Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
12,162 ratings
2,635 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

AD
Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

JS
Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

Filter by:

1976 - 2000 of 2,600 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Ritesh K

May 3, 2020

On the whole it was a great experience. There were a couple of spots where the instructions are outdated (how to include the source in the HTML in week 2) which caused some time wastage, so that glitch should be fixed!

By Beatrice D L

Feb 23, 2020

there are some issues with using Simple Image functions in Week 3 and 4 of the course (even with the troubleshooting), which makes it harder to complete the necessary work. however, it has been educational regardless.

By Aaron D K

Mar 14, 2018

Good course for learning how to code in JavaScript and use HTML and CSS to enhance it in order to build a webpage, but I felt that some of the mathematically-oriented exercises were a bit too on the theoretical side.

By Custodio C

Aug 22, 2016

It was great to finally get to know about things I've been wondering for a long time. I got lost from time to time and struggled to keep up but, at the end I think I get the benefits the course was meant to provide.

By Nick P

Apr 18, 2016

The javascript section was very good and helped me develop my programming skills. I really like the seven step approach and using it work through the exercises. The HTML and CSS sections were not very useful though.

By Lydia O

Oct 11, 2020

It very good and educative. However I'm on Week 2 and can't access my Practice Quiz, it says "this item will be unlocked when the sessions begins. It's been a while now and quite disturbed. Please what do I do.

By WICKRAMA A O M

Jul 31, 2020

Although I am a beginner to Javascript, it was really easy to learn the basics with the precise presentations of the lecturers. The coding exercises were superb. Thank you very much @coursera @Duke University

By Axelleano A

Oct 31, 2020

I think it is quite hard to follow sometimes, I am familiar with HTML and CSS but new to Javascript there are operators that have to be used that was not mentioned at all. It is also quite hard to debugging.

By Ehtesham S

May 21, 2021

It could be more informative for the people who are from different backgrounds and have not much domain knowledge...Altough the course is from scrath and the content was also really impressive and helpfull.

By Shikha S

Mar 13, 2021

I find the course is very helpful for the Web Development there is a seperate environment for running the code which is very helpful but some time create problem.. overall learn a lot from this course.

By Eric P

Apr 12, 2020

It was fairly decent, I learnt a lot but I do not really enjoy how the teachers help the students. Just saying that we should re-read something is not very helpful. Maybe give some more examples instead

By Andreas H

Apr 22, 2020

This course is great if you are new to programming. The lecturers explain things very well with nice examples. I would have liked to learn more on JavaScript in the course, e.g. objects in JavaScript.

By Giridhar G

Jun 2, 2020

I feel that the source codes for image production should have been briefly explained. This course just gives the link the code but not the explanation. Then again this is a great introductory course.

By María V D

Jun 17, 2016

This is a great course. Teachers are full of energy and desire to teach, examples are easy to follow (not so much at the end) but it is a great course where you will learn a lot. Highly recommended.

By Marszelewski T

Feb 17, 2018

Maybe it's because my English is weaker than I expected or I am just less smart than i thought but it wasn't easy. But i'm thankfull for all of this. Greatings for everyone who maded this course!

By Prathmesh D

Jun 25, 2020

I am highly obliged that I got an opportunity to learn and enhance myself in my precious time.I have learn how we can utilized our time and gain some knowledge by using such learning platform.

By Abdullah M A

Apr 11, 2020

The course is perfect for being a beginner but writing the JavaScript functions and not using the university function would be better, so we could apply what we learn offline using local IDE

By Amanda M

Aug 28, 2019

Having no programming experience, this course really challenged me and took longer than estimated for me to complete. I enjoyed it though and plan to take other courses to continue learning.

By Neal

Aug 22, 2020

Videos were kind of awkward. Delivery was shaky but I could still understand. I wish the exercises had a bit more hints because going to the forums for each exercise is kind of impractical

By Namita B J

Jul 18, 2020

This is very good course and learn many different things. It is very easy to understand the concept of HTML,CSS, JAVASCRIPT .mini project is very good and there webpage is very creative.

By Ayelene B

Oct 27, 2020

It was an incredible experience.Everything was neatly explained and the resources were helpful.But I have a problem with the certificate issued.It didn't have the logo of Duke university.

By Mihai D

Jan 6, 2016

Everything apart from Steganography was well explained with examples. I liked that the quizzes were fairly engaging and required programming exercises to familiarize you with the content.

By RAMENDRA P S

Apr 15, 2020

It provided me the best knowledge of HTML / CSS and JavaScript that one can have in short duration.For deep learning content should be more like dealing with more attributes,events,etc.

By Vivek S

Aug 6, 2017

An Awesome Course that goes step by step in introduce you to Javascript and its wonders ,building base in Javascript , and also introduces in depth image processing using Javascript .

By Emilio S G C

Feb 20, 2020

The course is good I just find it a little bit boring, and I also wanted to learn Java not javascript html and css I don't understand why this course is included in the specialization