Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity by Stanford University

4.9
stars
2,183 ratings
742 reviews

About the Course

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Top reviews

AP
Aug 11, 2020

It was wonderful experience to know the special theory of relativity from Larry, who has presented the course in very simple way to understand. Thanks a lot to Larry for providing such a good session.

JJ
Mar 21, 2020

Thanks for helping me understand the Special Theory of Relativity, covered a lot of ground but repeated it so it really could sink in. Like your style and want to thank you for your assistance. Thanks

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 730 Reviews for Understanding Einstein: The Special Theory of Relativity

By D S M

Aug 5, 2020

This course is really worth the time. And the professor is amazing.

He explains the course very nicely.

By martin s

Apr 7, 2020

Wow. I think I now understand Special Relativity, maths and all. Very well taught course. Many thanks.

By Krista H

Apr 1, 2020

So much fun and great lectures. Broken down in a great way for someone many years from math classes.

By Marcel l

Feb 16, 2020

Bravo et merci à ce professeur qui a su expliquer clairement les concepts de la relativité restreinte

By Todd B

Aug 20, 2017

Excellent course. Enjoyed lectures and examples presented that truly helped me understand the topic.

By Omesh S

Feb 11, 2017

Course was well organised and with mostly qualitative discussions. This course is apt for beginners.

By Taran R

May 13, 2018

Very thorough and incredibly well-explained. I would love a GR course taught by the same professor!

By Prasanna K R G

Apr 25, 2017

Very well thought syllabus and the professor really taught it well. The handouts are simply awesome

By Tasswin M

Aug 29, 2020

Very good for understanding the basics of special relativity and learning some scientific history.

By Dennis B

Jun 19, 2020

Excellent,Detailed,Interesting ,Testing with Problems c/w solutions reinforced learning experience

By Scala D

May 14, 2020

Excellent! Clearly explained, good pace, not too fast, nor too slow. A lot of examples! very good!

By Johnny M

Mar 31, 2020

My struggle to understand was a wonderful experience. Inspired to keep learning. Thank you, Larry!

By PUNEET

Oct 16, 2018

really interesting, you get to know about many universe facts, it is like a science fiction movie.

By JIHONG Z

Aug 2, 2020

Delicately designed course, the joy of learning has motivated to explore more courses on physics.

By Atheek A

Jun 19, 2020

Impressive course!

A more in-depth experience may have been more interesting!

Thank you very much!

By Jabran A B

Jul 26, 2019

The course is fantastic. .I enjoyed it a lot but some animations should be shown during lectures.

By Emmanuel R

Jul 22, 2019

Awesome course by a true teacher that not just explains, but leads you to the real understanding.

By Alfonso L

Dec 26, 2017

Excelent! everything is perefectly well explained and the bases of the Einstein's theory is clear

By Bhavasree

Aug 19, 2020

As said by Einstein... Struggle hard to understand.

But once we understand, nothing gonna be hard

By Steve W

Jul 19, 2020

Taught in a relatively :) easy to understand fashion that put lots of concepts into perspective.

By Joaquín M L

Jul 5, 2018

Great in contents and rhythm. Using just a board! English easy to follow for no-native speakers.

By Ishaan M V

Feb 18, 2018

It is one of the best courses on courser. I enjoyed it a lot as well as learned some new things.

By Alexander

Jan 14, 2018

Great course! very well organised and the teacher does a really good job at explaining concepts.

By Alexander L

Aug 7, 2018

There is certainly more to Einstein than merely his theories of special and general relativity.

By Philippe R

May 26, 2017

Very nice introduction to Einsteins work and the theory of relativity. I can only recommend it.