Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
2,950 ratings
793 reviews

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

SK
Feb 25, 2020

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

M
May 2, 2018

This course was a very good sum up of Daniel Kahneman's thinking fast and slow. Definitely recommend to everyone who would like to know more about our flaws or would like to refresh your knowledge.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 783 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By John J

Jun 23, 2020

Excellent materials but i would like to have the explanations to the quiz answers so that I can figure out the answers to the questions I missed. Thanks.

By Ferme L Y

Sep 6, 2020

Too much reading, not enough videos. I needed approximately 10-12h (and not 5h) to read, understand and process everything, otherwise very good content !

By Megha S

May 9, 2020

I'm a beginner in Economics so it was a little tougher than I imagined but overall, very interesting and the professors explained as best as they could.

By Aaron M

Jan 22, 2020

While some of the topics on the exams, could have had better coverage in the course materials, it was nonetheless an interesting and informative class.

By Tara T C

Jun 3, 2018

Week 3's lecture and reading materials are inadequate for preparing for the week 3 quiz. I wish more videos and readings would have been uploaded.

By Panagiota A

Jan 29, 2018

Interesting -supported by theory- insight on how financial decisions are made and in which false assumptions/predictions decision makers ¨fall¨.

By Myron E

Mar 30, 2020

Comprehensive in the context of time limitations. A good method to introduce the nomenclature and concept definitions to ignoramuses like me.

By Narisha R

Jun 9, 2017

This is a good introductory course. It is well taught and opened up a new level of understanding about decision-making processes and trends.

By Michael G

Nov 28, 2020

I learned valuable mental skills for approaching behavioral finance. However, the quizzes were only marginally associated with the material.

By Bettina B

Oct 4, 2020

I like that if makes you apply concepts instead of just asking, but would have liked explanations to answers of some questions (esp Week 2)

By sima o

May 14, 2017

Such an amazing course, I wish there were more videos by Professor Rasiel in general specially with respect to crashes and bubbles. Thanks

By Carlos P C D C

Jun 12, 2017

I really enjoyed the course and would love to go more in-depth into these basis as I feel it just scratches the surface on this subject.

By Marie F

Feb 10, 2021

Very good 2 first weeks. The links in the last week to articles were not working, it might be better to include the content in the ppt

By Zisis S

Jun 11, 2019

Well presented and interesting topic. However, it seemed to be some issues in regards to how the quizzes corresponded to the material.

By Karan S

Jul 21, 2020

The lectures do not explain the biases quite clearly to understand them thoroughly or completely. Other than that a great course.

By Hamna M

Aug 27, 2018

This course has really helped understand why people make decisions that they make and how to avoid these mistakes in investment.

By Shruthi B

Oct 4, 2020

More extensive examples to understand the biases. More feedback on the quizzes.Only week 1 quiz had feedback with explanations.

By C M M C

May 18, 2020

Very helpful though it is short and rather confusing in search of better understanding, and to grasp concept of each theory.

By João F F F

May 29, 2021

Curso muito bom e com excelente conteúdo, porém algumas questões dos testes estão com falha, e destacam a resposta correta.

By Nesrin B

Jan 8, 2021

Thank you, it's a very nice course for beginners but I would like to prefer more details and tips about Behavioral Finance.

By Andres C

Apr 22, 2020

Its great to find courses on this topic. Lectures are interesting. Maybe the third week seems like it is incomplete. Thanks

By Basem C

Oct 18, 2016

Very useful especially as an introduction to Behavioral Finance. Week 2 would have been better to be split over two weeks.

By Hugh K

Jun 4, 2020

This course is an excellent overview of Behavioral Finance, in particular, the investor biases which reside in all of us.

By Ian M

Sep 24, 2018

The content of the course was very interesting. My one critique would be not providing explanations for the quiz answers.

By Roberton G

Jun 3, 2018

It only had the answers or the test correction on the first test.

After the course we could receive the answers by e-mail.