Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
3,910 ratings

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

M

May 2, 2018

This course was a very good sum up of Daniel Kahneman's thinking fast and slow. Definitely recommend to everyone who would like to know more about our flaws or would like to refresh your knowledge.

SK

Feb 25, 2020

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 996 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By Albert L

Aug 30, 2018

Excellent introduction to Behavioural Finance! As an investor, I have made so many of these behavioural mistakes and it's great to at least be aware of them.

By Deleted A

Dec 2, 2022

Desarrolla los principios matemáticos de Economía del Comportamiento, lo interesante es que lo hace en base a números, y no teorías o ejemplos cualitativos

By sumit s

May 16, 2018

It was a good introductory course on behavioral finance. One will get to know about many hidden biases, which play a crucial role in their decision making.

By Prabhat S

Apr 21, 2020

Great Course! Knowing how human being make behavioral bias while making decision is very enlightening. I recommend all to take this course. All the best!!

By Isra Y

Apr 19, 2018

It is a very valuable course and i am glad to be a part of it, this is something that you can confidently call accomplishment, thank you duke university:)

By Herminia E

Aug 20, 2017

Engaging, very well explained, not just an introduction, but a good comprehensive way to explain the reasons behind our every-day decision-making process.

By Shiori O

Apr 26, 2021

Very interesting course, which gave me a thorough overview on how people's decisions are made when making investment from behavioral finance perspective.

By Deleted A

May 18, 2021

Innovative course, I learn so many important information regarding probability, regression and other statistical tools, help me and update my knowledge.

By Cheng Y

Dec 4, 2020

The course materials and the professor's explanation are very good, and the knowledge points are refined very well, which is very helpful for learning.

By Melva B

Jul 5, 2022

It was a great experience to learn the behaviour of finance; it took a lot of energy to understand this subject. However, this course satisfied me.

By Tyrone G

Dec 15, 2020

Excellent course, really helped me to understand the emotions governing my investment decisions and also to evaluate decisions in my everyday life.

By P A N N 2

Sep 23, 2020

As a 1st year degree student, and as beginner to this subject, This course has given me great insights into the depths of few concepts. Thank you !

By priyanshu g

Jun 2, 2018

One of the awesome course with must read study material compilation.

Highly Recommended, atleast those who wish to trade at sometime in their life.

By Bhakti S

Nov 27, 2020

its an extremely informative ,valuable, and interesting course . I would recommend this course for everybody to exactly know our behavioral gaps.

By Tran N K

Aug 15, 2023

Good. As a person who always takes a look at human behavior when they spend money, I rate this course 5 stars for the knowledge it brought to me.

By Clara S G

Aug 23, 2021

I'm very happy with the materials and i gained a lot of knowledge from this course. However, i would prefer if there are more explanatory videos.

By Alexandr S

Oct 21, 2017

Very informative course that explains common investment mistakes in very simple manner. Doesn't require broad knowledge of finance or economics.

By Prashant N M

Mar 27, 2018

The content is easy to apply in practical scenarios to not only learn but make use of science to make professional & personal decisions wisely.

By Guilherme P d S

Apr 20, 2020

This is a great course, that that addresses the main concepts related to human decision making from the point of view of Behavioral Economics!

By Joseph M

May 4, 2021

Very good classes and taught me how seeing things is not always believing right at the beginning of site. That you have to break things down.

By Minal Y

Mar 27, 2020

It was quite helpful but one has to read a lot outside the syllabus also to get a proper insight on how the Behavioral Finance actually works

By Nduta I M

May 27, 2022

I had no knowledge prior to enrolling Behavioral Finance. The course has intrigued me and has cemented my foundations in Behavioral Finance.

By Amol K

Sep 24, 2017

Please prepare better reading material and provide more mathematical insight and examples for each biases, as I think it'll be more helpful.

By Olzhas S

May 23, 2019

Great, interesting, useful course. Hepled to understand concepts of behavioral finance, which helps to better prepare for CFA Level 3 exam.

By HET S

Aug 15, 2021

This course has taught how we emotionally react to the situations given to us. Opened new concepts and helps a lot in the financial world.