Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
3,546 ratings

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

M

May 2, 2018

This course was a very good sum up of Daniel Kahneman's thinking fast and slow. Definitely recommend to everyone who would like to know more about our flaws or would like to refresh your knowledge.

SK

Feb 25, 2020

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 917 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By Taozheng Z

Jun 27, 2021

GREAT

By Lal J B S

Oct 30, 2020

super

By Karina G P F

Jul 31, 2020

great

By Muskan

Nov 8, 2022

nice

By Viduransi A

May 15, 2022

good

By Sadhanala A B

Dec 14, 2021

Good

By Snehal J

Feb 28, 2021

good

By Prajyut K

Oct 15, 2020

Good

By R V

Aug 3, 2020

Nice

By Mona A A

Jun 11, 2020

GOOD

By Geetanjali

Mar 20, 2020

Good

By star r

Oct 4, 2021

wow

By Jairaj S

May 21, 2020

<3

By Shushant r

Jan 18, 2022

.

By 陈凯

Sep 27, 2017

y

By Emad N D

Dec 5, 2016

P

By Álvaro G

Nov 9, 2022

La información que brinda este curso es amplia, completa y de calidad.

Por desgracia hay varias cosas que se pueden mejorar:

1º Los subtítulos en muschas ocasiones estan mal, pero si comprendes bien el ingles puedes escuchar al profesor/a y solucionado.

2º Los exámenes de la semana 2 y 3 no tienen las soluciones para que puedas comprobar tus errores y aprender de ellos. Pero en el foro de debate ya estan subidas por algunos almunos, donde puede comprobarlo.

3º La duración del curso no se adecua a las 5 horas que se especifican, pues las 10 lecturas que hay en el curso, son en ingles y son bastantes diapositivas, por ende, se necesita de mas tiempo, ya que no solo hay que leerlo sino que hay que entenderlo.

By Kanika A

Jan 1, 2020

The readings for week 2 and 3 could have explained the biases in more detail using examples, so that the questions on the quiz don't look alien while still being challenging. Could have benefitted from Quiz Answers and explanations for weeks 2 & 3, just like the ones provided for week 1, so that we know where we went wrong. Really liked the Jean-Paul Rodrigues questions on Week 3 quiz. Liked how links were provided for supplementary material about Bubbles and Crashes - would have liked similar links for other weeks- to read on my own and enhance my learning. Great course, a very new field for me. This course has gotten me very interested in exploring this domain further.

By Khanh D

Oct 6, 2021

Personally, the reading resources are comprehensive and useful in understanding behavioral economics concepts. However, the description of some parts about US mortgage is really difficult for me to understand. Moreover, I thought that there would be answers explanations for Quiz 2 and 3 just like Quiz 1, but there wouldn't, so there are a lot of questions that I didn't understand why. That's what I feel sorry the most about this course. Otherwise, this course is perfect, I kind of understand a lot of biases and axioms (especially from Week 1). Anyway, you have done a great job in helping more people understand behavioral economics; I really appreciate that.

By Nagendra G

Jun 19, 2017

This is a good course. My first foray into behavioral finance and I am very interested and ready now to dig deeper into the subject. The only reason I am not giving a 5 star is because I felt the lectures could have been a little more detail oriented and not as precisely up to the point as they were. Given that I am a non-finance person, it took me a little longer to grasp a few things. But I like and respect the teachers and clearly they had full grip on the subject.

Highly recommend to anyone to can accept the fact the behavior and biases play a major role in our financial decision making process.

By Harpreet S

Dec 28, 2020

This course is very helpful for people who take decisions in the financial industry. There was quite a bit of over dose of nomenclature and terms, which one is supposed to remember to mark the right answer in the quiz. Instead, some way is to be devised so that the person understands the concept and is able to chose correct option and situation without exactly knowing that heavy term/phrase. Overall, this course made me look back at many of my decisions which I now feel, I could have taken differently. I would definitely recommend this course to all the people who are in the business community.

By Gunnar R

Jun 25, 2021

I really enjoyed the material of the course and the lectures. I think this course points out several useful principles. However, I think there are some things that can be improved here. 1.) The way in which the biases are defined often seemed a bit vague to me and I had to go over it a few times to clarify for myself what they were and what they were not. 2.) More practice questions would help in clarifying the application. Especially, questions with a hard right and a hard wrong would be useful to separate concepts from each other. But altogether, I liked it and I learned a lot.

By Wade W

Feb 10, 2020

It provide me a brief understanding in the area Behavioral Finance. While, I think we could still imporove the course in some ways, 1. the structure is not so clear. It's better to index the points by numbers. 2. I think we could provide more video explanation for some points, it just skip the video explanation form some key tersm. i.e. framing. 3. I am not familiar with some historical financial crisis that exists in the tests, I think if those were replaced with some all-well-know knowledge will be better.

By Thilo W

Aug 13, 2021

I thought the course content was good. It certainly provided valuable info in easy-to-understand manner. However, the quiz questions were not covered very well in the course readings and videos - at least not so far as info that was made available. While some critical thinking is certainly warranted, the gap betwen the course content and the objectives in the quiz was wide. Therefore, I would recommend adding additional content to fill this gap. Nevertheless, many thanks for the valuable content. Cheers!

By MARIA E C

Jan 13, 2021

I studied psychology, so it was very cool to link behavioral knowledge with finances, I learned very interesting things like economic bubbles. It is already an old course and you have to complement it with other sources to better understand the content.

Estudié psicología, así que fue muy padre vincular el conocimiento conductual con las finanzas, aprendí cosas muy interesantes como las burbujas económicas.

Ya es un curso viejito y hay que complementar con otras fuentes para entender mejor el contenido.