Chevron Left
Back to Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration by University of Colorado System

4.4
stars
946 ratings
189 reviews

About the Course

This is the second course in the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will learn exciting concepts and skills for designing data warehouses and creating data integration workflows. These are fundamental skills for data warehouse developers and administrators. You will have hands-on experience for data warehouse design and use open source products for manipulating pivot tables and creating data integration workflows. In the data integration assignment, you can use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL databases. You will also gain conceptual background about maturity models, architectures, multidimensional models, and management practices, providing an organizational perspective about data warehouse development. If you are currently a business or information technology professional and want to become a data warehouse designer or administrator, this course will give you the knowledge and skills to do that. By the end of the course, you will have the design experience, software background, and organizational context that prepares you to succeed with data warehouse development projects. In this course, you will create data warehouse designs and data integration workflows that satisfy the business intelligence needs of organizations. When you’re done with this course, you’ll be able to: * Evaluate an organization for data warehouse maturity and business architecture alignment; * Create a data warehouse design and reflect on alternative design methodologies and design goals; * Create data integration workflows using prominent open source software; * Reflect on the role of change data, refresh constraints, refresh frequency trade-offs, and data quality goals in data integration process design; and * Perform operations on pivot tables to satisfy typical business analysis requests using prominent open source software...

Top reviews

LS
Sep 18, 2020

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

EK
Dec 15, 2015

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 180 Reviews for Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

By SARAGADAM N

Jul 26, 2017

excellent

By karthik D

Jan 23, 2019

good

By Minas-Marios V

Oct 17, 2020

This course has plenty room for improvement. On one hand, it provides a good understanding of the different data warehousing architectures and design principles, an essential foundation to anyone interested in the field. The material on data integration is also excellent, along with the associated assignment. On the other hand, the peer-graded assignment on data warehousing design is very demanding and isn't clearly described from the lectures and practice problems what the students ought to do to get a perfect grade. Installing the software and getting it to work is also a skill on its own, but it truly is something that a professional will encounter in their work!

By Jason L

May 7, 2016

Pros: Information is perfect for anyone looking at Business Intelligence as a career field, or already in the career field itself. I found the first week to challenge my on-the-job knowledge of a fuller set of concepts and general terminology.

Cons: The wording on the quiz questions, in some cases, seems much different than the PPT slides and the instructor's language. UPDATE: The wording is a significant challenge, even when advancing into the more complex topics. I have had many differences of opinions on the solutions based on wording in the requirements.

By Dragana S

Nov 13, 2017

Really short lessons, and usually half of lesson is spent on introduction and talking about what will be in the lesson. Nevertheless, course is focused on theory, rather than the practice. I think it should be more detailed and with more practical assignments.

By Linda S

Oct 4, 2016

Well organized lectures but the documentation is full of errors. This in combination with the lack of response on the a lack of responsiveness on the forums might make this class frustrating for some.

By Tom C

Mar 19, 2016

This course needs a cleanup of loose ends on some of the assignments. Some assignment requirements are very ambiguous and in some cases the solutions are not matching the requirements of what was due.

By srinivas

Mar 4, 2016

Real world data warehouse integrations are more complex than just inner joining the tables to drop those rows not found in the original tables. i wish more complex scenarios are covered.

By Shalmoli N

Jun 8, 2020

Assignments are very good, in fact excellent, but the material could be a bit more descriptive. And the practice exercise of assignment 5 had lots of discrepancy with the actual

By Andy O

Jan 28, 2018

Some good parts on data integration but the key sections on DW design and in particular the assignment are really poorly written.

By Rohan G L

May 19, 2021

Needs serious updates. A lot of good information, but assignments are thrown together, and instructions are often not clear.

By Bruno A S I

Dec 28, 2017

It's a good course but it could improve the explanations provided in giving more detail and examples. Give deeper examples!!

By Odile M

Jan 13, 2016

Missing course material about how calculating fact table size ans sparsity

By Ravi

Feb 16, 2016

Good for Beginners to go for.

