Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
3,927 ratings

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

SK

Invalid date

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

GR

Invalid date

Need someone to respond if we have doubts

Include reading materials too for further reference

Too much of overlap between video and text content, Need to differentiate both

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 999 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By HET S

Aug 15, 2021

This course has taught how we emotionally react to the situations given to us. Opened new concepts and helps a lot in the financial world.

By dilsa j

Mar 26, 2020

While we attempt a quiz Please give us the reason of answer why it is wrong if reason will be displayed then we will be able to understand

By Sachin S

Jul 1, 2020

This course was really fascinating. I learned a lot, and it was really interesting to see the connections between psychology and finance!

By Jordan S

Jun 1, 2020

Very interesting course. It made me aware of bias that I did not realize. This will help me in personal and professional decision making.

By Pavithra J

Mar 18, 2019

Very interesting and extremely useful in understanding and stopping oneself from making mistakes that we routinely make without thinking.

By KUMAR S

Aug 12, 2021

Found the course highly informative. This will help us to be mindful of certain biases which may impact our investment decision making.

By Yi Z

Apr 6, 2024

Very informative and comprehensive in covering all behavioral finance related theories, whereas the course isn't very well structured.

By aditya v k

Jun 9, 2024

great course really did give new perspective i wish it was a bit more technical the quizes were hard but helped retaining knowledge

By Tanay S

Jun 1, 2017

Amazing course by Duke University, learning was really accelerated with the help of all the case studies and real life situations.

By Jessica C

Aug 2, 2022

It was clearly explained, as a person new to the topic I had to also search and use other sources to get additional explanations

By Filip K

Jul 24, 2022

Insightful, very useful, well constructed course with more than interesting case studies as live examples of theory and practice.

By Wuwarm

Feb 1, 2021

The curriculums are designed from easy to difficult. I learn many common behavioral finance issues in the course. Very valuable!

By Deleted A

May 30, 2020

This course has been very helpful for me in understanding biases and will definitely help me in doing investments in the future.

By Sumedh D

Aug 21, 2017

The course is insightful, very easy to understand which helps in understanding the concepts. Definitely recommend you to take it

By Marc

Jun 30, 2017

Recently I have become very interested in behavioral economics and this course really helped me understand this discipline more.

By Sangita C

Sep 28, 2021

It is quite an amazing course as it insures that the course takers are able to implement the learnings from behavioral finance.

By Miguel C

Aug 4, 2021

Quick course with excellent content, highly recommended for anyone wishing to obtain a broad overview of behavioral economics.

By Marcelo A

Apr 26, 2024

Awesome course that opened my mind a lot. Now I'm thinking of doing a specialization with a thesis on this area. Thanks a lot!

By shailender s

Jun 23, 2020

Very interesting and useful course for every investor and any one interested in understanding / improving his decision making.

By Joshua W

Jul 8, 2019

Insane course! Would strongly recommend to high schoolers who are interested in Finance and have time to burn over the summer!

By Diane S

Jul 9, 2021

I thought this course was very interesting and very informative, and I was able to apply what I learned to my present career.

By Serafin

Dec 7, 2017

Very good information, a bit difficult to be engaged since the contents are a bit flat (Book style), but it's worth to stick.

By Farhad H

May 3, 2020

Very exciting! I found the last quiz the most challenging. It was very useful after learning economics in my A-level course.

By Sergio S R G

Dec 12, 2022

Excelente certificado, me ayudo a comprender la conducta dentro de el aspecto financiero y como este puede verse afectado

By Piyusha K

Jan 10, 2023

the content was very detailed and well-explained. Thanks to the mentor for making a complex topic understand so easily.