Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
13,672 ratings

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

JS

Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

AD

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .

Just felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

Filter by:

2901 - 2925 of 2,980 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Kristiyan A V

Oct 12, 2016

bad explanations, nothing you can do at exams without researching from external sources.

By Douglas D T

Jun 19, 2016

showed me 4 videos and no course instruction, am bummed really wants to take the course

By Adnan S

May 16, 2020

All the lectures should be simplified and shown by actually coding by the instructors.

By Mohammad A S

May 18, 2020

More programming basics about Java Script should have been given.

By Karanveer s s

Jul 26, 2020

faculty is not good....the way of delivery is not proper

By JSSM

Aug 12, 2020

There was no response on the query raised on the forum.

By Kerollous N

Jun 22, 2020

not focusing on the important fundamentals

By Jatin P

Jun 23, 2018

i guess more general concepts are needed

By Maulidi Z N

Oct 4, 2021

The quiz has an error so I can't do it

By Umut Y

Jan 30, 2022

Dull, boring and not for beginners.

By shelby p

Feb 10, 2019

Poor course material explanations.

By Guruprit K R

May 4, 2016

Not Relevant sessions.

By Bojun L

May 3, 2020

too old...

By asfaakbar

Jul 27, 2017

just fine

By Rishbh P

May 26, 2020

fuck you

By Samarth P

Aug 6, 2020

N/A.

By Vahid

May 9, 2022

The curriculum was poorly organized. A two-hour Youtube course can teach much more about html/css/js than all this 4-week long course. At least you should expect to be able to set up a simple page with some decent (beginner) layout and some interactvity after finishing the course. But no! This much time spent for so little stuff.

What did you I supposedly learn (I know html/css/js already)?

html: h1, p, ul, table, input, div (it should take fifteen minutes to explain)

css: color, background-color, border (maybe five minutes is enough)

js: document.getElementById, onclick, onchange, function, className, for loop, if (an hour for this level of simplicity)

All the above can be put into a one or two-hour video.

I understand that this is a beginner course, but still, it could be managed much better with some real world beginner project like a simple web page with some beginner functionality not a random useless Image processor built on their own library.

By Paymon K

Sep 27, 2021

N​ever again will I take a course with Duke University

T​he teachers act upon scenarios that are way too dramatic and overkill. Best way to describe their acting: Cheesy AF. Also, the old lady has a high pitched voice that sounds like it would break glass, so I always have to turn down my volume when she starts speaking. The students look like they are doing this for an internship. They sound super nervous and stumble all over the place. I cannot follow their instruction with their shaky voice and lack of eye contact.

T​he lack of genuine behavior and proper explanation of concepts is apalling. I had to leave halfway through the course. Never again with Duke University.

By Nadeem

Apr 18, 2020

Too much fake excitement and enthusiasm by most of the instructors (not all of them), they put too much effort in acting, ending up being bad actors instead of good (or just normal) teachers. they have the technical and subject matter expertise for sure, but as a learner, i cant get past the too much bad acting in the course - its a constant massive distraction from learning... i feel this course was produced by someone with a background of making cheap entertainment shows on TV. too bad, as the course structure could have made it a promising one! in short, there are many better options out there, this one is not recommended!

By Sophia D

Aug 17, 2020

This is a terrible course, starting from Week 2. This can't be a beginner course for Javascript. The assignments seemed nearly impossible for someone who has no experience with Jacascript. The lecture videos gave some broad and generic knowledge about what a variable is for example and then the assignment asks of you to change a picture's pixel colours without explaining to you how that works. This is a really disheartening course for someone who has never done any JavaScript in their life.

I won't even talk about how devoid of charisma all the instructors were.

By Thomas P

Jan 17, 2021

I did CS50 Computer Science from Harvard after. Because I still didn't get it . The content is similar, but is MUCH better in every way possible. The teachers, the tools, the projects, the explanations, everything I can think of, is just way better. It's more up to date. I can't think of a better way of teaching it. Also it is cheaper.

By Narmin

Sep 28, 2016

Week 1 and 2 were very useful. As a beginner, I learned a lot about HTML and CSS. Week 3 was a big leap to JavaScript, and the level of difficulty was the reason why I quit the course. Concepts are not well-explained, a lot of material for completing the tasks is missing. Please make JavaScript part simple for beginners.

By Antony M

Sep 12, 2020

Its not detailed in explaining the method. I am a fast time HTML learner and the course starts by giving an assignment to "try it" but as a first time learner I have no idea what I am doing. The instruction videos are very very shallow!. Are they assuming students are pros before they sign up for the course?

By Justin G

Feb 15, 2016

I quit this course as it does not live up to the specialization which it begins. JavaScript is not Java. The course description should clearly state that JavaScript will be taught and that it will be used to draw boxes of different colors. I was extremely let down by this course.

By Justin B

Sep 24, 2015

Honestly not a very well designed course. I went through the videos and tests for weeks 1 and 2 and found that it's just rushing us through the basics while not really telling us much. Much of it was "here's an introduction to a tiny detail... You go find out the rest"..