Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
12,572 ratings
2,735 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

JS
Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

AD
Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

Filter by:

2651 - 2675 of 2,748 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Peter H

Feb 12, 2016

I was very disappointed in this course which held much promise. Too much of it has to do with the changing of colours. I got bogged down by hex colour requirements and other ancillary requirements. I did not want to learn such things. I wanted to learn the methodologies of programming and how the statements in HTML, CSS and Javascript interact. All of these areas were only touched on in very minor ways and with little learned. I got more out of the books I borrowed from the library in the same timeframe.

By Katherine K

Feb 18, 2018

I had to refer to a lot of other resources to make the jump from the very basic information that was given in the videos to the much more complicated assignments and practice work. I feel as if I am basically gathering knowledge from many other sources to complete the assignments here rather than learning the information here and being given enough explanation to move further with application. There is not enough advanced instruction in this course to do the problem solving that is asked of you.

By Deleted A

Mar 25, 2021

I don't want to learn only the basics and just stick to it, I wanted to move to advanced stuff too. More than possible in a month. This course wasted way too much of my time, until now I have only learned how to barely use JavaScript on their platform using their libraries. I don't understand the obsession with the Green Screen Algorithm. Trying to unenroll now or I'll waste two more weeks of my life.

This is probably good for an absolute beginner with lots of free time.

By William R

Mar 5, 2021

I thought the course did a good job in week 1 with HTML and CSS but thats where it stopped. The course was not very clear about Javascript and often said what parts did without explaining why. They also severely underestimated the amount of time each week would take on the description as it says 5 hours per week but each week was roughly 7 hours. The Duke LearnToCOde site was also not very good. I did enjoy working on Codepen.

By Gurinder V

Oct 18, 2015

Waaay too basic and simple for a comprehensive principles course. One or two concepts is not enough to gain an understanding. The power behind online learning is that if it takes you three views to understand it all, you have the luxury. Please beef up the videos and the assignments. The assignments had no feedback mechanism so I could easily plow through them without any knowledge of whether I did them right.

By Adrian W

Mar 16, 2018

The focus on image manipulation is confusing and makes code really hard to debug, especially when referencing external sources for functions. Simple text output and arithmetic would be more helpful. The graphics theme seems like a bit of a gimmick. My assignments are all buggy and I can't fix them because the source functions used to generate the images are beyond my skill level.

By Alina S

Oct 16, 2015

Actually it's rather hard to understand how JavaScript works if you'd never learnt it before this course. And all this comments like "write a programm before start the quiz" hold me up to ridicule, because as a beginner I don't understand logic of writing.

HTML & CSS are simple, so there's no problem here.

By gaurav s

Jan 6, 2016

Very very basic course. Learned about HTML ,CSS in initial classes. Then it was completely JavaScript. But there was no details about how to use JavaScript for web programming. Projects and Quizzes are kind of ok difficulty.

I will recommend this course for the people who are not aware of programming.

By Hamza S

May 16, 2020

Instructors should write codes on professional code writing softwares such as brackets or visual studio and not on their own made softwares. We wont use your softwares to work professionally but rather use other softwares. The codes written on codepen does not work on other platforms.

By David T

Sep 13, 2016

I'm confused as to why there was so much emphasis on domain knowledge rather than a good, solid foundation of basic principles. I'm also failing to see how much of this is going to be applicable to future installments of this course. As a starter for a Java course I am worried.

By Chase A E

Apr 17, 2020

Would have benefited from more fundamentals. Course goes into making things quickly, but fails to thoroughly explain the concepts behind what is happening. Fine for a quick crash course on web development, but not recommended as a foundational introduction to programming.

By Ko, Y

Apr 20, 2017

The course contents are pretty good, but the suggested time to complete each week's assignment is misleading. I spent on average 2 hours for each assignment that suggested 10 mins to complete. I end up spending way to much time on this course than I planned to.

By Konrad D

Jan 22, 2016

okay for an intro, not the most boring content. It is a bit aweful that the insist on you using their libraries and programming environments. You spend perhaps 20% of your actually practicing coding, and the rest is wasted in libraries you will never use again

By Tanja P

Sep 21, 2016

I really enjoyed the first two weeks. When it came to JavaScript I couldn't follow, so much information was missing and lessons were not clear anymore. I understand that the goal was to teach the most in a short time but this was not the right approach.

By Andrea L

Aug 12, 2021

The presenters in this course are so painful to listen to. I finally just have to drop the course, because they are clearly not natural instructors/presenters. It's very distracting. The course also just isn't very well written.

By Артем И

Dec 20, 2015

First two weeks of the course were ok, but after that it became something like JavaScript clap-trap, oriented to playing with images. I wanted to know how to make web-pages, I didn't get that information from this course.

By Jung J

Jun 12, 2017

This course could be better with more explanation on founding fundamentals. Basically, the whole course was based on just imitating codes without understanding what are the actual meaning of each code.

By 20_ S

Jun 2, 2020

I think it would be better if the lessons are taught by only professor instead of 3 or 4. Afterall , to many cook spoil the broth. Still i would like to say professors are really good.

By Shantanu M

Oct 18, 2019

Not a great course for JavaScript especially, i really did not like the fact that they just skipped classes completely and we were forced to learn their pre-buit classes and functions.

By Jake T

Aug 6, 2021

Good to learn JavaScript, HTML and CSS. However, I do not understand how this is relevant to this specialisation: Java Programming and Software Engineering Fundamentals

By Takanori K

Nov 24, 2015

Final assignment is too difficult to do for beginners. It's crucial for them not to pass the course unless getting a certain score on the final assignment.

By S K

Jun 1, 2016

All the modules but last are really interesting and informative. The last week's module is very poorly explained, a beginner cannot really understand it.

By Aseem G

Apr 17, 2016

Good course but I dont like how you have to finish each module within a week it would be better if you could finish everything in fourweeks

By Paul V

Dec 8, 2015

The lecturers are speaking very fast. Some times at the code practice it is not understandable how to solve the problem.

By DARSHANA A M

Sep 15, 2020

There are a lot of issue with quiz. Even when you write the correct answers it marks you wrong for it.