Chevron Left
Back to Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS by Duke University

4.6
stars
11,897 ratings
2,588 reviews

About the Course

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Top reviews

AD
Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

IS
Oct 5, 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 2,553 Reviews for Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

By Tony P

Jul 9, 2020

Easy, thorough, but challenging. Discussion pages have so much insight accumulated from years of student suffering. Programming is hard, especially when you wrap things up and you find out you have a bug somewhere. You look over it a thousand times and don't find anything, only to search it up in the discussions to find that someone else had a similar issue and a solution for your problem as well. Worthwhile learning experience!

By Johann G

Aug 4, 2019

It's so important to know the relationship between varieties of technique as for a beginner and how they interact with each other, without digging deep in one technique. And the purpose of using this technical route is always based on the problems that should be solve. That's the reason why I would speak highly of this course, even with nearly ten years of software maintaining experience, this course makes me acquired a lot.

By Jolin L

Jan 8, 2021

Being the very first course that I took in Coursera, I was honestly very surprised at how easy the material was to understand. I don't know how many people feel the same way, but the videos and projects were easy to follow and only took about 4-5 hours every week for me. I would definitely recommend this to people who are trying to get a feel for programming. Thank you professors for making this experience so amazing!

By Kazi H R

Jun 23, 2020

Though the title of the course includes HTML,CSS and JavaScript this course is fundamentally centered around image processing and more advanced concepts like steganography which I think is a llot of fun as they require very creative thinking.thanks to the professors who were excellent in their teaching and the division of any simple bit of code into syntax and semantics was just the cherry on the top(I guess!!!!!!)

By Pankaj J

Jan 30, 2021

This is so far the best online course for web development. Its difficulty is moderately hard which is a good thing. This course works through the fundamentals of programming and computational thinking. More specifically this course really worked through the algorithms. This not that average html css element teaching course. This is really challenging. I am feeling very confident about this.

By AMAN V

May 7, 2021

This is the best course and a great opportunity for a newbie to learn Html, CSS and java script from the best instructors of the field in lucid manner. The way of teaching is awesome, and the assignment are made in an interactive way to catapult our imagination. A great reverence to all instructors of DUKE University for helping me out to learn a completely new field. Thank you once again

By Tanya S

May 11, 2020

this was an amazing course.The faculty of Duke univ teaching in this course is amazing and gives all the information you need in a very precise and fun manner.Also,lots of practice "try it out" exercises make it a fun leaning process.

Also i would recommend doing the steganography module for honors as it is rally informative and interesting to know about!

Good luck and cheers to Duke Team!

By Ahmad E H

Dec 27, 2018

Thank you for this amazing introductory course, as I have learned a lot about computer programming in a fun and easy way. The way the course started from one pixel concept to manipulating images and hiding an image inside another was fascinating. The most important thing I have learned was thinking about how to solve a problem and understand it right before start writing my code.

By 李婷

Jul 25, 2020

Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML, and CSS is a great course, helping me learn the basic knowledge of JavaScript, HTML, and CSS. It is easy to understand. And the examples shown on the course is fascinating. The assignments are a little challenging but can be finished. Now I'm confident that I can understand to following courses of this specification. Thanks a lot.

By Elaman M

Nov 2, 2020

Well done! it is professionally constructed easy for understanding and practicing course. Especially the course is comfortable tool for beginners or non tech guys. For me this is CS50 analogue of Coursera and Duke University. Thanks for professors for the course. And special thanks for Kazakhstan government for financial support of its citizens for free course and certificate

By Oleh L

Feb 16, 2020

Nicely structured and organized course. Gives just enough to get the taste of the topic in combination with interesting problems to solve. The last one is forcing you to dig a bit in between the documentation. But almost all topics are covered in support section for the project.

Great job by Duke's team! Will recommend it without any doubts and the 1st one will be my son :)!

