Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Music Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Music Theory by The University of Edinburgh

4.5
stars
1,452 ratings
462 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top reviews

SS
Aug 22, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

GE
Apr 1, 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 456 Reviews for Fundamentals of Music Theory

By Alejandro G C

Jul 23, 2020

I had no musical background and this was a challenging experience. I've learnt a lot in this course, I recommend it. I'm not giving it 5 stars because one of the weeks must be improved.

By Fabio S C

Nov 17, 2020

The course is quite challenging, since you have to complete the learning topics by investigating by the student. However this teach you not to give up, which brings great experience.

By Enrique H

Nov 19, 2020

This course has a lot of very interesting and useful information. I like the way the instructors handled it.

Looking forward for courses that can be like a continuation to this one.

By Aziz M A

Oct 18, 2020

It was a fantastic course. I was introduced to the basic concepts and ideas in music theory. Even though the course was hard to keep up, it was a good experience overall. Thanks

By Chloe A G

Oct 17, 2016

This was a great class, but some of the information could have been more comprehensive, and some of the questions on the tests did not match the information from the lectures.

By 黄薇

Oct 12, 2016

Good for beginners, introduced basic theory systemly. But a few mistakes appeared, though corrected in the videos too, but better to clear them in the future shifts.

By Santiago A B S

Sep 16, 2020

it's a really great course; although they don't get into every detail that you would think you need,it's a pretty good overlook of the elementary of music theory.

By Muhammad N B A M

Nov 13, 2020

I think week 3 and partially week 5 could've been implemented a bit better. but they did really well explaining basic music theory with the allocated time given.

By Naveed H

Apr 14, 2018

The quizzes sometimes feel a little too difficult compared to the lectures that precede them, but other than that it's a really nice and comprehensive course

By marcos v g

Feb 6, 2020

Course was very difficult for me. I did not make final exam. However alltogether gave me may Inputs and Tutors were very professional . Thank you very much.

By Jan D

Oct 4, 2016

A little bit steep demand curve regarding to what is offered in the lectures.

Well, well... The whole world knows that "they" are a little "thrifty" ;-)

By Avinesh S

Feb 15, 2018

The video tutorials were good, but for me it was not sufficient. However, the examinations were a lot helpful than the video lessons.

By Yoma K

Nov 25, 2018

The course was interesting but I wanted to know more about theoretical characteristics for music in different eras and cultures

By pengfei z

Feb 1, 2018

Apart from a steep increase of complexity somewhere around the third week, you still manage to learn a lot through this course.

By Dominic M

Sep 4, 2017

Good introduction to music theory.

Final assignment tougher than expected.

You will need to do the extra reading and research.

By Cornelia

May 2, 2021

Sometimes the explanations where a little to liitle. ALso, the german subtitles didn't really fit to what was actually said.

By Kumar G M

Oct 17, 2017

Worth it.

Helped improved my skills as a musicians also it filled all the gaps that was lying in my fundamental theories.

By Ricardo M J O

Feb 24, 2018

Great course, the tutors give a clear explanation of the topics. I hope we could have this course available in spanish.

By Gerard I D L B

Sep 12, 2020

This course is great. BUT the school logo on the certificate is only HALF. (The logo is cut). PLEASE FIX THIS

By Stefan O

Sep 5, 2016

Great introduction to music theory. In some sections the layout of the course could be somewhat better.

By Miguel A B

Jul 24, 2020

La traducción al idioma español debe ser revisada porque he detectado algunos errores u omisiones

By Samuel G L O

Mar 11, 2021

I like it but there are problems with week 5 about videos and mismatch in learning materials

By Wesley P

Oct 4, 2016

Challenging at times, but doable with effort, and quite rewarding upon success. Recommended.

By Xingcong L

Dec 26, 2018

Good to newbie to start from music theory. But got a bit confused when watching the videos.

By Aaron T

Feb 23, 2021

Quizes were a little confusing, but overall it was easy to figure out how to pass