Chevron Left
Back to Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
455 ratings
166 reviews

About the Course

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

Top reviews

DS
Sep 6, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

C
Jun 4, 2017

I found this course very exciting and informative!! I learned a great deal about valuing ecosystem services and its complex challenges. I will highly suggest this course to fellow learners!

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 166 Reviews for Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

By Joshua M

Apr 28, 2020

Very well put together course providing helpful instruction on the wide variety of considerations and skills within ecosystems analysis and reporting.

By Tulaci B

Aug 19, 2020

Great and complete course! I have never seen anything like this here. The professors are very good and make us feel like their students.

By Mariana R O

May 12, 2020

Excelente curso, muy buenos docentes. Vale la pena hacerlo y poner en práctica todo el conocimiento y habilidades adquiridas.

By Karnik A

Nov 20, 2019

The course was smartly constructed to teach slowly along with building the foundation. Interface and tasks were efficient.

By Karla F S C

Mar 26, 2019

it was a good module, with a good information, but the most important, that it was very practical in the metodology.

By Urs B

Jul 1, 2017

Very interesting and inspiring course. Excellent teaching material and very motivated presenters. Thank you a lot!!!

By Elena F

Jun 8, 2020

Great course. Well crafted and executed. Presents Ecosystem Services and explores a variety of viewpoints about it.

By Elena T

May 26, 2020

I really appreciate the fact that the instructors guide the learners through a constructive critic of the concept.

By Ashutosh K P

Oct 6, 2019

Provides concepts, methods and implications of using ecosystem services as a method of Sustainable development.

By RAJATH B

Feb 24, 2021

A Wonderful course with very important insights and much needed knowledge about the real-life business case

By Sean B

Apr 5, 2020

Very informative. I learned a great deal about the pros and cons of the Ecosystem Services accounting.

By Jelle v H

Mar 18, 2021

Well structured and interesting course to get acquainted with the core concepts of Ecosystem services.

By Jonathan Z

May 1, 2018

This was an amazing course and ahead of our time with helpful content for this and future generation !

By Mario A F M

Feb 8, 2021

Un curso muy crítico y completo con suficiente información para tener un backgroud sólido en el tema.

By Wei-Harng L

Aug 29, 2017

Excellent course with lots of new ideas / concepts being imparted. Truly Swiss made quality. Love it.

By Salma A ( A D U C

Aug 2, 2018

It is very helpful and promising week for conducting a real research from regional to local scale.

By parvin m

Jun 23, 2020

the course of ecosystem services was so excellent and I receive information about that. Thank you

By Alexander W

Nov 24, 2020

Great course as introduction to biodiversity and ecosystem services with many practical examples

By Diana P

Jan 4, 2018

un curso muy completo con teoría, entrevistas y casos prácticos, las lecturas son muy buenas y

By vijaydilipraj

Jun 25, 2017

EXCELLENT COURSE MODULES WHICH IS EXPLAINED IN A COMMON MAN'S EASY TO UNDERSTAND LANGUAGE. !!

By Silvia S

Feb 15, 2021

A course with an excellent level also for those who already know the basics of the concept.

By José G G G

May 9, 2020

Congratulations!!! It was a very good MOOC! I enjoyed and learned a lot, thanks for all!

By ELIAS P N

Feb 21, 2021

Thank you Coursera and DOST CARAGA for this once in a lifetime opportunity of learning!

By Ed K

Aug 4, 2020

Excellent course. I particularly enjoyed the case studies and roundtable discussions.

By Pablo N T T

Sep 27, 2019

Gran calidad de información y una continua invitación a alternativas de desarrollo