Chevron Left
Back to Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration by University of Colorado System

4.4
stars
955 ratings
192 reviews

About the Course

This is the second course in the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will learn exciting concepts and skills for designing data warehouses and creating data integration workflows. These are fundamental skills for data warehouse developers and administrators. You will have hands-on experience for data warehouse design and use open source products for manipulating pivot tables and creating data integration workflows. In the data integration assignment, you can use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL databases. You will also gain conceptual background about maturity models, architectures, multidimensional models, and management practices, providing an organizational perspective about data warehouse development. If you are currently a business or information technology professional and want to become a data warehouse designer or administrator, this course will give you the knowledge and skills to do that. By the end of the course, you will have the design experience, software background, and organizational context that prepares you to succeed with data warehouse development projects. In this course, you will create data warehouse designs and data integration workflows that satisfy the business intelligence needs of organizations. When you’re done with this course, you’ll be able to: * Evaluate an organization for data warehouse maturity and business architecture alignment; * Create a data warehouse design and reflect on alternative design methodologies and design goals; * Create data integration workflows using prominent open source software; * Reflect on the role of change data, refresh constraints, refresh frequency trade-offs, and data quality goals in data integration process design; and * Perform operations on pivot tables to satisfy typical business analysis requests using prominent open source software...

Top reviews

LS
Sep 18, 2020

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

EK
Dec 15, 2015

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 182 Reviews for Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

By Abdi M

Jun 12, 2017

A great hands-on introduction to Pentaho. Gave me a very good insight into the capabilities of the product. I will start using the tool at work.

By Raja U A

Feb 18, 2017

Best course for beginners to learn and develop their careers in field of Data warehousing. Also Coursera is best learning source. Thank you all

By Nikolaos M

Jan 23, 2016

This is a very well-structured and demanding course with an excellent professor.

I'm looking forward to finishing the entire specialization!

By Arlindo N

May 30, 2016

For me this course is one of the most important in BI. We had good teachers that helped us to understand the important issues.

By Nakul M

Jun 20, 2018

course is very fast paced with necessary definitions & concepts along with hands on practical assignments.

By Mayank M

May 19, 2019

very good course, after the course u will have a good understanding and grasp of data warehousing concept

By Pallavi K

Aug 2, 2017

Thank you to coursera for this material and it helped me a lot to learn and I will apply in my projects

By Fernando M

Jul 30, 2016

Very clear and complete concepts about the design and integrate data to populate de Data Warehouse

By Christian R

May 18, 2016

Excellent course. Very logical sequence of presentation, accompanied by well designed exercises.

By Adam R

Dec 21, 2015

Excellent course. Very logical sequence of presentation, accompanied by well designed exercises.

By Bill K

Dec 13, 2015

Excellent course.

The hands on project ties together the background knowledge learned so far.

By Carlos V

Dec 18, 2016

Theory and practical content very well balanced. Use of tools to see how ETL concept works.

By jyoti r

Nov 15, 2016

Awesome course for Datawarehouse professional to understand the concept in systematic way.

By Sean H

Aug 3, 2017

Some of the tutorials need to be revisited, but the overall lessons are fantastic.

By Liliana O C

Jun 9, 2017

Good concepts and the exercises helped me to practice theory with more real data

By Eduardo C F

Jul 20, 2016

buen curso con temas muy rapidos y de manera muy general para aprender del tema.

By Matheus Z

Jun 6, 2018

Great course, includes data warehousing practices using Pentaho DI Studio.

By abel.saenz@gmail.com

Apr 29, 2017

Very interesting course well explained, good assesments, I learned a lot

By Guilherme E M

Nov 12, 2017

Very good course. The specalizations is givem a good foudantion for me

By MOHIT K J

Jan 11, 2019

Extremely helpful course to learn regarding Data warehouse concepts

By Maximilian M

Jun 22, 2018

excellent course. the professor coveys core concepts to the point.

By BASAVARAJ H

May 18, 2020

Its a very good Course which gives better knowledge about DW

By Srikanth P

Oct 17, 2016

Excellent introduction to data cubes and data integration.

By Riyadh B

Jun 3, 2020

Great course , easy to follow thanks to the instructor

By Md A M

Feb 16, 2020

one of the best spcecialization course so far for me.