Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
12,572 ratings
2,735 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

JS
Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

AD
Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 2,751 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Việt L

Dec 19, 2019

This course is detailed designed so that students with little programming experience can approach HTML and CSS with ease. Thoughtful instructions were given so that learners can understand relationship of 3 components.

By João T

Feb 2, 2019

Very good quality content, with a satisfactory balance between theory and practice. Expect in 4 weeks to acquire a strong fundamental knowledge about html, css and javascript, and be ready to launch your first webpage.

By Alex W

Jun 10, 2018

Great course, started off with fundamentals and provided fun & interesting lessons via the use of images and how to alter their appearance! I enjoyed the lectures and felt it provided a good foundation for javascript!

By Iman R M

Aug 1, 2017

I've learned a way of thinking rather than just writing code syntax that works.

The course was well organized and so easy to understand and also so rich. I'm sure I'll enjoy the rest of courses in this specialization.

By Mark D

Nov 8, 2016

I thought this course was excellent. The lesson videos are very well put together and the overall layout and instruction for the "Try It Yourself" made learning the material so much easier. I look forward to course 2.

By Priyadharshni V

Feb 4, 2020

This course really help me a lot to learn about HTML,CSS,Javascript and how to change the Background Image settings.It's easy to understand the each video. DukeLearntProgramme is very useful for my studies.Thank you.

By Piyush B

Jun 29, 2017

This course, seriously, is well enough to hone your programming as well as web development skills ...

Coupled with hundreds of innovative concepts and drilling quizzes this is great if you are a learner of curiosity !

By Deepak A

Jul 18, 2020

Indeed was an adventurous journey of learning the basics of web-dev. Finally was ab to implement the mini projects and by combining all the mini projects a great website was made.And do complete the honors section😉

By Sara O M K K

Aug 27, 2016

I haven't finished the second lesson yet and I am in love with this course; it's simple and suitable for beginners indeed. I have know many concepts I never heard of lie SEO, UX, UI. Thank you and keep the good work

By Eric B

Apr 1, 2020

Excellent course with excellent teachers. Some things could improve (mostly the Forums) but overall I am really glad to have signed up for this course and can't wait to do the other ones from Duke Programming. 5/5

By Swakshar D A

Dec 13, 2020

One of the best course on Html, Css and Javascript . During this pandemic i used my time effectively by this course. Thank you coursera and Brac university for providing this course for free. Thank you so much.

By Johan R

Mar 30, 2018

For starters its a very good course. You only need some pre-knowledge to start and find your way very easily. The videos are very helpful and navigates you through the first steps of programming your own website.

By yash a

Aug 26, 2020

The way this course is designed is so amazing you can't skip any topic of if you do so then you can't pass the assignment

I enjoyed learning with coursera and my instructors

Thank you coursera and Duke University

By Godredo B

Mar 30, 2020

the course was very relevant and has added a lot to my java programming basics and will put in practice more of what i have learnt. Thanks to Duke university and look forward to do more with Programming courses.

By Andrea Z

May 5, 2019

Great classes , with just the right information in the appropiate time and execises help really to fully understand and guide us with the basics so we can continue on our own investigating more complex functions

By Alberto R L

Dec 5, 2016

Very good course, from the basics to the advanced programming, very suitable for people with no basic knowledge of modern programming. Good teachers, with good explanations and a well balanced learning curve.

By Ajay K K

Sep 8, 2018

It was fun going through this course.Learning with Image manipulation was also interesting.Only thing with which i struggled was css (only with positioning of elements).I wish there could be a video on that.

By Joey L S Y

Jun 9, 2021

Very informative and easy to follow for a beginner in HTML, CSS and JavaScript. Picked up quite fast as the videos were very informative. The Try It Exercises given had guidelines that made learning easier.

By vandana p

Apr 2, 2017

I took the course in 2015 and found it very hard, so took a break. Now, when I resumed where I left off, I was very happy to see that the course has been simplified much more. I just passed it, thank you!

By LiXian

Feb 17, 2017

This is a very good course for beginners who want to start with HTML, CSS, and JavaScripts, and the detailed course & the embedded quiz & exercise are awesome as well, I will continue the course followed.

By Robert P

Aug 29, 2019

This is a great introduction to programming user interfaces. The practice exercises are extremely well designed and thought out. Each one builds on the previous so that your progress makes logical sense.

By Anshuman K P

Jun 20, 2017

A course suitable for all entry level coders those who want to learn javascript. The instructors are nice,knowledgeable,the Try It! exercises are very much helpful in understanding the topic more deeply.

By Ayodhya D

Aug 25, 2020

Actually Iam new to html,css and java script but this course taught stpe by step. They always gave the freedom to do anything and make mistakes and learn from them. Highly recommend the course. Thankyou

By khadija k

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent cours merci beaucoup pour ces efforts considérables. Ce cours m'a permis d'apprendre des nouveaux concepts et les appliquer plus aisément grâce à la façon élégante et efficiente d'explication.

By Roshan k

Nov 11, 2016

As a foundation level this course is very good.Practice will help you gain some confidence .

The way this course is organized is very good.Even non-computer science student can try with some more effort.