Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
14,235 ratings

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

IS

Oct 5, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

JS

Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

Filter by:

2451 - 2475 of 3,067 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Martin B

Dec 11, 2018

I liked the content covered in this course and the way it was presented, but I found that sometimes it could have been presented in a more engaging way.

By Ioana C

Oct 30, 2016

Nicely explained but a bit boring for me. i believe that is my fault, because i don't like web design and i also knew a lot of the things in this course

By John F

Jul 2, 2021

It was a good course, the first course I'd taken with Duke or Coursera. But I only took the course to get to the Java portion. I wish it was just Java.

By Tapasaranjan S

Jun 23, 2020

I have learnt basic HTML , using CSS styles for improving the look and feel. The major part was altering the Document Object Model using JavaScript.

By Lee E

Nov 20, 2019

The lectures were easy to understand, projects were challenging but the discussion forum helped a lot! I wish the discussion forum was more active.

By Saransh V

Nov 17, 2019

course is good if you wish to know more about technical stuff like javascript rather than styling and creating a beautiful looking website with CSS

By Richard T

Apr 12, 2022

Great overview of programming. Some of the exercises need a little reworking to match what is provided for code or to match what is being asked.

By Ayush A A

Nov 2, 2021

I will recommend it is not for the one who has never coded. Before Starting this course one must know basic of coding that will be quite helpful.

By Davon J O

Feb 2, 2022

Some materials are hard to comprehend. More hands-on yet simple to understand tasks are recommended. Nonetheless, thank you for introducing me!

By Rick P

Oct 24, 2017

An excellent introduction to these disciplines. Quiz questions and the font size could have had some minor improvements, otherwise excellent.

By Hassaan A

Aug 30, 2016

This course teaches absolute basics when it comes to programming, with a few tips that give you an edge when it comes to professional coding.

By Chase J

Sep 2, 2021

Better than most, even the best programing courses, but still has a slight bit of improvement left. (four and a half stars is more fitting)

By Ed M

Jul 20, 2018

good course. sometimes they don't go over fundamentals and nomenclature so it takes awhile to understand. I seemed to learn the material.

By WaiTsun Y

Jun 7, 2018

It covers all the basics and the instructors speak very clear, but the exercises and quizzes could be just a little bit more challenging.

By Shahajahan A P

Dec 11, 2020

It was very nice experience with this course. The course contents are very strong. I learned so many new things by choosing this course.

By Joseph O A B

Sep 13, 2020

i think the tutorials on the javascript and css can be worked on and improve like the html. but it was a great course and an amazing one

By DIVIYANSH K T

Jun 13, 2020

Very interestingly explained but since it uses many customized tools, I think it will create problem when I work on real life problems.

By pratik k

Apr 2, 2020

designing a web page using HTML and CSS seems so easy after completing this course. week 1 and week 2 bulids up your basics. go for it.

By Mary S

Feb 17, 2018

Very basic. Learned a few useful things. Last assignment was fun.

Would make a very gentle intro to programmers for complete beginners.

By Mohammad S

Feb 2, 2017

Very nice and organized but the "Try it" exercises should be made easier to read and divided to small steps instead of long paragraphs

By Ojasleen S (

Aug 11, 2021

IT WAS VERY NICE TO DO THE COURSE THE TEACHERS ARE VERY GOOD IN TEACHING.BUT IT NOT COVERED ALL JAVASCRIPT. GLAD TO BE A PART OF IT.

By Deleted A

Jul 10, 2019

Fundamental programming concepts like composition were covered in the course, but it felt like some of the content were too specific.

By Kazi M A

Apr 28, 2020

A lot of stuff can be done in photoshop and later can be processed in web site. We really don't need to learn green screen stuff.

By Kallamlalithendar R

Apr 18, 2021

The Course is really good. It also focuses on the beginners with empty knowledge so that they can also learnt to design web page

By Fady E F

Jun 24, 2020

thanks it was very helpful course ! but i hope there will be many examples in videos to help us for more understanding..Thanks !