Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
11,332 ratings
2,472 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

JS
Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

AD
Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

Filter by:

2276 - 2300 of 2,435 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Hail B

Oct 17, 2015

All the basics for beginners. Some step by step and some things make you think and research more references. I think that's a great combination.

By Naomi N

Jan 11, 2021

i wish there could be more personal help for problems and not just the forums.

i never got there any help and had to use a lot of outside help.

By Katrina W

Jul 13, 2016

This course is very difficult. I recommend only taking it if you have some experience with syntax. Although very challenging, I learned a ton.

By Kenneth L

Oct 13, 2015

The first week was a bit slow, but things picked up a bit after that. If you have programming experience, this course is not very challenging.

By David

May 20, 2020

It should be possible to complete the course (in the coursera environment) without paying. I want it to be in the "completed courses" section

By JAIDEEP M V

Sep 11, 2020

It was a good course and I thing which i would to convey to you people is, can you please give the solution to the mini-project as well.

By Ganemtore w B

Jun 8, 2020

J'ai adoré ce cour de spécialisation même s'était un peu difficile pour les codages,et les cours sont compréhensibles je vous remercie.

By Anne-Elizabeth H

May 14, 2016

HTML and CSS were well explained and clearly cover. However, some of the JavaScript was glossed over and very difficult to follow.

By Sean E

Jan 15, 2020

stated as a beginner course, but you need to have known a lot of coding prior to beginning the course. MUCH research is required.

By Paula Á C

Mar 15, 2016

Lessons are too compact and some of the videos too long and full of content, so it's hard to process all the information at once.

By Liana I

Aug 18, 2020

I wish there were more in depth examples instead of providing a code and telling us what it does without explaining it further.

By Ryan W

Apr 3, 2016

This course is fine, but by week 3 and 4, it is already getting very advanced. It is quite impossible to finish within 4 weeks

By Preston T

Apr 9, 2018

While this is a good intro course, I don't think this course delves deep enough into JavaScript to be applicable in practice.

By Jordan R W

Mar 21, 2016

It is a good course, but I'm not sure it's simple enough for beginners - it doesn't teach you all the steps you need to know

By Daniel R E

Oct 26, 2015

Really frustated with this course. Lacks of explanation on the javascript part. Don´t think is recommended for beginners.

By Rahul D

May 13, 2020

can you provide me the honor certification,i have passed the course but didn't get the honor certificate.please see to it

By LYDIA A S

Jul 18, 2016

Material is relevant. Most of the assignments require student guesswork, writing functions not covered in the lecture.

By Ephrem W

Nov 12, 2017

It is not supported by enough exercises, examples and suggested reference books and it is limited on specific point

By Fisher S

Dec 9, 2020

I have learnt all concept in this course before I took this course, but I do not think it is suitable for beginner.

By Chinmay M

Mar 15, 2019

good course but had some difficulties in loop vidio and the assignments were far too tough than tought.

By Vinayak s

Oct 20, 2020

it focus more on building a single webpage like green screen page instead of html, css and java

By Nikos S

Mar 31, 2016

Although you might learn something, this course is not well organized. I wouldn't recommend it.

By Churchil M

Sep 2, 2017

good course but mentors take a lot of time in clearing doubts and sometimes don't respond.

By Ram R

Feb 21, 2016

Though it is a nice introduction, I would have expect a more syntax learning lessons.

By Marcelo F

Apr 29, 2020

Good course, however, there were a couple of glitches with the Simple Image library.