Notes has been thorough.

By Nathan P T J

Mar 13, 2018

Incredibly interesting and well thought out course. It was challenging, but very worth the effort.

By IP, M T Y

Jan 1, 2018

very interesting course; great for traders to learn beyond strategy but mental thinking. thank you

By AMJAD O

Jan 4, 2023

Very important to link human nature to finance. It was very interesting and nurturing, thank you.

By Eric M

Jan 9, 2017

Very informative, fun to learn, plenty of material & well taught. I highly recommend this course!

By Aphelele D

Oct 15, 2023

Very informative and helpful course. It has helped me better my financial decision making skills

By kavitha J

Apr 23, 2020

Very well articulated course. Big Thanks to the instructor for making it interesting. Thank you.

By Keshav S

May 31, 2017

It was wonderful experience to take this course, the practical examples provided were excellent.

By Glühbrine

Apr 23, 2022

Wish to increase the content of the course~and give the explanation after finishing the test...

By Slava D

Nov 19, 2023

Really useful — and interesting — course for everyone who wants to be smarter with their money

By Francisco J R S

Aug 19, 2020

Very interesting and insightful course on the psychological aspects of finance and investment.

By Carlos N

Apr 27, 2020

Excelente curso que te permite profundizar y entender los sesgos en las decisiones financieras

By Serdar H

Sep 20, 2019

Deep minded course, i wish good luck to every one. It was pleasure to get this course, for me.

By Robson M d S

Nov 27, 2017

Excelent! I hope it helps me to improove my quality of analisys in economic/finances subjetcs.

By Kathleen S

Dec 4, 2020

It was a very challenging course, and I learned a lot. Thank you to the professor and staff.

By EHSAN V

Dec 19, 2022

this credit and course is completely useful for financial advisor and trading researchers.

By Adesanjo S

Jun 5, 2022

I learn a lot from thie course and i will always have to make reference to it in my career.