Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
12,711 ratings
2,763 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

IS
Oct 5, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

JS
Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

Filter by:

2676 - 2700 of 2,765 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Ko, Y

Apr 20, 2017

The course contents are pretty good, but the suggested time to complete each week's assignment is misleading. I spent on average 2 hours for each assignment that suggested 10 mins to complete. I end up spending way to much time on this course than I planned to.

By Konrad D

Jan 22, 2016

okay for an intro, not the most boring content. It is a bit aweful that the insist on you using their libraries and programming environments. You spend perhaps 20% of your actually practicing coding, and the rest is wasted in libraries you will never use again

By Tanja P

Sep 21, 2016

I really enjoyed the first two weeks. When it came to JavaScript I couldn't follow, so much information was missing and lessons were not clear anymore. I understand that the goal was to teach the most in a short time but this was not the right approach.

By Andrea L

Aug 12, 2021

The presenters in this course are so painful to listen to. I finally just have to drop the course, because they are clearly not natural instructors/presenters. It's very distracting. The course also just isn't very well written.

By Артем И

Dec 20, 2015

First two weeks of the course were ok, but after that it became something like JavaScript clap-trap, oriented to playing with images. I wanted to know how to make web-pages, I didn't get that information from this course.

By Jung J

Jun 12, 2017

This course could be better with more explanation on founding fundamentals. Basically, the whole course was based on just imitating codes without understanding what are the actual meaning of each code.

By 20_ S

Jun 2, 2020

I think it would be better if the lessons are taught by only professor instead of 3 or 4. Afterall , to many cook spoil the broth. Still i would like to say professors are really good.

By Shantanu M

Oct 18, 2019

Not a great course for JavaScript especially, i really did not like the fact that they just skipped classes completely and we were forced to learn their pre-buit classes and functions.

By Jake T

Aug 6, 2021

Good to learn JavaScript, HTML and CSS. However, I do not understand how this is relevant to this specialisation: Java Programming and Software Engineering Fundamentals

By Takanori K

Nov 24, 2015

Final assignment is too difficult to do for beginners. It's crucial for them not to pass the course unless getting a certain score on the final assignment.

By S K

Jun 1, 2016

All the modules but last are really interesting and informative. The last week's module is very poorly explained, a beginner cannot really understand it.

By Aseem G

Apr 17, 2016

Good course but I dont like how you have to finish each module within a week it would be better if you could finish everything in fourweeks

By Paul V

Dec 8, 2015

The lecturers are speaking very fast. Some times at the code practice it is not understandable how to solve the problem.

By Carlos T C

Sep 27, 2021

it is a beginner course, but not taught as a beginner course making it difficult to learn as a beginner.

By Daniela B

Oct 13, 2021

For my level of experience which is zero, everything is explained too quickly. I didn't like it at all.

By DARSHANA A M

Sep 15, 2020

There are a lot of issue with quiz. Even when you write the correct answers it marks you wrong for it.

By Ketty B

Dec 23, 2015

very poor content on Java Script. If you just started JS do not take this course. It will be too hard.

By brandon v

Feb 14, 2021

there were times where the quizzes went over some concepts not covered in the provided materials

By Karolina B

Feb 13, 2016

The course is a bit of a show. Maybe that's good for teenagers and Millennials, but not for me.

By Rafael H

Feb 10, 2017

The course focused so much in interacting with images instead of the HTML, CSS and JS subjects

By Kristiyan A V

Oct 12, 2016

bad explanations, nothing you can do at exams without researching from external sources.

By Douglas D T

Jun 19, 2016

showed me 4 videos and no course instruction, am bummed really wants to take the course

By Adnan S

May 16, 2020

All the lectures should be simplified and shown by actually coding by the instructors.

By Mohammad A S

May 18, 2020

More programming basics about Java Script should have been given.

By Karanveer s s

Jul 26, 2020

faculty is not good....the way of delivery is not proper