Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
14,229 ratings

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

AD

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .

Just felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

IS

Oct 5, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

Filter by:

2426 - 2450 of 3,065 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Nora J

Jun 28, 2017

a very good, well-taught, hands-on course. I got a bit bored with so much image editing, but I recognize that's a logical way to teach the principles of JavaScript programming.

By Courtney U

Feb 6, 2023

The course is really good, but a week deadline for a new programmer especially on the later 2 weeks is not enough. more time is need to process and program and debug the code.

By Goddess L O

Jul 31, 2020

The course was great and I am able to create a basic website with specific functions using HTML, CSS and JavaScript, which is amazing! Thank you to the professors at Duke <3.

By Saffeya H

Aug 28, 2016

It's a great course to learn the basics, plus you get testimonials about how some are doing in the business. Mostly younger college students but never the less, still useful.

By Chitrali

Aug 3, 2021

This course is very informative and interesting. At times I couldn't understand the programming as a beginner but otherwise my journey of completing this course was smooth.

By Johnny Y

Nov 27, 2020

Hello, just want to ask why the certificate uses my middle name instead of my first name it should be Johnny Youssef not Ibrahim Youssef. Can this be corrected? Thank you.

By Patricio S

Oct 11, 2020

The assignment,quiz, reading, etc should be on Spanish too or at least some subtitle for people who join into this courses because they have subtitle in his mother tongue.

By Hani L I

Jul 21, 2017

It's a very good course. It best fits beginners and gives them fundamental information to help them understand what programming is and how they can think grammatically.

By Abudula A

Jan 2, 2016

The content of CSS and HTML are really good in this course, but the details about the JavaScript Code are not sufficient, this let me hard to understand the JavaScript.

By Sushant G

May 23, 2021

This program was great! I also suggest checking out the John's Hopkins course on Web Development as it talks about GitHub hosting, an important step in web hosting.

By yash v h

Oct 11, 2020

This course is good for foundation of web development, specially for javascript. I was hoping for tutorial about writing code in offline editor instead of codepen.

By Edgars L

Apr 5, 2019

Only the basics of HTML and CSS are covered here. The most of the course is about javascript implementation to solve challenges on modifying images pixel by pixel.

By AMISHA

Jun 20, 2020

The theory section is not enough to understand the concept clearly.Sometimes,we don't even get response to our doubts which is doubt of majority of the students.

By Adi J

May 5, 2020

Very well rehearsed course, well made questions. I would only recommend this course to have the students to use a local IDE like VSC instead of an online editor.

By Oskar W

Oct 12, 2017

This was a great course for me to get started with developing web pages and I now have a solid foundation to build on while getting more experience and skillls.

By SHUBHAM S

May 15, 2020

very vert helpful guiding teachers. Im a mechanical engineer and now i know alot about js, html and css coz of you guys. kudos to the professors in this course

By CHESWIN R

Mar 29, 2020

its a good course and made it easy to learn by duke university .good lectures .could make it much more deep .but gave a basic idea on css ,html,and java script

By Mustafa S

Sep 19, 2021

the webiste desing made the studying very easy and cool i didnt have that big problems while studying in this course, the teahers were nicely understood :3

By Haneen H

Nov 1, 2017

Great course! Some more descriptions in videos would be helpful. Love the forums, and veryyy helpful and timely returns from moderators on them, thank you!

By Lung L

Jun 11, 2017

There are some good golden nuggets to be picked up. You get taught some very logical scientific approaches to programming and solving problems with coding.

By António J D B

Aug 8, 2016

This course is Amazing! I learned a lotabout webpages and how to style them. It only fails because we don't see an example of javascript on a real webpage.

By Zach T

Mar 1, 2021

Lots of good information and great for a strong programming base. A few of the assignments seemed a bit advanced compared with the lessons of the section.

By Shreyansh s

Jun 4, 2020

nice course butthere should be a plce to collect the hands on work done by students and teachers and ithers must give review of the work done by him/her:)

By Kiattipan M

Sep 12, 2020

The information is overwhelming may try a shorter hand on coding practice more often to give learner the time and space needed to realize the information

By Martin B

Dec 11, 2018

I liked the content covered in this course and the way it was presented, but I found that sometimes it could have been presented in a more engaging way.