Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
14,231 ratings

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

AD

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .

Just felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

IS

Oct 5, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

Filter by:

2376 - 2400 of 3,066 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By MeganPeng

Jul 22, 2021

The course is well-designed, and there are plenty of materials provided. I appreciate the tests and small challenges after the course, but sometimes I found it hard to focus on the tasks especially when I'm trapped in how to convert the color of pictures.

By Deleted A

Jan 22, 2021

What a great course, all of you have to try this one if you want a basic web programming!!

but sometimes I confused with the function, whether it's originally JavaScript, or library from Duke learn to program. But this is really really help me, thanks!!!

By Hulya K

Jan 24, 2020

I liked the course; but I wish there would be more explanations about content. Videos didn't give enough information about miniprojects. However, course is designed well in a way that makes you to understand better with practices after every chapter.

By Rabia G

Sep 30, 2019

The for loop part isn't clearly defined you may struggle in this part but everything else apart from this is fine. You may wanna consider this course if you are a beginner in HTML and the best thing about this course that it has no pre- resiquites.

By Roy C

Oct 17, 2017

Very nice way to start, as long as you take it seriously and AREN'T satisfied with doing the bare minimum just to complete the tasks and strive to do the best every time, even if it implies taking twice or thrice the time 'suggested' for each task.

By Tom B

Mar 16, 2021

Engaging projects. I would've preferred some focus on business applications, like forms creation and integration of content (YouTube, audio, video, etc.) into existing websites. But the projects were fun, as opposed to that more business-y stuff.

By Lin Q

Jan 3, 2019

it's a good class, learn something useful, something to improve: the reply in the discussion board could be faster, the instruction of the programming exercise could be more precise. but it's still very good class, better than average in coursera

By Christian J J V

Nov 3, 2020

Esta muy bueno el curso para aprender a programar lo único que me fue difícil es el idioma que esta en ingles y que en las preguntas también están en ingles. Fuera bueno que estén en el idioma de uno como el caso mio que es el castellano.

By Vanessa A

Jul 23, 2020

Informational, but the videos need better sound editing. The sound of peoples' saliva made me rage-quit a few times. Speeding up the videos help a bit. Also, the Javascript information was taught WAY out of order in terms of difficulty.

By Ehren R

Jan 5, 2016

A good introduction to programming in general and in relation to web apps. A lot of focus on just a few problems, mainly graphics manipulation but a good starting point I think. Looking forward to learning much more in future courses.

By Mario P

Dec 8, 2018

A good course overall , i feel i learn new stuff i didn't no before. The only odds i would say about this course. Iss that when we need help we ain't get any form the forums.So we've get lost and we are moving around and going nowhere.

By Ahmed C

Oct 16, 2017

this course was so useful specially when it comes to how to solve problems using concepts like working on a smaller version of the problem and try to generalize the solution, the problem sets were fun too .. glad that i have took it .

By Max R

Feb 4, 2018

Got pretty challenging towards the end (Week 3 and 4) which was cool since I like a challenge. Really informational videos that go straight to the point and they explained everything perfectly. Excited to do the next four courses

By Geoffrey R

Nov 5, 2016

Decent introduction. Should consider more assignments with automated submissions. Maybe bonus assignments with automated submissions just to develop a broader introduction to different parts of the various languages discussed.

By Lauren H

Apr 22, 2022

This was a helpful course in learning how JavaScript interacts with HTML and CSS. However, it felt overly rushed, and some elements were merely mentioned once with the expection we all understood after that one irreration.

By Leena

Nov 10, 2022

The course material is really good but sometimes to find the solution of particular code becomes really haptic. You can get stuck on it like for 4 hours on a single problem.

The doubt /discussion forms should be improved.

By Jay S S

May 16, 2020

A good place to start if you are absolutely clueless about web programming. This course gets you comfortable enough to start exploring on your own and they don't assume previous knowledge which is the best part. Loved it!

By Neha D

Oct 13, 2015

Week 4 was a big leap from week 3. Difficult with less time to complete the project. But course was good . I think course could be extended by adding 2 more weeks so that more practice sessions could be given to students.

By Alinaswe C

Dec 5, 2021

The course was great, and I managed to learn new skills in Computer Science. However, the course was too simplified, I recommend to improve its difficulty to be more challenging and adding an auto-grader for assignments.

By Christian A H

Feb 4, 2016

very nice soft start into programming, for someone who has some background would not be challenging but encourage them to continue through this specialization where it will be more challenging through the specialization

By Ritesh K

May 3, 2020

On the whole it was a great experience. There were a couple of spots where the instructions are outdated (how to include the source in the HTML in week 2) which caused some time wastage, so that glitch should be fixed!

By Beatrice D L

Feb 23, 2020

there are some issues with using Simple Image functions in Week 3 and 4 of the course (even with the troubleshooting), which makes it harder to complete the necessary work. however, it has been educational regardless.

By Aaron D K

Mar 14, 2018

Good course for learning how to code in JavaScript and use HTML and CSS to enhance it in order to build a webpage, but I felt that some of the mathematically-oriented exercises were a bit too on the theoretical side.

By Custodio C

Aug 22, 2016

It was great to finally get to know about things I've been wondering for a long time. I got lost from time to time and struggled to keep up but, at the end I think I get the benefits the course was meant to provide.

By Nick P

Apr 18, 2016

The javascript section was very good and helped me develop my programming skills. I really like the seven step approach and using it work through the exercises. The HTML and CSS sections were not very useful though.