Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
10,624 ratings
2,318 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

IS

Oct 06, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

AD

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

Filter by:

1776 - 1800 of 2,286 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Saransh V

Nov 17, 2019

course is good if you wish to know more about technical stuff like javascript rather than styling and creating a beautiful looking website with CSS

By Rick P

Oct 24, 2017

An excellent introduction to these disciplines. Quiz questions and the font size could have had some minor improvements, otherwise excellent.

By Hassaan A

Aug 30, 2016

This course teaches absolute basics when it comes to programming, with a few tips that give you an edge when it comes to professional coding.

By Ed M

Jul 20, 2018

good course. sometimes they don't go over fundamentals and nomenclature so it takes awhile to understand. I seemed to learn the material.

By Yeung W T

Jun 07, 2018

It covers all the basics and the instructors speak very clear, but the exercises and quizzes could be just a little bit more challenging.

By Boateng J O A

Sep 13, 2020

i think the tutorials on the javascript and css can be worked on and improve like the html. but it was a great course and an amazing one

By DIVIYANSH K T

Jun 13, 2020

Very interestingly explained but since it uses many customized tools, I think it will create problem when I work on real life problems.

By pratik k

Apr 02, 2020

designing a web page using HTML and CSS seems so easy after completing this course. week 1 and week 2 bulids up your basics. go for it.

By Mary S

Feb 17, 2018

Very basic. Learned a few useful things. Last assignment was fun.

Would make a very gentle intro to programmers for complete beginners.

By Mohamed S

Feb 02, 2017

Very nice and organized but the "Try it" exercises should be made easier to read and divided to small steps instead of long paragraphs

By Deleted A

Jul 10, 2019

Fundamental programming concepts like composition were covered in the course, but it felt like some of the content were too specific.

By Kazi M A

Apr 28, 2020

A lot of stuff can be done in photoshop and later can be processed in web site. We really don't need to learn green screen stuff.

By Fady E F

Jun 25, 2020

thanks it was very helpful course ! but i hope there will be many examples in videos to help us for more understanding..Thanks !

By Ignacio C

Oct 09, 2018

This is a good course to begin with Web design and understand the fundamentals of interactivity and programming with JavaScript.

By AMBAVALE T M

Apr 15, 2020

it really was a great program. Would have liked if more questions were provided as examples. Hope it helps. Thank you very much

By YutongXiao

Mar 27, 2020

Excellent course! Some concepts can be hard to grasp at first. Proceed very fast for beginners. High expectation but rewarding.

By Diyang L

Apr 21, 2020

This is a good course, but the TA cannot reply our message on the forums timely. Also the script of simpleImage()doesn't work.

By Tony T

Jun 23, 2020

I started out not knowing anything about coding at all, and with this course I am confident in my skills to build a webpage.

By Tashi W

Jun 17, 2020

it was fun and i got a new knowledge from this course. the lecture or the way they teach was amazing. I enjoyed. Thank you

By Pistatx

Mar 05, 2018

I learned the HTML, CSS and JS programing foundations thank to the examples and practice exercises which were very useful.

By Rahul T

Oct 24, 2016

Was very good, but the titles of week 3 and 4 threw me off since I thought they would be seperate weeks, not the same one.

By Rajasekar D

Sep 12, 2018

Good for beginners, but personally I feel that the questions should be random for the graded quizzes when it is retaken.

By Vivek G

Jun 02, 2020

its so so not so good and the javascript part was not so planned they don't teach us the basics of it. anyways tankyou

By Joseph E

Jul 05, 2017

Some examples are given via mac and can be confusing for Windows user. Explanations of some code logic could be useful.

By Bernardo F B E

Apr 19, 2016

This is a good course for beginners but for the more experienced web programmers this is like a good brain teaser only.