Chevron Left
Back to Understanding economic policymaking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding economic policymaking by IE Business School

4.8
stars
878 ratings
205 reviews

About the Course

This is the first of the three courses part of the Globalization, Economic Growth and Stability Specialization. This course will employ a non-technical approach to analyze how governments use policy to influence a country's economy. Upon completing the course you should be able to discuss national debts and deficits, examine fiscal and monetary policy and their appropriateness to the situation of an economy, and anticipate the results of fiscal and monetary policies and structural reform on a country. These concepts will give you the tools to develop your own position in many current economic debates, such as fiscal stimulus vs. austerity, the merits of quantitative easing, the need for higher interest rates or the future growth path of many modern economies....

Top reviews

PH
Dec 8, 2015

Excellent overview economics course. Dr. Allard does a fantastic job explaining basic economic concepts and principles so that a novice can better understand this one critical aspect of their world.

KK
Dec 26, 2015

Great insights, I now feel like I am macro-economically literate and I will be using this information when interviewing and now possible grilling certain politicians in my town!\n\nThank you Gayle!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 204 Reviews for Understanding economic policymaking

By Douglas W

Apr 3, 2020

Very insightful and challenging course. I would encourage anyone looking to pursue a career in legislation to learn. Thanks So much to Prof Allard for her insights into economics and the way they work.

By Tiago R A

Aug 30, 2015

Very good content, instructors, materials and exercise. I give 5 stars with a small remark: Some technical issues, grading and recognition enhancements, would leave this course even better.

By Juan E I G

Feb 8, 2016

Excelente para tener un acercamiento general y amplio sobre los comportamientos macroeconómicos. Quizás el nivel de detalle no es muy profundo, pero es un buen inicio en la macroeconomía.

By makthal b k r

Aug 27, 2017

Professor Allard Explains things in a pellucid way .She's got that gift of gab .Once you successfully finish the course ,policy news are no more alien terms to you. Thanks Much Professor

By Luis C C E

Jul 21, 2016

Me gustó mucho este curso, lástima que no pude acceder a mis resultados de los exámenes ya que necesitaba pagar aunque no estaba aplicando al certificado.

Muchas gracias!

By Kamran A A

Apr 8, 2020

I think in terms of easily understanding and learning it is suitable

for everyone to learn some basic macro economic knowledge and be able to use it in real life

By Jeremy R M

Dec 15, 2015

This is a great intro to economics. It's a timeless subject that is explained very well by Professor Allard of IE, Madrid. I would recommend this course to anyone.

By Sourav M S

May 26, 2020

This is a very good economic course that is conducted excellently by Prof. Gayle Allard. She explains all the topics with useful insights and easy to understand.

By Nadav R

Jun 25, 2018

The teacher is great. The material is easy to understand. I have found myself reading news I wouldn't have cared about in the past. I am glad I took this course.

By Shoola D

Oct 29, 2017

Wonderful course and professor. It's very non-technical, but allows to follow the logic of policymaking and comprehend the news and reports better. Enjoying it!

By NEHA M

Aug 20, 2017

Easy paced course. I am not from an economics background, yet this course generated enough interest and pushed me through. Would definitely recommend!

By Yang W

Aug 5, 2016

Using the simplest words and the easiest-to-get way to describe the macro policy making. one of the best courses I've had on Coursera. Thanks a lot.

By Mary F

Feb 21, 2016

Love this class. Gayle is great. Taking it again. I will continue to refer to it. Gayle breaks the concepts down into bites that you can digest.

By Syed M O R

May 21, 2016

Very well organized, I must say. The course takes a light start from the fundamentals and then jumps to the economic intricacies of the world.

By Arpit U P

Apr 2, 2016

Concepts very well explained by Gayle. People from all backgrounds can understand this course. Looking forward to many more courses from her.

By Alejandro A

Apr 15, 2018

Excellent course. Very clear explanations along all the modules. Helps you understand what governments and central banks are doing and why.

By Vicson C

Dec 2, 2015

This course would help you better understand the basics of macroeconomics and how economic policies affect the performance of a country.

By Emily H

Nov 30, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this class. It was a great refresher, educational and informative. I found it very easy to follow and keep up with.

By Rashi T

Feb 9, 2017

The course was extremely useful in strengthening my existing knowledge of economics and truly delivered on its objectives. Thank you!

By Victoria K

Jul 20, 2016

The explanations are very intuitive and comprehensible. The lecturer did a great job and simulators provided are as good. Thank you

By Wang J

Feb 17, 2016

This module is quite informative but easy to understand. I believe Prof has put a lot of efforts into the designing of this course.

By James K

Oct 13, 2015

Excellent course and very enjoyable teacher. Tough assignment but well worth the effort. Really made economics very interesting

By Ulvi S

Nov 8, 2015

Everything excellent, especially using IT for explaining with graphics. However, I think it needs a bit development on quizzes.

By Serugo A

Jul 24, 2020

The best course ever in understanding economic insights and analysis of economic information. Thank you Professor Gayle Allard

By Nahid V M

Apr 18, 2020

It was really great course. You can learn shortly every information about macroeconomy and its parts.

Big thanks Gayle Allard !