Chevron Left
Back to Behavioral Finance

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Behavioral Finance by Duke University

4.4
stars
2,619 ratings
717 reviews

About the Course

We make thousands of decisions every day. Do I cross the road now, or wait for the oncoming truck to pass? Should I eat fries or a salad for lunch? How much should I tip the cab driver? We usually make these decisions with almost no thought, using what psychologists call “heuristics” – rules of thumb that enable us to navigate our lives. Without these mental shortcuts, we would be paralyzed by the multitude of daily choices. But in certain circumstances, these shortcuts lead to predictable errors – predictable, that is, if we know what to watch out for. Did you know, for example, that we are naturally biased towards selling investments that are doing well for us, but holding on to those that are doing poorly? Or that we often select sub-optimal insurance payment plans, and routinely purchase insurance that we don’t even need? And why do so many of us fail to enroll in our employer’s corporate retirement plans, even when the employer offers to match our contributions? Behavioral finance is the study of these and dozens of other financial decision-making errors that can be avoided, if we are familiar with the biases that cause them. In this course, we examine these predictable errors, and discover where we are most susceptible to them. This course is intended to guide participants towards better financial choices. Learn how to improve your spending, saving, and investing decisions for the future....

Top reviews

M
May 2, 2018

This course was a very good sum up of Daniel Kahneman's thinking fast and slow. Definitely recommend to everyone who would like to know more about our flaws or would like to refresh your knowledge.

SK
Feb 25, 2020

Good course! There is just one thing I would improve here - an explanation of the mistakes after the tests are done. This improvement should increase the student`s understanding of specific topics.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 700 Reviews for Behavioral Finance

By shailender s

Jun 23, 2020

Very interesting and useful course for every investor and any one interested in understanding / improving his decision making.

By Joshua W

Jul 8, 2019

Insane course! Would strongly recommend to high schoolers who are interested in Finance and have time to burn over the summer!

By Serafin

Dec 7, 2017

Very good information, a bit difficult to be engaged since the contents are a bit flat (Book style), but it's worth to stick.

By Farhad H

May 3, 2020

Very exciting! I found the last quiz the most challenging. It was very useful after learning economics in my A-level course.

By Udoyon B

Aug 27, 2020

Even if you have no financial knowledge, I think it is terrific that this course informs you about so many many things!

By Declan G

Jul 18, 2020

Lots of insights but difficult to grasp some notions on the first attempt so make sure you read the handouts carefully!

By Ahmed H

Jul 5, 2020

This course explains everything that happens with investing. I highly recommend it for all investors even professionals

By Myriam I

Apr 19, 2020

a really great course.

i have been able to understand everything, every topic was explained really well and in details.

By H. M M

Jan 7, 2018

When you really try to understand and learn sth. you can really improve your knowledge and understanding on the concept

By DHARMENDRA S V

Mar 28, 2017

Excellent study material and good for knowledge. I give full rating to this course - Duke University through coursera!!

By Tristan

Feb 16, 2018

Fantastic course! Just the quiz is a little bit hard and a lot of stuff is not mentioning in the videos and materials.

By Xiaotong X

May 13, 2020

Professors are professional. But I think more cases and exploration would be better. Some knowedge are confuseing.

By Carlos G M

Nov 12, 2017

Amazing topic! It is a cutting-edge field and this course is a great introduction. Congratulations to the authors!

By XiuWen B

Aug 30, 2016

very interesting course. It provide us several mistakes that we usually make but not realize. It's worth to learn.

By Likhith S

Apr 11, 2020

Well-laid out course with insights into some commonly committed mistakes that caused disasters on a large scale.

By Malvika N C

Jun 2, 2018

Amazing course!! Especially the quiz part, I got to learn a lot while taking the quizzes. Thank you prof Emma :)

By Aashish G

Jan 21, 2018

Thanks Dr. Emma Rasiel and whole Coursera team for developing and teaching such a realistic and concrete course.

By Mohammad I

Apr 30, 2020

It was a wonderful experience learning a very different outlook to the financial sector and behavior economics.

By Angodage R P

Jun 5, 2020

This is an amazing course which helped me to understand psychological biases we make when we taking decisions.

By Fernando L R

Jun 4, 2020

Great summary of the topic, nice examples and very fun to make.

Breakthrough findings any financier should know

By Anik K M

Apr 8, 2020

it really made me search over many things, and the contents are really rich. thank you ,professor Emma Rasiel.

By abdulrahman a

Nov 18, 2020

Amazing instructor but it still lack of more engagement in terms of giving and focusing on financial examples

By Stanley S

Sep 2, 2018

A quick course to very important concepts for our awareness on how we make decisions and how to improve that.

By Satvik M

May 17, 2020

Great learning experience and it is worth it if you are sincerely reading the pdf content provided by them.

By Uzair M

Aug 28, 2017

Nicely laid out . Very important and useful information that non business major can also use in daily life