Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
13,542 ratings
2,937 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

IS

Oct 5, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

AD

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

Filter by:

2876 - 2900 of 2,945 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Umut Y

Jan 30, 2022

Dull, boring and not for beginners.

By shelby p

Feb 10, 2019

Poor course material explanations.

By Guruprit K R

May 4, 2016

Not Relevant sessions.

By Bojun L

May 3, 2020

too old...

By asfaakbar

Jul 27, 2017

just fine

By Rishbh P

May 26, 2020

fuck you

By Samarth P

Aug 6, 2020

N/A.

By Vahid

May 9, 2022

The curriculum was poorly organized. A two-hour Youtube course can teach much more about html/css/js than all this 4-week long course. At least you should expect to be able to set up a simple page with some decent (beginner) layout and some interactvity after finishing the course. But no! This much time spent for so little stuff.

What did you I supposedly learn (I know html/css/js already)?

html: h1, p, ul, table, input, div (it should take fifteen minutes to explain)

css: color, background-color, border (maybe five minutes is enough)

js: document.getElementById, onclick, onchange, function, className, for loop, if (an hour for this level of simplicity)

All the above can be put into a one or two-hour video.

I understand that this is a beginner course, but still, it could be managed much better with some real world beginner project like a simple web page with some beginner functionality not a random useless Image processor built on their own library.

By Paymon K

Sep 27, 2021

N​ever again will I take a course with Duke University

T​he teachers act upon scenarios that are way too dramatic and overkill. Best way to describe their acting: Cheesy AF. Also, the old lady has a high pitched voice that sounds like it would break glass, so I always have to turn down my volume when she starts speaking. The students look like they are doing this for an internship. They sound super nervous and stumble all over the place. I cannot follow their instruction with their shaky voice and lack of eye contact.

T​he lack of genuine behavior and proper explanation of concepts is apalling. I had to leave halfway through the course. Never again with Duke University.

By Nadeem

Apr 18, 2020

Too much fake excitement and enthusiasm by most of the instructors (not all of them), they put too much effort in acting, ending up being bad actors instead of good (or just normal) teachers. they have the technical and subject matter expertise for sure, but as a learner, i cant get past the too much bad acting in the course - its a constant massive distraction from learning... i feel this course was produced by someone with a background of making cheap entertainment shows on TV. too bad, as the course structure could have made it a promising one! in short, there are many better options out there, this one is not recommended!

By Sophia D

Aug 17, 2020

This is a terrible course, starting from Week 2. This can't be a beginner course for Javascript. The assignments seemed nearly impossible for someone who has no experience with Jacascript. The lecture videos gave some broad and generic knowledge about what a variable is for example and then the assignment asks of you to change a picture's pixel colours without explaining to you how that works. This is a really disheartening course for someone who has never done any JavaScript in their life.

I won't even talk about how devoid of charisma all the instructors were.

By Thomas P

Jan 17, 2021

I did CS50 Computer Science from Harvard after. Because I still didn't get it . The content is similar, but is MUCH better in every way possible. The teachers, the tools, the projects, the explanations, everything I can think of, is just way better. It's more up to date. I can't think of a better way of teaching it. Also it is cheaper.

By Narmin

Sep 28, 2016

Week 1 and 2 were very useful. As a beginner, I learned a lot about HTML and CSS. Week 3 was a big leap to JavaScript, and the level of difficulty was the reason why I quit the course. Concepts are not well-explained, a lot of material for completing the tasks is missing. Please make JavaScript part simple for beginners.

By Antony M

Sep 12, 2020

Its not detailed in explaining the method. I am a fast time HTML learner and the course starts by giving an assignment to "try it" but as a first time learner I have no idea what I am doing. The instruction videos are very very shallow!. Are they assuming students are pros before they sign up for the course?

By Justin G

Feb 15, 2016

I quit this course as it does not live up to the specialization which it begins. JavaScript is not Java. The course description should clearly state that JavaScript will be taught and that it will be used to draw boxes of different colors. I was extremely let down by this course.

By Justin B

Sep 24, 2015

Honestly not a very well designed course. I went through the videos and tests for weeks 1 and 2 and found that it's just rushing us through the basics while not really telling us much. Much of it was "here's an introduction to a tiny detail... You go find out the rest"..

By Akhil G

Apr 19, 2020

Please give the course name the right title so people can choose it properly. I searched for Java Programming and the course says Java programming and Software engineering fundamentals so I choose it but when I open up the course it says Javascript, HTML and CSS .

By Kevin S

May 24, 2022

Answers in quiz exercises don't match results. Instructional videos often assume knowledge a beginner does not have. it is probly me but I was unable to follow steps yo success. failed a quiz even when I tested code and got a positive result.

By Marina M

Feb 18, 2016

This course, starting from week 3 in NOT for beginners ​ at all. If you are truly new to programming you would understand nothing from the Java Script part of th​e course. A lot of people complain about the same issue during the course.

By Maxwell C

Jan 17, 2021

The course starts well. But then, it turns into an processing image course! In the end you even learn Steganography, to hide messages inside imagens, and the usage (according to the teacher) is to bypass government censorship 🤣🤣🤣

By Amir M O

May 24, 2016

Poorly designed and explained. You do not really gain much knowledge from this course.

I would not recommend my friends and basically others to take this course. There are far better courses out there for much cheaper prices.

By Dhruv B

Jun 28, 2020

Not satisfied with the course.

Please see other programming course like python and matlab and see yourself that there is a lot difference between them and this course.

please improve and make a mooc.

By Nicholas W

May 1, 2016

The instructors overly explain simple concepts and talk about programming inbetween makes the course confusing then you get lost and quiz you on stuff that was not properly explaiuned

By James B

Nov 22, 2020

The presentation was quite patronising and reminiscent of 1990s AOL adds in places. The content was presented very dryly without any interactivity. I would not recommend this course.

By Andre D

Jan 30, 2021

I signed up for "Java Programming and Software Engineering Fundamentals". Instead of learning Java, this class goes over Javascript/HTML/CSS which I don't need at all.