Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
13,450 ratings
2,913 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

AD

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

JS

Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

Filter by:

2726 - 2750 of 2,922 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Tooba A

May 14, 2020

it was an amazing journey with Duke teachers.It really helps me in the new and basic Fundamentals of Programming. I do appreciate this way of learning & invite other students to join this program.

By Claus E

Nov 6, 2020

Fine course. Interesting with the green screen theme, but I think the amount of program exercises with color manipulation algorithms is to high. I better like to learn more about javascript.

By Catalina C O

Jul 17, 2020

The content and explanations are excellent although it seems to me that they focused only on the part of image design when in programming there are many more more interactive utilities

By Harsh J

May 19, 2021

While the course was able to produce a good sense of basic understanding of web development, it lacked on telling us more about CSS, and that is why I think it could improve!

By Raphaël b

Mar 9, 2022

javascript is really hard to understand, by the order of the functions. Some function can be written so many different ways that it makes it hard to understand your logic !

By Michal S

Jul 19, 2019

I would be happy for more thorough explanations. At times it looked like for people who have some previous (basic) experience with programming. Still a nice course though.

By Dimosthenis S

Mar 8, 2017

Good introduction to very basic stuff. I skipped many videos and found the same information on the internet. If it wasn't part of the specialization I wouldn't pick it.

By Lillian W

Oct 19, 2021

Needs to be looked over for copy and clarity, very odd formatting of quiz questions. Assistance would have been helpful, I had to get a tutor on the side.

By Burke N

Jul 2, 2017

The course was a little light on describing some programming concepts that I would of struggled with in the exercises had I not had previous experience.

By Arshdeep S

May 16, 2020

Everything is perfectly defined and explained but also there needs to have more focus on amount of content and resources which are not taught in this

By Shachi P

Aug 19, 2016

It is a very neat and organized learning experience. It is not perfect (nothing is), but it is one of the best learning experiences I have ever had.

By Nitish B

Feb 6, 2021

This content in the course was not totally explained like the code how and why are we writing this only. How and when those keywords are working.

By Brajesh V

Oct 12, 2015

This course lost focus in later half and I nowhere I felt learning JS but just using JS as a tool to learn most of Image manipulation techniques.

By Hail B

Oct 17, 2015

All the basics for beginners. Some step by step and some things make you think and research more references. I think that's a great combination.

By Naomi N

Jan 11, 2021

i wish there could be more personal help for problems and not just the forums.

i never got there any help and had to use a lot of outside help.

By Katrina W

Jul 13, 2016

This course is very difficult. I recommend only taking it if you have some experience with syntax. Although very challenging, I learned a ton.

By Kenneth L

Oct 13, 2015

The first week was a bit slow, but things picked up a bit after that. If you have programming experience, this course is not very challenging.

By D

May 20, 2020

It should be possible to complete the course (in the coursera environment) without paying. I want it to be in the "completed courses" section

By Martin K

May 4, 2021

All done in simplified development environment, still not clear how to code webpage with HTML and CSS using JavaScript after the course.

By JAIDEEP M V

Sep 11, 2020

It was a good course and I thing which i would to convey to you people is, can you please give the solution to the mini-project as well.

By Ganemtore w B

Jun 8, 2020

J'ai adoré ce cour de spécialisation même s'était un peu difficile pour les codages,et les cours sont compréhensibles je vous remercie.

By libby h

May 14, 2016

HTML and CSS were well explained and clearly cover. However, some of the JavaScript was glossed over and very difficult to follow.

By Sean E

Jan 15, 2020

stated as a beginner course, but you need to have known a lot of coding prior to beginning the course. MUCH research is required.

By Paula Á C

Mar 15, 2016

Lessons are too compact and some of the videos too long and full of content, so it's hard to process all the information at once.

By Liana I

Aug 18, 2020

I wish there were more in depth examples instead of providing a code and telling us what it does without explaining it further.