By Panayiotis O

Jan 26, 2017

I have learned a great deal from this course. The lectures and assignments were very well structured. The most important feature of the course for me was that after every bit of new information, there were challenging exercises that gave me a good grasp of the newly learned material. It took many, many hours of working on the assignments, but it was worth every second!

By Γεώργιος Κ

May 24, 2020

I think this is the ideal course for one to enter computer science. For me was very easy to pass because of being already a professional python programmer but nevertheless I LEARNED new things with this lesson and acquired a useful background. If this was my first course I would be much more qualified to follow any other computer language. Definitely recommended.

By sridarshan

May 5, 2019

The course was informative ,interactive,productive and challenging . The environment provided for practice including the documentation was a great tool for understanding the concept and elements used for creating a webpage. The assignment at the end of each module was challenging. Overall the course helped me in understanding the basics if creating a webpage

By Bukola M A

Nov 20, 2018

The course is the first step that will equip anyone interested in learning programming. I really enjoyed the course, the lecturers are super, love their teaching method. Susan H. Rodger, Robert Duvall, Owen Astrachan, Andrew D. Hilton, can't thank you guys enough, you did a great job making sure learning this course comes with so much fun, thanks a lot.

By Elena K

Aug 13, 2018

I recommend this course to everyone who wants to learn the basics of HTML, CSS and JS! Thanks to the professors of this course, and the way they explain the programming, I could understand absolutely everything (even though I always thought that tech stuff was not my thingJ). Moreover, they made the whole learning process fun. Thank you!

By Hanna B

Apr 29, 2019

Thanks a lot for this course! If you're a beginner in programming, learning on this course will be really useful, because teachers provide you not only with theory but also with practical skills! This couse takes time weekly every day, but it's worth all efforts! Looking forward to enrolling on the second course from Duke university:)

By Akshat G

Jul 2, 2020

It makes javascript easy for me. This course is worth for both time and money. I will recommend this course to all who started learning web designing and want to make a great project. They provide projects exercise along with their solutions and its a creative way to learn web designing with a little image processing. Great Effort!!

By William J B

Dec 10, 2016

Well paced, mentors are active in the forums. You have a chance to mingle with everyone and share ideas. The course itself covers pretty much everything from beginning HTML up to Image Filtering and Steganography. I would recommend to anyone interested in learning how how the internet works or anyone with an interest in programming.

By Kristin K

Oct 11, 2017

A great beginners course in HTML, CSS, and Javascript. Everything is fully explained and there are people, who actively respond in the the discussion section when you have questions and look at your code to find mistakes. It is formatted in a way that you can keep it basic or dive in deep. It's my favorite Coursera class so far.

By Shreya R

Jul 28, 2020

The course on web development using Javascript, HTML, and CSS was really helpful for me. The videos, practice quizzes, and assignments along with the mentors were quite insightful.

The resources proved out to be really helpful for the completion of my course.

I look forward to learning more and availing other courses in Coursera.

By Aakash K

Oct 10, 2020

It was really great to learn from such well-skilled tutors. And their way of explaining the concept was really fascinating, their were explaining the javascript concepts in organized way so anyone can easily understand the js concepts and along with that to build websites using html, css and js(to make the page interactive).

By Hemraj B

Jul 23, 2020

I loved the way the professors taught the lessons. They were quick and concise making the course quick and relatively easy as they taught you the main concepts without teaching you everything allowing the student to learn more through their own research . Overall, this course is amazing and a great startup course for anyone.

By Amichai T

Apr 27, 2020

The course is amazing, and so are the instructors! Without any prior coding experience, after the course a confidence in coding is built and proper understanding of principles and techniques is accomplished through a clever series of hands on experiences and quizzes.

Thank you for an amazing, teaching and valuable experience!

By Elie K

Oct 18, 2015

This is a pretty handy introduction to the Web and programming. It contains pretty useful hands-on sessions. The instructors are very clear in their presentations and the quizzes emphasize on comprehension of the course material. I certainly recommend this course for anyone with no or little prior web programming experience.