Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
12,713 ratings
2,764 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

JS
Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

IS
Oct 5, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

Filter by:

2601 - 2625 of 2,766 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Sean E

Jan 15, 2020

stated as a beginner course, but you need to have known a lot of coding prior to beginning the course. MUCH research is required.

By Paula Á C

Mar 15, 2016

Lessons are too compact and some of the videos too long and full of content, so it's hard to process all the information at once.

By Liana I

Aug 18, 2020

I wish there were more in depth examples instead of providing a code and telling us what it does without explaining it further.

By Ryan W

Apr 3, 2016

This course is fine, but by week 3 and 4, it is already getting very advanced. It is quite impossible to finish within 4 weeks

By Preston T

Apr 9, 2018

While this is a good intro course, I don't think this course delves deep enough into JavaScript to be applicable in practice.

By Jordan R W

Mar 21, 2016

It is a good course, but I'm not sure it's simple enough for beginners - it doesn't teach you all the steps you need to know

By Daniel R E

Oct 26, 2015

Really frustated with this course. Lacks of explanation on the javascript part. Don´t think is recommended for beginners.

By RAHUL D

May 13, 2020

can you provide me the honor certification,i have passed the course but didn't get the honor certificate.please see to it

By LYDIA A S

Jul 18, 2016

Material is relevant. Most of the assignments require student guesswork, writing functions not covered in the lecture.

By Ephrem W

Nov 12, 2017

It is not supported by enough exercises, examples and suggested reference books and it is limited on specific point

By Fisher S

Dec 9, 2020

I have learnt all concept in this course before I took this course, but I do not think it is suitable for beginner.

By Laura A V A

Oct 5, 2021

I think that the course has a deep focus on image. It could be more general, because is a begginers course.

By Chinmay M

Mar 15, 2019

good course but had some difficulties in loop vidio and the assignments were far too tough than tought.

By Vinayak s

Oct 20, 2020

it focus more on building a single webpage like green screen page instead of html, css and java

By Nikos S

Mar 31, 2016

Although you might learn something, this course is not well organized. I wouldn't recommend it.

By Churchil M

Sep 2, 2017

good course but mentors take a lot of time in clearing doubts and sometimes don't respond.

By Ram R

Feb 21, 2016

Though it is a nice introduction, I would have expect a more syntax learning lessons.

By Marcelo F

Apr 29, 2020

Good course, however, there were a couple of glitches with the Simple Image library.

By Purshottam P

Apr 24, 2020

this course is better to understand with enoough material of html,css and javascript

By Jonas S

Aug 27, 2020

With CSS HTML is everything okay, but JavaScript I don't understand in this course.

By Makiko O

Apr 10, 2016

I learned a lot. Still, I wish the explanation were more geared toward beginners.

By greg w

Feb 19, 2016

Took this as part of a Java specialization but would not have taken it otherwise.

By Tanvi J

May 19, 2020

Instructors are so wooden on video. Very monotonous and seems unprofessional.

By Abdel m

Mar 11, 2018

sometime i felt it's about the example not the Javacript coding and learning.

By Mohamed H

Jul 23, 2017

could go more in depth into different functions and ways to use HTML and CSS.