By Ian M

Dec 28, 2015

This course was full of issues related to the installation and use of Pentaho Pivot 4J and Data Integration. The professor's presence is resolving these issues was practically nonexistent. Coursera needs to do a much better job at insuring that their professors are offering a quality course and living up to the expectations of the students. In the case of this course and the professor, they failed miserably. In addition, it is practically impossible to get support from Coursera when an issue exists and in most cases when contact is made, the assistance is minimal. It is a shame as the platform is nicely designed and the course topics are very interesting. If you are considering taking this course, be forewarned that the majority of the support of problems/issues come from the community, not the Professor or Coursera. In addition, you are required to grade the assignments of your fellow students. This is not done by the professor.

By Jacob G

Mar 24, 2021

Content is lacking and final assignment was a nightmare; difficult to install multiple pieces of software only for a tedious assignment, that ended up not working the way they were supposed to leading to me not fully completing the work. Course videos are mostly wasted time - first introduce the topics that will be discussed, summarize points you should get from the lesson, followed by 2-5 minutes of actual content, then a summary of the minuscule amount of info you just heard.

Must not be a popular course, because peer grading often took a while, and there often were not other submissions for me to grade. Needed to go to discussion which solely consists of old posts from people needing grades

By Sylvain L

Mar 9, 2016

Not enough implication from the instructors in the course. Students are left alone with the material, without any answers to there questions on the course.

Peer review process subject to personal interpretation and leading to frustration for the students.

That's quite unfortunate as this provides a bad experience whereas the course might have been good without that.

By Danielle B

Feb 7, 2019

The course is very informative, but you have to work with a very slow website for an assignment and you need to install applications which are a lot of hassle and will cost you a lot of time. I still cannot get an application to work to finish the last assignment. Too bad for all the effort I put in so far and very frustrating.

By David R

Apr 2, 2016

The course lectures were too sparse leading up to the final, very important assignment of learning to how to create an ETL package. More time and energy should have been spent on the technical aspects of the Pentaho Spoon program, rather than doing overviews of application pros and cons.

By Antonio T

Aug 28, 2020

I think this course is not apropiated for work specialization, is only as light additional knowledge of several concepts without go into details.

I don't recomend it. I have left before finish trial week, because it doesn't reach my expectations.

By Dietrich B

Jul 6, 2018

In module 5 the assignment was not able to pass without looking for further assistance in the web. The knowledge of handling Pentaho integration tool was not good enough explained to pass the assignment. Some steps were really tricky.

By Serban T

Feb 20, 2016

Awful. Just awful. There are dozens of students trying to install Pentaho and failing. Only reason I managed is that I have prior experience with the software. There are no TAs, no help, nothing. The Quiz is a scam designed to force you to shell out even more money of the so-called-optional textbook, and the assignments are extremely vague and orders of magnitude beyond the laughable 30 minutes the instructor suggested they should take. My submissions for week 3 total over 30 pages -- and I work a full time job... Avoid this class, do not reward terrible courses with your cash.

By Rob B

Apr 17, 2020

No instructor engagement in the course, see the history of posts by the professor. Last in June 2019. The course materials aren't sufficient to complete or understand the material beginning in Module 3. Figuring out how to download the software for the course is very confusing and the documentation is outdated. I would recommend pulling the course from the platform until the instructor(s) become active. I will be removing my monthly payment and don't intend to enroll in future Coursera courses anytime soon.

By Philippe G

Oct 29, 2016

Course is very high level and teacher inspiring. As I highlighted already it took me 8 hours with a professional to install Pentaho... for what? to explain pivot tables totals. that is very unecessary. Also from Europe virtual machine use is just killing my computer and I end up spending more time crashing and restarting my pc than working on the course. (and I am surrounded by IT professionals in my company for reference). This is sadly a big let down for an excellent course theory wise.

By Daniel X

Mar 8, 2018

Too academic, maybe normal for a University course. But really not a practical course for someone wanting to pick up the knowledge or skills. even though BI is a big concept. The tools are not very popular in the market, either highly enterprised Oracle or free tools. Really, those tools are good for doing a few excercise or playing some BI games.