Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Music Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Music Theory by The University of Edinburgh

4.5
stars
1,410 ratings
444 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce students to the theory of music, providing them with the skills needed to read and write Western music notation, as well as to understand, analyse, and listen informedly. It will cover material such as pitches and scales, intervals, clefs, rhythm, form, meter, phrases and cadences, and basic harmony. This course covers the fundamentals of Western music theory, from the absolute basics to some more advanced concepts and, as such, is the perfect course for beginners and more experienced musicians alike. Follow us on twitter @musictheorymooc #edmusictheory...

Top reviews

GE
Apr 1, 2021

Very good course which hammers home the essentials.\n\nGood enthusiastic lecturing and importantly on completion progressed onto Coursera Musicianship Specialisation which I have now almost completed

SS
Aug 22, 2017

It was a very nice course. We were able to understand the basics of music theory and how the notations and chords work. Thank you so much to the entire staff of Edinburgh University and Coursera..:-)

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 436 Reviews for Fundamentals of Music Theory

By Elijah K

Oct 21, 2019

Great course content with highly skilled lecturers explaining every topics, making it very simple to understand the rudiments of music.

By Sara E C

Oct 6, 2016

Great course with excellent teachers. I learned so much. Thanks Coursera, and thanks to all involved in develloping this great project.

By Michelle S

Mar 28, 2017

Great approach to the hard part of music understanding making it easy to follow and gain more appreciation of such an amazing subject

By Luis D T B

Jul 30, 2020

Excelent course. It gives you a complete intruduction to musical lecture which can be applied in composition. Sometimes difficult.

By Ludmila K

Sep 23, 2017

The course is just great. It helps to understand the system of music. It contributes to developing of playing and singing skills.

By Kaizen C

May 29, 2021

A well designed course with amazing instructors! Learnt a lot and wished there was a follow up course for intermediate learners

By Diana B

Jun 27, 2020

It's quite challenging for people with no music background but definitely worth it! It focuses a lot on modulation and harmony.

By Rafael C S D

Jan 18, 2017

Great course! Really helped me to achieve a better understanding of the music theory and how the basics of composition Works.

By Abhay A K

Jun 1, 2020

This Course is very very interesting and at the same time challenging, it taught me to trust my guts when it comes to music.

By Lulu Z

Jan 13, 2017

Fantastic entry into the world of music theory. One minor complaint is the lack of corrections after submitting the quizzes.

By Efraín F

Jun 18, 2021

Learning music with FoMT was a great experience and a really helpful way of getting into music theory. I am very grateful.

By Patryk M

Jan 14, 2021

This particular course gave me a lot. I had some fundamentals in music theory, but not as much as I thought. Great course!

By Diego B

Sep 20, 2019

All of the team is composed of very professional and knoledgeable professors who teach with joy and challenge the studens.

By Yuqi W

Nov 21, 2016

Thank you all so much! Really useful course and beginner-friendly journey! Hope to take more classes from your university!

By John C D

Jan 20, 2017

A steep learning curve for someone who has not gone beyond very basic music theory before, but worthwhile nevertheless.

By Lluis G T

Oct 10, 2016

awesome, a bit hard at the end but, this course helped me alot to go much better along other courses. Thanks you !

By Raul R B

Sep 23, 2020

Muy buen curso, aprendí mucho sobre Teoría Musical y me ayudó a recordar muchos conceptos de una forma practica.

By Benoît T

Feb 14, 2020

It gives enough material to understand music in its core, with enough enthusiasm so that you want to learn more.

By Diana B

Jun 14, 2021

The instructors are quite knowledgeable about music theory and I would recommend this to my friends and family.

By TYCHICUS D

Jun 5, 2018

Beautifully explained in depth, very comprehensive for beginners to understand the essentials of music theory.

By Rojib S

Jan 19, 2018

This course is really helpful, it extends the music theory of musician. Really good way to learn new things.

By Diego D Á

Oct 10, 2020

I learnt a lot of new things. The course was very well organized and nicely explained. Thank you very much!

By Mohamad a k

Sep 18, 2020

It was fantastic with a valuable amount of musical information and terminology important to every musician

By Jennifer V

Aug 31, 2017

Great information and a great intellectual challenge for an advanced beginning piano student and vocalist.

By Anderson C

May 26, 2018

I learned quite a lot of Music Theory, things started to make sense for me! Good job getting this course!